Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member Maxvla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    OKC

    -advmethods with graphical client?

    on my new amd box when i tried installing the console client it wouldn't work at all so i downloaded the graphical client and it started chugging away.

    how can i get it to get gromacs?

    does the -advmethods work with the graphical client as well?
    The Black Hole
    Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
    Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX460 1GB
    Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
    Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
    Corsair HX850W PSU
    NEC DVD-RW

  2. #2
    Member mrm1957's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Camp Lejeune, North Carolina
    My graphical client works fine with XP Home. Haven't
    had any problems at all using -advmethods.

    AMD Athlon XP 1600 AGOIA @ 1755 Epox 8HKA+ SLK900/ Sunon 50 CFM
    AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 2090 Shuttle AK35GT2 SLK800/ Sunon 50 CFM
    AMD Sempron 2500 @ 1750 MSI M7NCD NF2
    AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 1730 Asus A7V400-MX
    AMD Athlon XP 2700 @ 2325 Abit NF7v2.0 SLK 900

    "Allright you Devil Dogs let's take that folding hill"
    FOLDING @ HOME TEAM 32
    Enlist for Team 32 here


    Heatware

  3. #3
    Senior Member Maxvla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    OKC
    ok so i go into the start menu> progs> startup> folding and i clicked properties and typed this into the shortcut blank: "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winFAH.exe -advmethods -forceasm"

    it says it will not accept it since there appears to be a problem with the path.

    how do i get it to accept?
    The Black Hole
    Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
    Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX460 1GB
    Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
    Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
    Corsair HX850W PSU
    NEC DVD-RW

  4. #4
    Member mrm1957's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Camp Lejeune, North Carolina
    Just try right click on the fah icon and then click properties. Enter in the -advmethods - forceasm to command line. At the bottom hit apply and then OK. It should work then.

    AMD Athlon XP 1600 AGOIA @ 1755 Epox 8HKA+ SLK900/ Sunon 50 CFM
    AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 2090 Shuttle AK35GT2 SLK800/ Sunon 50 CFM
    AMD Sempron 2500 @ 1750 MSI M7NCD NF2
    AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 1730 Asus A7V400-MX
    AMD Athlon XP 2700 @ 2325 Abit NF7v2.0 SLK 900

    "Allright you Devil Dogs let's take that folding hill"
    FOLDING @ HOME TEAM 32
    Enlist for Team 32 here


    Heatware

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    CA, USA
    Originally posted by Maxvla
    ok so i go into the start menu> progs> startup> folding and i clicked properties and typed this into the shortcut blank: "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winFAH.exe -advmethods -forceasm"
    ur path is ur problem

    for you it would look like this

    "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winFAH.exe" -advmethods forceasm

    remember, with EVERY application, arguements go outisde of the original path...

  6. #6
    Senior Member Maxvla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    OKC
    oh. i didn't know that. thanks
    The Black Hole
    Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
    Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX460 1GB
    Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
    Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
    Corsair HX850W PSU
    NEC DVD-RW

  7. #7
    Member mrm1957's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Camp Lejeune, North Carolina
    Yeah you're right I didn't pick up that quotation marks were at the end. Oh well you should be OK now Max

    AMD Athlon XP 1600 AGOIA @ 1755 Epox 8HKA+ SLK900/ Sunon 50 CFM
    AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 2090 Shuttle AK35GT2 SLK800/ Sunon 50 CFM
    AMD Sempron 2500 @ 1750 MSI M7NCD NF2
    AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 1730 Asus A7V400-MX
    AMD Athlon XP 2700 @ 2325 Abit NF7v2.0 SLK 900

    "Allright you Devil Dogs let's take that folding hill"
    FOLDING @ HOME TEAM 32
    Enlist for Team 32 here


    Heatware

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    CA, USA
    Hehe np, and also.....

    it may not download the gromacs at times coz what u dl depends on what server you are on....i dont think all servers have gromacs so you may not always get them....but ive been lucky to get like 10 of them in a row

    Glad it workd
    'Gumpy

  9. #9
    Member mrm1957's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Camp Lejeune, North Carolina
    Yes you're definetly right on that I think I've only had two gromacs in a row and it does randomly pick servers so it bounces back and forth with tinker.

    AMD Athlon XP 1600 AGOIA @ 1755 Epox 8HKA+ SLK900/ Sunon 50 CFM
    AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 2090 Shuttle AK35GT2 SLK800/ Sunon 50 CFM
    AMD Sempron 2500 @ 1750 MSI M7NCD NF2
    AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 1730 Asus A7V400-MX
    AMD Athlon XP 2700 @ 2325 Abit NF7v2.0 SLK 900

    "Allright you Devil Dogs let's take that folding hill"
    FOLDING @ HOME TEAM 32
    Enlist for Team 32 here


    Heatware

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •