Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member xCarne_Asada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    The OC, CA

    2 Broadband Connections in a home network

    my aunt has been complaining about dsl how it isnt always on and how it's slow yadda yadda yadda. my dad doesnt want to change because he cant tunnel into work with a cable modem. this may sound retarded but bare with me.

    We want to get a cable modem for downstairs. we have numerous computers downstairs that want to use the cable so i would need to get a router.

    my dad will also have a router upstairs for his computer and laptop and the dsl

    i need a switch coming off the cable modem router to connect my computer, xbox, and ps2.

    I would probably get another linksys 4 port wired router.

    Question(s)

    How would i configure this all so my dad uses his DSL and we use our cable and my dad can still see the downstairs computers through the network?

    where should i plug the switch into? Uplink or another Port

    if there is a better way to do this tell me.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    --
    I teach people how to read your email.
    su root's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you create two seperate networks? One on cable and one on DSL? That would be the easiest.

    If not, then my 2nd question is how many IPs does your Cable ISP give you? If it's less than the number of devices you are going to connect, then you want a router for that connection aswell.

    I would suggest setting up all your computers to static
    "Some people, when confronted with a problem, think 'I know, Ill use regular expressions.' Now they have two problems."

  3. #3
    Senior Member Kingslayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Port Charlotte, Florida
    My biggest concern is why he doesn't feel like he can tunnel into work with a cable connection? That seems to be the biggest hang up and also the easiest and cheapest solution, let's work on that.
    "Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have made a difference in the world. Marines don't have that problem" Ronald Reagan

    Proud member of the XDC

  4. #4
    Member xCarne_Asada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    The OC, CA
    my dad said people at work cant tunnel in with cable so i told him to let me borrow his laptop and try to tunnel in at my friends house and he hasnt given it to me

    i think he is just trying to see if i will forget about it

  5. #5
    being on cable or dsl wont effect your ability to use VPN, unless your DSL has a static ip and his job's VPN requires a static ip.

  6. #6
    Member RadRacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    You can request a static IP from your cable company. I need to use VPN for my work as well and I'm on a cable modem. It may just be a question of setting your router up to forward to the correct ports. I highly recommend cable over DSL anyday. In other words, I think your dad is yankin' your chain.
    My arrival marks a change in your hegemon,
    Forget your Lexus, here's the nexus of your lexicon!


    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+
    MB: Asus A8N-SLI Premium
    RAM: 1Gb Corsair TwinX XMS PC3200
    Monitor: Dell 2405FP 24" LCD
    Case: Antec P180
    Graphics: 2 eVGA GeForce 7800GT
    Storage: 2 Western Digital 74Gb (RAID 0)
    Cooling: Scythe Ninja (CPU) and 2 Zalman VF-700Cu (VGA)
    heatware

  7. #7
    Member xCarne_Asada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    The OC, CA
    HMM my dsl is dynamic.....

    yeah i got the feeling he was yanking my chain, when he said installation and everything was $480. Called up Earthlink, everything is free.

  8. #8
    Member Deathknight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    I would definatly investigate using a VPN on your cable connection before creating a very complicated network like you are talking. I have never had an issue using a VPN with my cable connection.
    Asus Commando
    Intel QX6700
    G.Skill F2-6400PHU2 1GBx4
    EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
    PCP&C 750 Quad Silencer
    150gb WD Raptor x 3 RAID 0 | Areca 1220 RAID controller

    U2-UFO
    Swiftech Storm
    EK-FC8800 GTX GPU Block
    Swiftech MCP655
    ThermoChill HE 120.3


    Folding for Team 32

  9. #9
    Member JasonKosi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    A place where Macs and PCs play well together. The land of lollipops and make-believe! :)
    I can VPN with my cable modem connection. I do it all the time to langame with my buddies over the Internet.

    If his IT staff require pre-authorized IP's, ask the cable provider if static or "sticky" IP's can be managed.

  10. #10
    Member xCarne_Asada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    The OC, CA
    resorted to plan B for the time being. Blocked their computers from the internet via the router.

  11. #11
    nerdlogic
    Guest
    Okay...First things, first...where in the world did your aunt get the idea that DSL isn't always on and that it's slow. I'd like to see her compare 56K modem speeds to DSL speeds. Second, your dad is either yankin your chain or doesn't know that much....I'm guessing the first is probably true...He probably wants to hog his DSL connection.

    I don't know about other brands, but my router provides static rounting to connect between networks.

  12. #12
    Inactive Moderator RED Hot Machine's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London, England.
    xCarne_Asada,
    What type of DSL modem do you have ? If it has a USB port then it could be very easy to setup.

    Plug the DSL modem directly into your dads machine, and tell it to always use that for internet etc.

    Also add a NIC into your dads machine that allows it to connect to the LAN. Your dads laptop will be able to use the DSL and the Cable, but aslong as you set the DSL to the default connection he should be ok.

    Originally posted by nerdlogic
    Okay...First things, first...where in the world did your aunt get the idea that DSL isn't always on and that it's slow.
    I was wondering this.
    You only live once, look out for those true friends and never forget them EVER!!

  13. #13
    Member xCarne_Asada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    The OC, CA
    the dsl and router have to be turned off or refreshed every so often, because it falls offline and wont reconnect automatically

    the dsl is "fast" but her and i want cable because it's faster in our area.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •