Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 40
  1. #1
    Angry's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, WV
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile

    Another LCD Topic, Ihave a broken TI-83 calculator...

    I have a broken TI-83 calculator, the key pad is messed up and well the teacher who had said I could have it to mess with....

    So would it be possible to use LCD off of it? it has the ribbion cable attached to it...

    Main Rig..........................Game Server............................................ Media Server..............Untangle.....................N vidia Shield
    Core i5 4690k @ 4.5ghz ........Phenom II X4 965 w/CM Hyper 612.............Core i3 2100.......... Athlon X2 2350-BE....... Android 4.4.2
    GA-Z97X-Gaming GT ..............GA-890GPA-UD3H.....................................MSI p67A-gd-65...........MSI 785GTM-45..........16gb mSDHC
    16gb Partriot S5..........................G.Skill 2x2gb 1333.....................................4gb DDR3 1333...........4gb OCZ DDR2 1066
    EVGA GTX 770 SC w/ACX .................XFX 8800gt+Asus 8400gs
    60gb OCZ Summit..............................4x250gb WD RE Raid0
    HGST 2x2tb Raid 0
    ViewSonic VX2453mh-LED

  2. #2
    Member RadRacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    yeah i would think it would be possible. you should be able to get the pin outs from TI with no problem (they are an electronic component manufactuerer after all) Let us know what you find out.
    My arrival marks a change in your hegemon,
    Forget your Lexus, here's the nexus of your lexicon!


    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+
    MB: Asus A8N-SLI Premium
    RAM: 1Gb Corsair TwinX XMS PC3200
    Monitor: Dell 2405FP 24" LCD
    Case: Antec P180
    Graphics: 2 eVGA GeForce 7800GT
    Storage: 2 Western Digital 74Gb (RAID 0)
    Cooling: Scythe Ninja (CPU) and 2 Zalman VF-700Cu (VGA)
    heatware

  3. #3
    Angry's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, WV
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Okay, I have another question...Do I wire the ribbion cable straight to a paralle port/ Serial port? (errr...better Idea get a blank PCB from the shack and solder...)

    Main Rig..........................Game Server............................................ Media Server..............Untangle.....................N vidia Shield
    Core i5 4690k @ 4.5ghz ........Phenom II X4 965 w/CM Hyper 612.............Core i3 2100.......... Athlon X2 2350-BE....... Android 4.4.2
    GA-Z97X-Gaming GT ..............GA-890GPA-UD3H.....................................MSI p67A-gd-65...........MSI 785GTM-45..........16gb mSDHC
    16gb Partriot S5..........................G.Skill 2x2gb 1333.....................................4gb DDR3 1333...........4gb OCZ DDR2 1066
    EVGA GTX 770 SC w/ACX .................XFX 8800gt+Asus 8400gs
    60gb OCZ Summit..............................4x250gb WD RE Raid0
    HGST 2x2tb Raid 0
    ViewSonic VX2453mh-LED

  4. #4
    Angry's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, WV
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Really need to know this.....please

    Main Rig..........................Game Server............................................ Media Server..............Untangle.....................N vidia Shield
    Core i5 4690k @ 4.5ghz ........Phenom II X4 965 w/CM Hyper 612.............Core i3 2100.......... Athlon X2 2350-BE....... Android 4.4.2
    GA-Z97X-Gaming GT ..............GA-890GPA-UD3H.....................................MSI p67A-gd-65...........MSI 785GTM-45..........16gb mSDHC
    16gb Partriot S5..........................G.Skill 2x2gb 1333.....................................4gb DDR3 1333...........4gb OCZ DDR2 1066
    EVGA GTX 770 SC w/ACX .................XFX 8800gt+Asus 8400gs
    60gb OCZ Summit..............................4x250gb WD RE Raid0
    HGST 2x2tb Raid 0
    ViewSonic VX2453mh-LED

  5. #5
    there should be a controller board attached to it somewhere. I would think that you could get the pinouts for THAT, and then wire the serial port to it.

  6. #6

    hey -- i got pix of the calc for ya :)

    hey im interested in doing the exact same thing as you -- i just dont know which one of those chips is the lcd controller





  7. #7




    1st and second pic in this post are the #s on the back of the LCD

  8. #8
    Member [OC]Lucifer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brainerd, Minnesota USA

    I am interested also

    I have a working TI-86 and the serial port graph link cable, and I know you can screen capture the calculator onto your pc with the software, so I dont see why you cant send display data to it.
    Phenom II x4 955 @ 3.7, 4gb OCZ ddr3 1333 @ 1800, Asus m4a785td-v evo, Geforce GTS 250, Intel 40G SSD, RaptorX 150gb 10k rpm, Custom test bench case, Sony DVD-R, Corsair 750W

  9. #9
    Member Cyrix_2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)
    Ok, I know this an old thread, but I want to what they were trying to do. I do have a somewhat dead 83+ and would consider using the screen out of it if it were easy to wire for serial use. Otherwise I'll buy a parallel interface LCD as the 83+ isn't completely dead. If If I hit it a few times, it'll work. lol.

    ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

    2500k @ 4.9ghz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

    vCore
    1.287 |Idle: 33c | Full load: 68c
    16gb Corsair XMS 3
    | Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
    F O L D For Team 32!!

    Black belt Ubercloxx0r

    Audio Technica ATH-A900's
    "yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
    SANS GSEC Certified

  10. #10
    Member Agent_Mull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Leawood, KS
    I just bought a new TI-83+, you couldnt pry the thing out of my hands to use it as an lcd. i know this is kind of off topic, but it fits in w/ graphing calcs. will the TI-83+ be good enough for me to use for all of high school?

  11. #11
    Member Cyrix_2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)
    Should be. My friend who's in AP calculus is using a silver edition. I have a TI-83+ "Platinum Edition" was a "Gold Edition" and a Silver edition

    The first TI-83+ has been modded and spray painted several times. That's why I made up the different edition's for it.

    Here's a pic:



    There's a pic with the platinum edition working.

    ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

    2500k @ 4.9ghz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

    vCore
    1.287 |Idle: 33c | Full load: 68c
    16gb Corsair XMS 3
    | Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
    F O L D For Team 32!!

    Black belt Ubercloxx0r

    Audio Technica ATH-A900's
    "yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
    SANS GSEC Certified

  12. #12
    Member Agent_Mull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Leawood, KS
    its amazing that the ti-83+ is 6000x more powerful than the first computers. i think eniac ran @ 1000hz. imagine how long a seti wu would take @ 1000hz

  13. #13
    Member Cyrix_2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)
    We've completed the first ever SETI WU in a lightning fast 20.6 years! We only used 600 MegaWatt's of doing it too!

    If you want to think fast, my friend just got a Dell Axiam which is approx. the size of the 83+. It runs at 400mhz! My old Jornada ran at 133mhz and that's 4 years old. Wow, it's scary how fast technology advances.

    ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

    2500k @ 4.9ghz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

    vCore
    1.287 |Idle: 33c | Full load: 68c
    16gb Corsair XMS 3
    | Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
    F O L D For Team 32!!

    Black belt Ubercloxx0r

    Audio Technica ATH-A900's
    "yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
    SANS GSEC Certified

  14. #14
    Member Agent_Mull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Leawood, KS
    According to my calculations (which i double checked, but feel free to check them yourself) it would take 684 years to complete 1 wu @ 1000hz. This is based of my average of 1 wu from my 2ghz processor in about 3 hours.
    To figure out how many cycles in one WU
    3*60*60=10800
    10800*2000000000=21600000000000

    To figure out how many seconds in a year
    365*24*60*60=31536000

    How many seconds in one wu @ 1000hz
    21600000000000/1000=21600000000

    Covert to years
    21600000000/31536000

    that is just mind boggling.

  15. #15
    Member Cyrix_2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)
    That's crazy!

    ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

    2500k @ 4.9ghz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

    vCore
    1.287 |Idle: 33c | Full load: 68c
    16gb Corsair XMS 3
    | Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
    F O L D For Team 32!!

    Black belt Ubercloxx0r

    Audio Technica ATH-A900's
    "yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
    SANS GSEC Certified

  16. #16
    Member Contra's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Alamo City
    Author Profile
    just a question,
    but what will the display read if connecting it works?
    AMD Athalon II X4 630 2.8, Gigabyte-GA890XA-UD3
    Radeon HD 4850 2 GiG, G.SKILL Sniper 8GB DDR3 1600, 2 TB HDD, Thermaltake TR2 RX850, 40" Widescreen LCD

    Ubuntu 13.10/Windows 7 Ultimate

  17. #17
    Member Cyrix_2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)
    I think it will be all black, as though the contrats was turned all the way up, but don't take my word for as I'm not sure about that answer.

    ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

    2500k @ 4.9ghz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

    vCore
    1.287 |Idle: 33c | Full load: 68c
    16gb Corsair XMS 3
    | Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
    F O L D For Team 32!!

    Black belt Ubercloxx0r

    Audio Technica ATH-A900's
    "yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
    SANS GSEC Certified

  18. #18
    Member craneage2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    This would be really great to figure out, as I have two non-functioning TI-83s that were given to me...oh the possibilities...

  19. #19
    Member Cyrix_2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)
    Craneage, you know you can backlight those screens with some plexi and LED's, right?

    BTW, If my parents let me, I'm going to install blue LED's in my silver edition.

    ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

    2500k @ 4.9ghz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

    vCore
    1.287 |Idle: 33c | Full load: 68c
    16gb Corsair XMS 3
    | Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
    F O L D For Team 32!!

    Black belt Ubercloxx0r

    Audio Technica ATH-A900's
    "yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
    SANS GSEC Certified

  20. #20
    Member Contra's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Alamo City
    Author Profile
    what is it you guys hope to do?
    will it read out temps and speed?
    AMD Athalon II X4 630 2.8, Gigabyte-GA890XA-UD3
    Radeon HD 4850 2 GiG, G.SKILL Sniper 8GB DDR3 1600, 2 TB HDD, Thermaltake TR2 RX850, 40" Widescreen LCD

    Ubuntu 13.10/Windows 7 Ultimate

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •