Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    66

    Smile what to get for 150bucks?

    hi,iam not sure if i buy a ram or a power supply i have 256mb kingston pc2700 and it can handle up to 440mhz with 2.9v and a 250 watt FSP powersupply.i know i have to change both of them but which one will you start with i have p4 2.4@2.970mhz to 165 fsb with 1.7v. which one will you choose corsair 512mb pc3500 or enermax 550watt?.thks..

  2. #2
    Member WejRepus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    930
    id get a PSU first...
    but if your current PSU is running strong, then there may be no need to upgrade. however, for future upgrades sake, you might want to have a decent grade PSU already so that future decisions on purchases arnt affected by that fact that upgrading something means also forking over 100 bucks for a new PSU

  3. #3
    Member Mastametz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Stanwood, WA
    Posts
    458
    I would say psu...if you are considering buying a new psu, you imply that something is wrong with it or it is not good enough. If this is so, then is could damage your hardware or not be able to run w/the new ram or both.

    Lenovo Thinkpad T510

    /Desktop is Sold/
    2500k @ Stock
    ASrock Extreme3 Gen3
    60gb Vertex 3 SSD (Cache)/1tb Seagate Barricuda
    MSI Twin Frozr II GTX 580 TI @ Stock
    2x4GB Patriot 1600 CAS8
    XFX 850w Core Edition
    Corsair 500r
    My Heatware

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    66
    my psu gives 3.3V:3.02 5.5V:4.97-5.08 at %100 load and i set the cpu voltage to 1.8v it decrease to 1.70v is it because icant go further?i mean 165 fsb is the end for me. my cpu is 2,4sl6ef(3302)costarica it must be better than that!.if iset the memory speed to lower then the 440mhz i think it can handle more fsb speeds.i think my problem is not enough power you suggest me to buy the Enermax EG651P-VE(FMA) 550W ? that is 155$ in directron?
    http://www.directron.com/peg651pfma.html

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    66
    Originally posted by Mastametz
    I would say psu...if you are considering buying a new psu, you imply that something is wrong with it or it is not good enough. If this is so, then is could damage your hardware or not be able to run w/the new ram or both.
    ididnt know that but how could the small size power supply could damage the hardware will you tell me about it?

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    66
    how about vantec 520 stealth watt powersupply 119$ will you recommend it? and also antec true 550watt cheapest
    101$ ?

  7. #7
    Member WejRepus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    930
    i have the vantec 470 and i like it, but i kind of wish i went with the antec 550

  8. #8
    Registered RickyTwoGuns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    68
    i like the antec 550.

  9. #9
    Senior Citizen (aka old fart) Silver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Georgia
    Posts
    4,127
    I have the Antec 550 true control and like it.

    Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
    3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
    2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
    P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
    Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
    Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
    Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
    Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
    C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
    C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

    FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

    Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    4,135
    I am looking at the Antec TP 550. Is it worth the $20-30 to get the True Control 550 which is the TP 550 plus a front panel with fan control and fine adjustment for 3.3, 5 and 12V. Is that extra control useful?

    Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
    A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
    A64 Overclocking Result Collection
    Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
    - DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
    - ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
    - ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
    - Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display

  11. #11
    Member Hookem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2,405
    Question is...do you really need a 500+ watt power supply??? I mean a 400 watt Fortron/Sparkle is a brute
    If you build it...They will come...and I will crash it!!!

    Switching to Intel
    Antec 300, Corsair HX5650W, Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, Intel Q9550, Thermalright SI-128-SE, 2x4 G.Skiell PC64000 DDR2, XFX 4890, 640 Black OS Drive, 2 640 Blacks RAID-0, Audiotrak Prodigy HD2, Vantec SATA EzSwap, Mitsumi floppy, Lian-Li card reader, Lian Li T4, Dell E198WFP, AudioEngine 5 speakers.
    In progress build.

  12. #12
    Member sangapski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    north cali
    Posts
    757
    why not go with a 512mb PC3200 ram and a 350-400watt Sparkel/Fortron PSU...

    coz you can probably get both for around $150

    but if you dont want a PC3200 ram then get the PSU first...

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    66
    i ordered this EG651P-VE (FMA) 550w enermax from directron for 155$ what you guys think?

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    66
    here is the current voltages with my 250 watt powersupply installed 3 case fans 1 harddisk 1 cdrom and a motherboard also are these voltages too low?


  15. #15
    Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Saskatchewan
    Posts
    5,601
    Those voltages look fine to me. FSP/Sparkle 250's are vastly underrated and can put out a whole lot more than 250 watts. It'll make a great backup PSU in case you have trouble with the new one.
    Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
    2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
    Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
    MSI 280X, Asus 270 2GB
    250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
    Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40


  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    66
    i think i will use this 250watt Fsp to my other comp. and i dont know what iam going to do with 550w enermax

  17. #17
    Senior Citizen (aka old fart) Silver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Georgia
    Posts
    4,127
    Originally posted by Hookem
    Question is...do you really need a 500+ watt power supply??? I mean a 400 watt Fortron/Sparkle is a brute
    Had an Antec 403 (and still do) however at 2v core, 2.84v ram, 9500 (at 438/600) The psu was cutting out. I really liked the psu and it held me for many, many boards and oc's but would not hold up on the above setup. The new true control does. Now I admit that I run a little extreme at times what with dual tecs and all however the psu is the one thing that I do not wish to worry about and no longer do. I guess that the question might better be phrased in "How hard are you going to push your setup"?

    Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
    3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
    2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
    P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
    Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
    Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
    Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
    Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
    C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
    C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

    FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

    Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    66
    how is this enermax that iam getting? it says 218$regular price in directron and on sale 155$

  19. #19
    Member bdw8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Virginia, US of A
    Posts
    330
    Originally posted by ps2

    ididnt know that but how could the small size power supply could damage the hardware will you tell me about it?
    If you undersupply something, it could catch on fire. It happened to my mobo a while back. Heh. I would say you go with a smaller psu for $90 USD (Antec 430W Power Supply TRUE430 at Newegg) and then you have some money left over for another stick of 256mb of ram.

  20. #20
    Member the hammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Riding my Yamaha YZF1000 & chasing Hot chicks in Charleston, SC
    Posts
    299

    Re: what to get for 150bucks?

    Originally posted by ps2
    hi,iam not sure if i buy a ram or a power supply i have 256mb kingston pc2700 and it can handle up to 440mhz with 2.9v and a 250 watt FSP powersupply.i know i have to change both of them but which one will you start with i have p4 2.4@2.970mhz to 165 fsb with 1.7v. which one will you choose corsair 512mb pc3500 or enermax 550watt?.thks..
    Most definately a new PSU...you never know...you may even get more FSB stability with your ram with a GOOD power Supply.

    Hammer

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •