Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    222

    barton 2500 and Vcore

    I have been seeing 2275MHz with a Vcore of 1.65v HOW??
    i have mine at 200 X 11.5 = 2300MHz Vcore 1.8v with idle temps at 39 deg C and 41.5 C load, and thats all i can get stable. Im just wondering is there something im doing wrong with O/C? I can go well over 2400MHz but crashes. Is it due to not enough power (Vcore), ram? Im running in sync 1:1 as its a Ultra 400 NForece 2 chipset. I just want to see 2500 -2600MHz out of this CPU and im not going to quit untill i do. If anyone could help with this issue i would be very greatful.

  2. #2
    Member NeoGeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    367
    I'm in the same boat as you are, sort of. I just bought an XP 2500+ at a computer show and the best I can get right now is 2.41GHz @ 1.9V or 2.3GHz @ 1.775V, anything more and I can't load Windows.

    Temps, power supply, and ram seem fine. Have you tried a little bit more voltage? What memory timings are you using in the bios?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    172
    Err... On a somewhat related note, is it a limitation of my mobo (MSI KT3 ARU) if I can only select up to 1.75v? What can I do to pump more voltage into my cpu? I don't have the option to go any higher with my Barton 2500+. My Palomino had up to 1.85v....

    I just got picked this puppy up today... Currently running at 175x12.5 @ 1.75v. My Samsung PC2700 is holding me back...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    222
    My mobo only goes to 1.800v and my ram timings are:
    8
    4
    4
    3.0
    I know its not real high performance settings but im going for stability.
    ram is samsung DDR 3200

  5. #5
    Member NeoGeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    367
    Sounds like the cpu just needs more voltage.

  6. #6
    Mustanley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Asheville, NC (Blue Ridge Mtns)
    Posts
    2,909
    I'm getting those speeds with air cooling @1.80 vcore. Do you know the stepping of your Barton?
    Last edited by Mustanley; 06-01-03 at 12:37 AM.
    Q9550 on P5Q-Deluxe(460x8.5=3910MHz), 4x2GB GSkill 1066, 750GB WD Black HD, GTX285(702,1512,2592), Blu-ray, Silverstone OP650, Samsung 1080P 50" Plasma + Dell 2408WFP, MX1000 laser mouse, Saitek backlit keyboard, P182, Xigmatek S1283 Black Knight

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    222
    the 12v is jumpy when i watch it in pcalert i can run 2300MHz but in hard benchmarking (3dmark2003) if the power jumps just a bit i crash.
    Mustanley
    what FSB and multi are you using with your 1.80v?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    161
    Im 11x200 with 1.7vcore and 2.7 ram voltage.

    Should I just beef up the vcore to 1.8? or should i also beef up the voltage to 2.8?

    Is voltage on the ram more likly to fry the system them messing with voltage on the cpu?

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18
    I can't seem to get anything passed 2.33 and still be 100 % stable, could be ram ....

  10. #10
    Inactive Super Quad Mod donny_paycheck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    4,446
    With the Bartons it seems like it takes a lot of voltage to get them above 2.5ghz. I couldn't break 2.5 until I got to about 1.95v. With anything less than excellent cooling it seems as though 2.4-2.5ghz is the best possible result to realistically expect.
    Core i7 920 @ 4 GHz, 1.35v
    Corsair Nautilus 500 w/DD BIX radiator swap & Apogee GTX
    Asus P6T
    6GB Corsair Dominator
    XFX GeForce GTX 285
    WD Raptor 150GB / Hitachi 1TB
    Antec P182 / PCP&C Silencer 750
    Samsung 2232GW

    Sic vis pacem, para bellum.

  11. #11
    Mustanley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Asheville, NC (Blue Ridge Mtns)
    Posts
    2,909
    Originally posted by [T-A]_Super_10
    the 12v is jumpy when i watch it in pcalert i can run 2300MHz but in hard benchmarking (3dmark2003) if the power jumps just a bit i crash.
    Mustanley
    what FSB and multi are you using with your 1.80v?
    I had been running it at 207x11.5, but I've since backed down to 200x11.5 because of crashes in certain games. It can handle hours of prime95 at 207x11.5 though. I have a Fortron fsp350 psu and the power seems stable enough. I can't imagine your antec 430 watter is the culprit. Those are pretty stout from what I've seen.
    Q9550 on P5Q-Deluxe(460x8.5=3910MHz), 4x2GB GSkill 1066, 750GB WD Black HD, GTX285(702,1512,2592), Blu-ray, Silverstone OP650, Samsung 1080P 50" Plasma + Dell 2408WFP, MX1000 laser mouse, Saitek backlit keyboard, P182, Xigmatek S1283 Black Knight

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    467
    my barton will do 2275 with default 1.65 vcore. my mobo is struggles so i'm not sure if i can go higher. i tried going higher than 182 multi but had to change vcore. 182 is around limit of my mobo so it could be partly stopping me.

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    18
    does anyone out there have access to anything above a 12.5 multiplier ? i have a rev 1 a7n8x with the 1003 bios

    im sure my chip can go a little faster but unfortunatly my ram doesn't seem to like anything above 199 fsb so using low multipliers is not really an option

  14. #14
    Member fiji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    berlin
    Posts
    2,174
    ive got it at 2300mhz at 1.725 vcore pretty stable im testing it at a "lan party" right now lol
    ---AthlonIIx4 4GBDDR3 NV9800GT---

    running Win7x64

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    161
    Originally posted by fiji
    ive got it at 2300mhz at 1.725 vcore pretty stable im testing it at a "lan party" right now lol
    whats your voltage for the ram and cpu as well as the ram timings? Oh and what is your hsf?

    Thanks

  16. #16
    Member specific's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    878
    my barton hates fsb
    i can't get a solid prime running 200fsb, no matter what voltage, it will crash after half a day
    and that just isn't good enough for me
    i have to do 2v just to keep 195 fsb stable @ 2341mhz
    on water!!!!!
    soo.........all of you with 200+ fsb, and 2.4+ ghz chips......

    would you like some cheese with that wine?
    Uphold an untold code.... & FOLD
    heatware

  17. #17
    Disabled JasonBr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    St Louis
    Posts
    134
    My Barton is doing 212x11.5 but i had to do volt mod and im running vcore at 1.98.

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK-Blackpool
    Posts
    67

    just some more info...

    Im running my barton 2500 @ 2300mhz 11.5 x 200 and it runs sweet so far.. and with 1.725 vcore..

    Stragngley though it kept crashing at all fsbs in the 170 to 180 range.. i nearly gave up!! and just selcted 200fsb and here i am!!

    btw the ram is unbranded pc2700 rubbish!!

  19. #19
    Mustanley's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Asheville, NC (Blue Ridge Mtns)
    Posts
    2,909
    Originally posted by JasonBr
    My Barton is doing 212x11.5 but i had to do volt mod and im running vcore at 1.98.
    How are you cooling that sucker? Nice OC btw.
    Q9550 on P5Q-Deluxe(460x8.5=3910MHz), 4x2GB GSkill 1066, 750GB WD Black HD, GTX285(702,1512,2592), Blu-ray, Silverstone OP650, Samsung 1080P 50" Plasma + Dell 2408WFP, MX1000 laser mouse, Saitek backlit keyboard, P182, Xigmatek S1283 Black Knight

  20. #20
    Disabled JasonBr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    St Louis
    Posts
    134
    Water cooled

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •