Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member PhobMX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada

    Help an AMDroid crawl back to intel...

    Hey peeps, my dad needs a new puter so i thought ill let him have this one and i build up a ultracool one once and for all... now i have to decide what to get:

    AMD Setup

    AMD AthlonXP 2100+ (very likely to oc up to 2300-2400MHz) $85
    Asus a7n8x $150
    keep my ax7, thus buy a cheapo fan for current comp $12

    Intel Setup
    MCX400B $50
    Asus P4PE $116
    Intel P4 C1 .... WHICH ONE??

    Other than that, i will buy cheapo stuff for my dads comp and recycle my hd, case, tornado and stuff.

    Im an AMD fanboy now because i had not that much money at the time i bought my current comp, but dad has some major $$$ thus im considering the premium intel needs... Theres just a big if...

    I WANT TO HIT 3.0-.2GHZ ON AIR FOR SURE NO BS!!! Otherwise i will just go the cheap and secure way and get amd again.

    If my oc knowledge is right, i must hit for the lowest rated c1 in order to take advantage of my current memory and thus a high FSB. Could you guys pls post the memory dividers available on this mobo for 133+MHz FSB???

    So pls suggest a place to get ensured c1 batches for lets say, a p4 1.8ghz c1...

    Sorry if i sound demanding, any help appreciated
    Intel C2D e8400 @ 1.3625v 445x9=4005MHz 38I-48L /AS5/XIGMATEK HDT-S1283/Blue Yate Loon 120mm - Asus P5Q3 - 4x2GB G.SKILL DDR3 PC10666 CAS 9-9-9-24 @ 1.6v DDR3 890 - Corsair 64GB SSD - nVidia GTX260 896MB @ Stock - SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic - LG DVDRW Combo - Modded Lian Li PC-7B case - 500W Seasonic S12-500 PSU - 4 x 120mm Blue Yate Loon fans
    http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/620734.png
    NOT FOLDING and Ethical OverClocker Samsung 22" 2ms n2750w Gaming LCD :cool: "Your eyes will thank you" R.I.P. GeForce3

  2. #2
    Member Kronos138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canadia...eh
    ... uh ... did you know that intel has a 3.06 ghz proc? cause if yer dad has the $$$ then why not START oc-ing at 3.06. and its hyper-threaded no less! anyhoo if you're trying to keep costs down go for a 2.6 or a 2.8. and asking which setup you should go for in an intel forum is kind of a rhetorical question.

    then again if you want to hit 3ghz on hair with a 1.8 then ask wait until someone greater than comes along...

  3. #3
    Member PhobMX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Originally posted by Kronos138
    ... uh ... did you know that intel has a 3.06 ghz proc? cause if yer dad has the $$$ then why not START oc-ing at 3.06. and its hyper-threaded no less! anyhoo if you're trying to keep costs down go for a 2.6 or a 2.8. and asking which setup you should go for in an intel forum is kind of a rhetorical question.

    then again if you want to hit 3ghz on hair with a 1.8 then ask wait until someone greater than comes along...
    i dont think a 3.06ghz p4 would overclock that much, it has a high multiplier so i wouldnt get as much memory bandwidth as needed. Ive read some posts and ppl is getting 3ghz with 2.4s , im just curious on why the 1.8s and 2.26s dont get that high... which batches should i aim for?
    Intel C2D e8400 @ 1.3625v 445x9=4005MHz 38I-48L /AS5/XIGMATEK HDT-S1283/Blue Yate Loon 120mm - Asus P5Q3 - 4x2GB G.SKILL DDR3 PC10666 CAS 9-9-9-24 @ 1.6v DDR3 890 - Corsair 64GB SSD - nVidia GTX260 896MB @ Stock - SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic - LG DVDRW Combo - Modded Lian Li PC-7B case - 500W Seasonic S12-500 PSU - 4 x 120mm Blue Yate Loon fans
    http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/620734.png
    NOT FOLDING and Ethical OverClocker Samsung 22" 2ms n2750w Gaming LCD :cool: "Your eyes will thank you" R.I.P. GeForce3

  4. #4
    Member Kronos138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canadia...eh
    ya i've heard good things about 2.4s...
    ....and batch numbers...ya you need someone more knowledgable than i

  5. #5
    Member PhobMX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    oems= sl6rz

    retails= sl6ef

    after reading, i think the best bet is to get a 2.4b .... am i right?
    Intel C2D e8400 @ 1.3625v 445x9=4005MHz 38I-48L /AS5/XIGMATEK HDT-S1283/Blue Yate Loon 120mm - Asus P5Q3 - 4x2GB G.SKILL DDR3 PC10666 CAS 9-9-9-24 @ 1.6v DDR3 890 - Corsair 64GB SSD - nVidia GTX260 896MB @ Stock - SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic - LG DVDRW Combo - Modded Lian Li PC-7B case - 500W Seasonic S12-500 PSU - 4 x 120mm Blue Yate Loon fans
    http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/620734.png
    NOT FOLDING and Ethical OverClocker Samsung 22" 2ms n2750w Gaming LCD :cool: "Your eyes will thank you" R.I.P. GeForce3

  6. #6
    Disabled timmyqwest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    illinois
    Originally posted by PhobMX
    oems= sl6rz

    retails= sl6ef

    after reading, i think the best bet is to get a 2.4b .... am i right?
    Depending on what chip you get yea, the 2.4b's are the best bang for your buck right now (esp after Intels price drop).

    People are getting 3ghz off of stock voltage on (i think) those sl6rz's...thats madness

  7. #7
    Member Kingdom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    well got a 3.06 to 150fsb on air and memory at 400mhz, thats with stock hs, with a slk900 and a hefty fan on it u'll be likely to hit 160fsb, and ur memory would be in the 420's, and ur chip would be flying at almost 3700mhz with ht

  8. #8
    Disabled timmyqwest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    illinois
    Originally posted by Kingdom
    well got a 3.06 to 150fsb on air and memory at 400mhz, thats with stock hs, with a slk900 and a hefty fan on it u'll be likely to hit 160fsb, and ur memory would be in the 420's, and ur chip would be flying at almost 3700mhz with ht
    He could also wait for the 800mhz FSB chips, and spend $200 (or more) on a 2.4 w/ HT (thats what i'm doing)

  9. #9
    Originally posted by timmyqwest


    He could also wait for the 800mhz FSB chips, and spend $200 (or more) on a 2.4 w/ HT (thats what i'm doing)
    Oh god, what a sad idea.

    anyway, PhobMX,

    any C1 2.4b at this time should hit at least 3.0ghz....
    with little to no overvolting.

    the p4pe is a great choice if he doesn't need RAID or SATA...
    if he may need this in the future, then abit's it7 max2 ver.2 is a great choice....better then the P4PE.

    you'll need great memory, the xms3200 or xms3500 is the only choice I would recamend at this time.

    heat wont be much of a factor....so a quiet fan to top off that HS you picked will be fine.
    BTW...you may want to see if you can get away with only the stock HS and fan that comes with the CPU. if you only need 1.6v or less for 3.0+ghz, then I'll bet a better HS will not be needed.

    if you can wait, the newer dual DDR mobos will be comeing out soon.(I would wait if you can...it's all about the bandwith.)

    skip the newer 800mhz chips...no overclocking room at this time.

    good luck
    mica
    Q6600 @ 3.0 (3.2 max OC), MSI P6N SLI plat, 4gigs corsair xms2, 2x 9800gtx KO in SLI, X-Fi XGamer, 2x Seagate Barracuda 250gb, Light-on 20x DVD, Thermaltake 750w PSU, air cooled with Ultama-90 and Antec 900 case....Soyo (24D6) 24" wide 14139 vantage

    " Comparing the technical relevance of The Inquirer to Beyond3D is like comparing the technical prowess of Paris Hilton to John Carmack." -Albuquerque


    [OCG] Fraging at it's finest.

  10. #10
    Member lexx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Originally posted by Kingdom
    well got a 3.06 to 150fsb on air and memory at 400mhz, thats with stock hs, with a slk900 and a hefty fan on it u'll be likely to hit 160fsb, and ur memory would be in the 420's, and ur chip would be flying at almost 3700mhz with ht
    My 3.06 runs happily at 152 x 23 = 3.5 Ghz with Dual Channel DDR at 304 x 2 = 608 Mhz. Stock Intel HSF

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Yeah, 2.4Bs seem really hot right now, and you can wait for the 800MHz FSB... for the price drop on the current chips

  12. #12
    Disabled timmyqwest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    illinois
    Originally posted by micamica1217




    skip the newer 800mhz chips...no overclocking room at this time.

    good luck
    mica
    We dont know that for a fact...and if "it's all about bandwidth" then why wouldnt yuo want the new chips...

  13. #13
    Member PhobMX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    i would seriously consider getting dual ddr but that mobo alone goes bery high above my budget, i currently have a corsair pc3200 512mb, but i read dual ddr only works with pc2100, am i right???

    i dont need raid or sata since i already have a nice drive and im satisfied with it, not to mention another hd would skyrocket buget too. I better spend on a good heatsink since temps here in mexico are somewhat higher than yours heheh, so every C counts, but i still want quiet cooling so ill use my current tornado and nexus multipanel to tweak noise/performance.

    i meant big $$ like $200 more than i would get so i maybe shouldve stfu lol

    thnx for your help dudes, if i really come to buy a new puter expect me to surf this forums more
    Intel C2D e8400 @ 1.3625v 445x9=4005MHz 38I-48L /AS5/XIGMATEK HDT-S1283/Blue Yate Loon 120mm - Asus P5Q3 - 4x2GB G.SKILL DDR3 PC10666 CAS 9-9-9-24 @ 1.6v DDR3 890 - Corsair 64GB SSD - nVidia GTX260 896MB @ Stock - SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic - LG DVDRW Combo - Modded Lian Li PC-7B case - 500W Seasonic S12-500 PSU - 4 x 120mm Blue Yate Loon fans
    http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/620734.png
    NOT FOLDING and Ethical OverClocker Samsung 22" 2ms n2750w Gaming LCD :cool: "Your eyes will thank you" R.I.P. GeForce3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •