Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ON, Canada

    Multiple Hard Drive Question

    Hello all,

    Currently I have a 40gig and 80gig plugged into an ATA133 controller card. On the second channel of the card I have my DVD+RW and CD-RW drives. There is nothing plugged into the motherboard.

    I need some more space, so would I have any problems plugging a third hard drive right into the board, or should I re-do my configuration?

    Any help is appreciated, thank you.

  2. #2
    Member SpliT71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    main HD goes on ide channel 1 and along with slave, and the cd-roms can go on any of the ports as well as the other hd

  3. #3
    Member USAPGAPRO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Shreveport, La
    yup, but I dont think it really matters. It should still all work the same.
    Abit NF7-S rev. 2.0
    ( AMD XP 1700+ DLT3C 0310 "X" @ 10.5 x 223 = 2341.5mhz
    Corsair XMS3500 Platinum 433mhz
    Cheiftec Server case w/ window Mod & Foxconn 450w PS
    IBM Deskstar 120GXP
    ATI Radeon 9500 Pro Samsung SyncMaster 152T LCD 15"
    Lite On 16X DVD Thermaltake SLK-800 4-80mm 40.1CFM case fans
    Copper Round Cables
    Microsoft Wireless Optical Blue Mouse
    D-Link DI-614+ wireless Cable Router
    Green Cold Cathodes

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ON, Canada
    So let's say I bought a new HD, I could just plug it into the board and be fine? Trying to avoid redoing all software, etc.

    Right now nothing is in either channel of the board, so I'm just worried that the comp will try to boot from the mobo HD, but that'll be the new one just for storage.

    I'd want it to still boot from the master HD on the controller card.

  5. #5
    Senior Punk Kendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Dark side of hell
    It will work fine. You set the boot order in the bios.
    Hello:sn:

  6. #6
    Chainsaw Senior zachj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Redmond, Washington
    Yerp. The computer looks to the BIOS to figure out which hard drive to boot from. So long as it's not set to boot from the new one, you're all set. Is there a technological limit to the number of hard drives a person can install, assuming unlimited power, space, and PCI slots?

    Z
    Server- Mobile 2400+ on NForce2 at 1600MHz with 512MB RAM and integrated GeFore4 MX graphics
    Laptop- TiBook (PowerBook) 867 MHz G4 with 768MB RAM and 40GB HD
    Desktop- Xeon 1.6 (D1) x2 @ 3GHz, NCCH-DL, 1GB Patriot, 450GB, Radeon9500NP, TruePower 550EPS and Coolermaster heatpipes

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •