Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member aceton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Radom, POLAND

    Question how much vcore with t-breds?

    yup. p4's have SNDS - http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...hreadid=115166

    does huge voltage hurt amd cpu's?
    i've seen t-breds here on forums running over 2.0 v.
    what about electromigration? t-breds are 0.13 micron too, so can it happen? will we have S.A.D.S?
    of course not talking about too big temps, cause it's trivial.

    post what you think, i'm very corious about it

  2. #2
    Member nealric's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    under the floorboards
    Theres been a lot of debate about that here.

    It seems some people have lost overclock, and therese been a few very sketchy reports about deaths but nothing really substantial.

    Ive been running mine at around 2 for a few months now with no problems (but with really low temps)
    I own a computer!

  3. #3
    Member Paradoxmaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ft Worth, TX
    Well maybe i'm one of those who has lost the overclock.
    I have a Soyo KT400 Dragon Ultra Plat w/ a 2100 B week 49 and I was doing alright with it. I got this processer at the end of Jan and have had it running pretty steadily at 168*13.5 and have had it to 172*13.5 but it would get to hot and was not stable at that speed.

    Now I just spent 3 hours trying to get the dang thing to run stable. All I did was start the air conditioner in the apt today so if anything the ambient temp went down. After it cooled down I tried to bump up to 169*13.5 and it was a no go after that I could not get anything stable above 148*13 or 144*14 if I raised the multi. Now after another hour the 144 or 148 won't even boot even with a 1.75 vcore.
    So right now I am back at default 133*13 (that sucks)

    I know I need a new case and HS to lower my cooling because I have one of those cheap cases that has the power sup and the HS back to back so my case fan (10" rotron w/550cfm) is not blowing on the board or processer. It's around midnight here and i give up for today, so I will have to mess with it tomorrow

  4. #4
    Member KeeperOfSecrets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    well, huge voltage will hurt any cpu......but since AMD's run mucher than pentiums high voltage is much more of a problem. For anyone 2 run over 2.0v on air is pretty gutsy......in my humble opinion ud need a slk800 or slk900, ~60CFM fan on top and over 150cfm moving through the case. Most people who go over 2v run water or better cooling.

  5. #5
    Member OC Noob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    If, and thats a big IF, SNDS is for real then AMD chips handle high voltage MUCH better then northwoods. I run mine at 1.75v with out SNDS, and most people won't go over that voltage for regular use. Unlike AMD users were quite a few people go to 2v and even higher.

    I think the whole SNDS is blown out of perportion, but if its true then AMD is like JJ, THE KING OF VOLTAGE!

    Anyone remeber JJ?


    ps I run my 2100+ at 2.1v everyday, but have only had it for about 1 & 1/2 month (water cooled). It would be a waste to water cool a P4 that doesn't go over 1.75 volts.
    Hail to the King:
    Opteron 165 w/ DFI Ultra-D w/ BBA 1900XT 512 mb GSkill PC4200 1 GB x 2
    74 gb WD Raptor x 2 Raid 0 MSI (ATI550) Tuner
    w/ Windows XP Media Center Edition & OCZ Powerstream 520
    DD TDX H2O block w/ Maze4 GPA block DD D4 pump
    single 120mm Fan Heater core w/ shroud In Lian-Li fish tank window case

    RIP (Rest In Pieces):
    P4 3.0 ghz @ 3.75 ghz Aerocool HT-101 IC7-G
    Radeon 9800 Pro 430 W Antec True Power

  6. #6
    Member SiliconX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Out of the Light
    I actually ran across this article last night. I thought it was a good read. Don't know if it really pertains to "SADS", but it's good info about voltage(I thought it was anyway). Check it out:

    http://www.overclockers.com/tips822/

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    hi,

    does anybody know what's the MAX voltage
    stated in the athlon's specification?

    btw,can somebody direct link the pdf for the
    athlon xp 1700+?

    i'm bit confused navigating AMD web site,
    i saw stuff like athlon xp model 10,model 8,etc

    thanks

  8. #8
    Member OC Noob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ USA
    Wouldn't the max voltage they give be stock?
    Hail to the King:
    Opteron 165 w/ DFI Ultra-D w/ BBA 1900XT 512 mb GSkill PC4200 1 GB x 2
    74 gb WD Raptor x 2 Raid 0 MSI (ATI550) Tuner
    w/ Windows XP Media Center Edition & OCZ Powerstream 520
    DD TDX H2O block w/ Maze4 GPA block DD D4 pump
    single 120mm Fan Heater core w/ shroud In Lian-Li fish tank window case

    RIP (Rest In Pieces):
    P4 3.0 ghz @ 3.75 ghz Aerocool HT-101 IC7-G
    Radeon 9800 Pro 430 W Antec True Power

  9. #9
    Member PalominoBURN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Dallas

    Max Vcore

    Max VCORE for an AMD T-bred is 2.25V

    *DISCLAIMER* I accept no responsibility for someone who chooses to run this much voltage. DON'T ATTEMPT without at LEAST water-cooling. Your gonna need peliter cooling to maintain that vcore at a safe temp over time.

    For a heads up... I ran my PALOMINO at 2.25V on my watercooling set-up and I got into bios and CPU CORE temps was already 55C
    Last edited by PalominoBURN; 04-04-03 at 04:16 PM.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Originally posted by OC Noob
    Wouldn't the max voltage they give be stock?
    that'll be called "Default/stock voltage"

    for example,i'm running modded tularon
    1.2@1.6 the stock/Default voltage is 1.5v
    but intel's pdf also says to NEVER exceed
    1.78v MAX

    Originally posted by PalominoBURN
    Max VCORE for an AMD T-bred is 2.25V

    *DISCLAIMER* I accept no responsibility for someone who chooses to run this much voltage. DON'T ATTEMPT without at LEAST water-cooling. Your gonna need peliter cooling to maintain that vcore at a safe temp over time.

    For a heads up... I ran my PALOMINO at 2.25V on my watercooling set-up and I got into bios and CPU CORE temps was already 55C
    whooa,2.25v max is too high for .13um chip,
    are you sure? what does AMD say about it?

    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •