Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1

    Question howto setup webserver but not port 80?

    how do i setup a web server that dosent use port 80 and dosent use http://blah:xxxx

    i think what i want is https but im a noob to setting this sort of thing up, what port would i need to use?

  2. #2
    You can't.

    If you use https, and run on the default https port, then they can put just https://blah

  3. #3
    Member pauldriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Land of SIN
    The webserver must have an address and port.

    You can assign a different port to the server.

    You can bind the webserver to loopback (127.0.0.1) and some port.

    You can install a firewall, and have it block the web server.

    Paul.

  4. #4
    Member Flamed_Chip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Most webservers let you change the port they use in the config options. Just change it to run on say, port 9999, and the address would be http://address:9999

    If the webserver you are using doesn't let you do this, then like was mentioned above. Bind the server to port 80 on the loopback, and use a firewall or port mapping software to map for example port 9999 on your internet connection to port 80 on local host. That should work.

    As for the not using the address with the port at the end, you HAVE to do this for the web BROWSER not to request on port 80, a solution which may work though, is to register a domain and point it at http://theip:9999 but I am not sure if you can do that?
    Herb: 2 x Intel PIII-S 1.4 GHz - GIGABYTE GA-6VTXDR - 1024MB PC133 - 2 x Tt Volcano 7+ - PCI nVIDIA GeForce fx5500 128MB - 60GB Samsung 7200RPM - 200GB Seagate Barracuda - 500W PSU - Debian GNU/Linux
    Wyatt: XP 1800+ @ 1725 (150x11.5) 1.85 vcore - Asus A7V266-E - 512MB DDR PC2100 - SK6 modded for Delta 80mm "SHE" - nVIDIA GF2 MX 400 64MB DDR - 40GB WD 7200RPM - 20GB WD 7200RPM - Generic 300W PSU - Load Temp: 45*C (Ambiant 22*C) - Debian GNU/Linux
    Moon: Intel PIII 1GHz - Generic Intel motherboard - 512MB PC133 - 7GB HDD - Generic PSU - FreeBSD
    Kaya (laptop): Sony Vaio PCG-GRT815M - P4 2.8Ghz - 512MB DDR - 80GB 5400RPM - nVIDIA GF FX5600 64MB - Ubuntu GNU/Linux / Windows XP

  5. #5
    Member REDDRUMZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    What webserver are you using?

  6. #6
    Inactive Moderator RED Hot Machine's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, England.
    Originally posted by Flamed_Chip

    As for the not using the address with the port at the end, you HAVE to do this for the web BROWSER not to request on port 80, a solution which may work though, is to register a domain and point it at http://theip:9999 but I am not sure if you can do that?
    I have 2 or 3 websites hosted here at home, i've got registered domain names that point to my server on different ports.

    If you are using windows 2k/XP, IIS allows you to change the port that is used by the website.
    You only live once, look out for those true friends and never forget them EVER!!

  7. #7
    Originally posted by RED Hot Machine


    I have 2 or 3 websites hosted here at home, i've got registered domain names that point to my server on different ports.

    If you are using windows 2k/XP, IIS allows you to change the port that is used by the website.
    I'm pretty sure if you run on a port other than 80, even if you have a domain name, people will have to put http://domain:port

  8. #8
    Inactive Moderator RED Hot Machine's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, England.
    Originally posted by XWRed1


    I'm pretty sure if you run on a port other than 80, even if you have a domain name, people will have to put http://domainort
    The people I got my domain name have a redirect service. So i put the url of my server in with the port as the redirect and it does the rest. I use this with a non static IP address using No-ip.coms service.


    Example

    www.gardnerdesigns.co.uk is one url I own.
    It points to http://gardnerdesigns.sytes.net:81
    Last edited by RED Hot Machine; 04-25-03 at 05:20 PM.
    You only live once, look out for those true friends and never forget them EVER!!

  9. #9
    Disabled LuckyBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    If you're an Apache user, here's a quote from the Apache HTTPD config file:

    # Listen: Allows you to bind Apache to specific IP addresses and/or
    # ports, in addition to the default. See also the <VirtualHost>
    # directive.

    /me is in the same boat with Red Hot Machine, also. Setting up webservers on different ports works just fine.

  10. #10
    Member Flamed_Chip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    thought so, I am sure I remember redirecting a URL to a specific port at some point, the only problem is you have to use the redirect feature of your domain host (if it has one) unfortunatly you can't use the DNS record to point directly to it, as that can only point to a full IP address, not an IP and port. It is a pain, but it is the only way you can do it as far as I know.
    Herb: 2 x Intel PIII-S 1.4 GHz - GIGABYTE GA-6VTXDR - 1024MB PC133 - 2 x Tt Volcano 7+ - PCI nVIDIA GeForce fx5500 128MB - 60GB Samsung 7200RPM - 200GB Seagate Barracuda - 500W PSU - Debian GNU/Linux
    Wyatt: XP 1800+ @ 1725 (150x11.5) 1.85 vcore - Asus A7V266-E - 512MB DDR PC2100 - SK6 modded for Delta 80mm "SHE" - nVIDIA GF2 MX 400 64MB DDR - 40GB WD 7200RPM - 20GB WD 7200RPM - Generic 300W PSU - Load Temp: 45*C (Ambiant 22*C) - Debian GNU/Linux
    Moon: Intel PIII 1GHz - Generic Intel motherboard - 512MB PC133 - 7GB HDD - Generic PSU - FreeBSD
    Kaya (laptop): Sony Vaio PCG-GRT815M - P4 2.8Ghz - 512MB DDR - 80GB 5400RPM - nVIDIA GF FX5600 64MB - Ubuntu GNU/Linux / Windows XP

  11. #11
    Originally posted by RED Hot Machine


    The people I got my domain name have a redirect service. So i put the url of my server in with the port as the redirect and it does the rest. I use this with a non static IP address using No-ip.coms service.


    Example

    www.gardnerdesigns.co.uk is one url I own.
    It points to http://gardnerdesigns.sytes.net:81
    Ah, I see. I thought you were saying dns all by itself allows this (which it doesn't).

    Thats a pretty clever service, but another level of indirection. Easier to just run on port 80.

  12. #12
    what port is https run from?

  13. #13
    Member REDDRUMZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Originally posted by ccb056
    what port is https run from?
    443

  14. #14
    so, if i tell apache to use port 443, and forward port 443 to the server, all i have to do to access it is type https://blah

    ????

  15. #15
    Yes, but if you are running normal http and not https there the browser might get annoyed that it can't do https to it.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    OR a very simple thing to do is bind the web server on a port other than 80 which is diff for each webserver...LuckyBob had it right on the head i believe with starting the web service serve on a diff port. and then just get a firewall which is a little more configurable than your avg run of the mill retail store router and set it up so all inbound connections to port 80 are accepted and redirected to port XX...i still dont see why exactly you would want to do this though as it serves no real purpose. cause in this case they would type in the URL and be directed right to your website running on port XX which really is no different than if it were running on port 80. unless you want to have 1 computer hosting 2 webservers, 1 for internal traffic and another for ATM traffic.

    ~jeff~

  17. #17
    Yes I was thinking what would be the point of running it on a port other than 80 if you'll have nat redirect port 80 to it. I figured the original poster wanted it on a different port because his isp was blocking 80. In which case a nat redirect wouldn't help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •