Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Member Stiletto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    GA

    New card, old mobo

    I have a new FIC radeon 9700 and wanted to see if it worked. However, I wont be able to test it in my main rig until sometime next week. So I tried it in my 4 year old IBM just out of curiousity. Didn't get a signal to monitor, and not really sure if it posted.

    Is it possible for this new card to simply not work with such an old mobo? The old computer is able to use a spare geforce 3 I have, so I know it can run some recent cards. Heck, could even be too weak of a PSU. Just wondering if it is most likely too powerful for my old computer, rather then possibily being a dud card. Opinions?

    TIA

  2. #2
    Member bafbrian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    It is possible. Considering your mobo is that old, I don't it will accept technology that new.

    All of this is an assumption. (Yes, I know what I am doing when I assume.)

  3. #3
    Member PreservedSwine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ft. Myers, Fl.
    What's the AGP spec (revision and voltage) of the mobo?

  4. #4
    Member Stiletto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    GA
    Know next to nothing about the mobo, other then its intel and has 3 pci slots and an agp I dont really care about too specific information, mainly just wondering how likely it is.

  5. #5
    Member PreservedSwine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ft. Myers, Fl.
    Well, you should care..if yu popped it into an AGP1.0 slot (not even sure it would fit) you could fry the card. AGP1.0 (AGP1x,2x) supplies about twice the voltage of AGP2.0(AGP2x, 4x)

  6. #6
    Member Stiletto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    GA
    Heh, didn't want to hear that. Guess I will check

  7. #7
    Member Stiletto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    GA
    Sigh, figures that it is an AGP 1.0, cant find its voltage.

    On a side note, would this AGP 1.0 have not affected my gfroce 3?

  8. #8
    Member pip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Oregon, The InteLinux State
    is there a notch in the middle of the agp slot? if not it is an AGP 1.0 slot and you very well could fry your card because it uses more than twice the voltage the car is used with

  9. #9
    Member Stiletto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    GA
    it does have a notch. However, a dead board I have that I know is 4xagp has no notch. Did you get it backwards? I hope not

  10. #10
    Member pip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Oregon, The InteLinux State
    Originally posted by Stiletto
    it does have a notch. However, a dead board I have that I know is 4xagp has no notch. Did you get it backwards? I hope not
    no I didn't I know for a fact that all 1.0 slots do not have a notch

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    NL
    http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/2003...charts-22.html

    range of systems running a 9700pro + performance indication.
    Even includes a P100.

    I think it's the 9500pro that doesn't like agpx2 mobo's?
    Anyone confirm/counter this?

    For power check, maybe unplug Ide devices, etc.?

  12. #12
    Member bdw8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Virginia, US of A
    If its a 4 year old machine, then it more than likely has less than a 250w psu. 9700s requires at least a 300w. Eventhough it should still post and operate, just not at its full potential (just a guess).

    Also, the 9700 supports 2x.

    http://mirror.ati.com/products/pc/ra...pro/specs.html

  13. #13
    Member Stiletto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    GA
    Hmm, looks like the psu only puts out 100W at most. That could be it. Like half a week till I know for sure, we shall see.

  14. #14
    This chart at Tom's shows AGP 3.0 (8X) is only backwards compatible to 4X. AGP 2.0 (4X) is backwards compatible to 2X.
    So if you have an 8X card, and a 2X slot, it won't work, and you may fry the card.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •