Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    102

    Clock Gen cooling......

    I have an Asus CUSL2-C and a PIII 700. I put a 10mmx20mm heatsink on the clock generator and noticed a little more stability at higher speeds. I also nothiced that the edges of the heatsink (which is about the exact size of the chip) get pretty hot sometimes. I want to know if going to a bigger heatsink will enable me to reach higher speeds. thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member outhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Auburn California
    Posts
    1,864
    the only way to find out is to try.
    GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

    p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
    leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

    XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

    8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc

    4790K @ 4.8, Z87 EVGA FTW. 8g Corsair vengance pro, EK cpu and waterblocks. DDC. 240x2 120x1, EVGA 780TI SLI

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    92
    You can get 16mmWx25mmLx16mmH heatsinks from RadioShack for like a buck fifty... Works great!!

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    82
    i cut off part of a old hsf, slpped it on my clockgen, didnt notice any difference, but it's not like it's hurtin anything, i just used soem spare thermaltape and some old hsf off of some video card, so it didnt cost a dime either, since it sits under my pep66 on my be6-II so it gets plenty of airflow. try it, see what happens

  5. #5
    Senior Folding Zombie AmbientFiction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Somewhere in the top 100 folders for team 32
    Posts
    1,691
    Where is the clock gen isn't it right beside/near the CPU??
    Cause if so I am thinking about putting a Blueorb on mine I have the room for it might as well do it

  6. #6
    Senior Member outhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Auburn California
    Posts
    1,864
    Sorry man but the clock generator is a little too small for the borb mine is located on the top part of my board in between my memory and CPU if you look in your MB manual it may tell you where its at and sometimes there may be some writing or initials on your MB that may help, what you can do is is run your PC at full load gaming \Seti ect ect shut it down and feel the small chips if you find one thats hot then it needs a HS [make sure you ground yourself while touching anything inside your case] if its just warm or close to your MB temps then you really wont see positive results.
    GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

    p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
    leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

    XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

    8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc

    4790K @ 4.8, Z87 EVGA FTW. 8g Corsair vengance pro, EK cpu and waterblocks. DDC. 240x2 120x1, EVGA 780TI SLI

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •