Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sotira, Cyprus
    Posts
    157

    Exclamation A little help please with a P4 1.7ghz C1

    Hello guys, Ive got a friends old P4 chip here and would like some info with regards to its overclockabilty.

    Im just waitin on some parts so cant do anything with it yet so was hoping for some info abt this chip. Here are the stats:

    1.7ghz/256/400/1.75v
    SL5N9 Costa Rica
    3125A791-1353

    Ive read up a little and i know its a C1 core if this helps. I have very little knowledge of Pentium systems.

    Thanxs
    24/7 Settings
    SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
    Asus Crosshair V Formula
    FX-8350 1244PGT | 5.0 Ghz | 1.55v | 1.20v | LLC UH 140%
    GSkill RipjawsX F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD
    313 x 16 | HTT 2504mhz | CPUNB 2504mhz | 2086mhz @ 9-12-9-29-50
    Asus EAH5450 512MB
    2 x Samsung 840 Pro's 128GB RAID 0
    XSPC Raystorm | EK Full Motherboard Block | 1/2" ID
    Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-D5 X-TOP Rev.2
    Thermochill PA120.3 | 6 x 1850rpm Scythe GT @ 5v
    EK-Multioption Advanced Res 400

  2. #2
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Posts
    14,988
    Well sorry to say but its not a C1 and its not a Northwood. Its an old willy. There slow and you can bearly overclock these buggers. I really don't know much on older P4's but just benchmark wise a 1.6a Northwood would beat that in tests without a problem. Correct me if im wrong on this.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  3. #3
    Member mirko_3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    738
    correct. my willy's overclock is something rare... and it's a very bad overclock compared to northwoods...

  4. #4
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Posts
    14,988
    Wow that is a rare overclock for a willy.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    wash dc area
    Posts
    4,546
    well guy u are right it is a c1 stepping . unfortunately its a c1 stepping based on the older 18 micron process.sorry, Its not gonna crank up very well.If you are new to p4's i see how you could confuse it with the newer northwoods...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sotira, Cyprus
    Posts
    157
    Thanks for confirming that guys for me, as for confusing it with a Northwood (flapperhead) who mentioned northwood? lol.

    So this is a 0.18micron chip, what were these called? Is it the Williamete core, something along those lines i think. Well i will pass the bad news onto my friend. What sort of overclock do u think Im looking at minimum wise, a 100mhz or so?

    Cos if thats the case I wont bother getting better cooling for the chip.

    Thanxs again any moer information would be gladly accepted.

    L8rz guys.
    24/7 Settings
    SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
    Asus Crosshair V Formula
    FX-8350 1244PGT | 5.0 Ghz | 1.55v | 1.20v | LLC UH 140%
    GSkill RipjawsX F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD
    313 x 16 | HTT 2504mhz | CPUNB 2504mhz | 2086mhz @ 9-12-9-29-50
    Asus EAH5450 512MB
    2 x Samsung 840 Pro's 128GB RAID 0
    XSPC Raystorm | EK Full Motherboard Block | 1/2" ID
    Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-D5 X-TOP Rev.2
    Thermochill PA120.3 | 6 x 1850rpm Scythe GT @ 5v
    EK-Multioption Advanced Res 400

  7. #7
    Member tio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hyrule
    Posts
    822
    I used to have that same chip. I got it up to 1954 MHz at 1.85v after running it @ 1904 MHz for a couple of months.

    2.4C (SL6Z3) @ 3.9 GHz w/ 1.70v (FSB = 325 MHz | System Bus = 1.3 GHz)
    Asus P4C800-E Deluxe (rev. 1.02) "droop", vDIMM, and vAGP modded with heatsinks on all FETs, Southbridge, and clock generator
    Prometeia Mach I
    Corsair XMS 3500 [BH-5 chips] (2 x 512MB) @ 2-6-2-2 w/ 3.23v
    eVGA 6800 GT @ 435 core / 1173 mem (modified BIOS - 1.4v)
    2 x 74 GB Raptors in RAID-0 (64K stripe size)
    Antec TruePower 550

    "I woke up today thinking I will one day die. I wonder if one day I'll wake up thinking that I'm going to live."

  8. #8
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    Posts
    16,340
    If you're lucky, a Willamette might hit 2 gig with good cooling, but usually not a lot more.
    2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
    watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
    FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sotira, Cyprus
    Posts
    157
    Hmm when i was looking in the mobos bios I couldnt find an option to adjust the voltage. The mobo is a GB-8IDX, I downloded the latest bios and still no Vcore adjustments.

    :-(

    Looks like hes gonna have to do with a tiny overclock. I dont know if this is relevant to the chip or not but when running prime95 some runs will crash on the first run whilst others will run for ages without a problem.



    If this makes any sense to anybody Id be glad to hear from you.

    Thanxs to all again.
    24/7 Settings
    SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
    Asus Crosshair V Formula
    FX-8350 1244PGT | 5.0 Ghz | 1.55v | 1.20v | LLC UH 140%
    GSkill RipjawsX F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD
    313 x 16 | HTT 2504mhz | CPUNB 2504mhz | 2086mhz @ 9-12-9-29-50
    Asus EAH5450 512MB
    2 x Samsung 840 Pro's 128GB RAID 0
    XSPC Raystorm | EK Full Motherboard Block | 1/2" ID
    Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-D5 X-TOP Rev.2
    Thermochill PA120.3 | 6 x 1850rpm Scythe GT @ 5v
    EK-Multioption Advanced Res 400

  10. #10
    Member tio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hyrule
    Posts
    822
    You could try the willamette vidpin mod to raise the voltage to 1.85v: http://www.vr-zone.com/guides/p4mod/

    I did this to my Willamette and it worked perfectly. If you decide to do this, just make sure you're carefull.

    2.4C (SL6Z3) @ 3.9 GHz w/ 1.70v (FSB = 325 MHz | System Bus = 1.3 GHz)
    Asus P4C800-E Deluxe (rev. 1.02) "droop", vDIMM, and vAGP modded with heatsinks on all FETs, Southbridge, and clock generator
    Prometeia Mach I
    Corsair XMS 3500 [BH-5 chips] (2 x 512MB) @ 2-6-2-2 w/ 3.23v
    eVGA 6800 GT @ 435 core / 1173 mem (modified BIOS - 1.4v)
    2 x 74 GB Raptors in RAID-0 (64K stripe size)
    Antec TruePower 550

    "I woke up today thinking I will one day die. I wonder if one day I'll wake up thinking that I'm going to live."

  11. #11
    Member Wedge1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Waco / Coppell, Texas
    Posts
    126
    heh, my 1.7 is a freak'n mosnster compared to most willies.....check out the sig. It can be done if your chip loves you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •