• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

System Questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mOtH3r_bUrN3R

Registered
Hello all, I have been reading the boards for about the past month and a half or so. It amazing as to what can be learned here so I decided to jump in the 'kiddy' end of the pool and begin my adventure with extreme cooling. I would appreciate some aid and or guidance with my future project. Maybe I can get some recommendations if the system I intend to build can be tweaked, modded or whatever you would recommend. I dont know anything really from prior knowledge so I have been writing a lot down and trying to learn as I go approach here. I have already read most of the guides listed here or linked to as well. Im an absolute newb when it comes to O/C, but I assume even the greats had to start somewhere. Thanks for any help or advice in advance.

Here are the specs for the system I intend to build:
PCU- 2.8 Pentium 4 800 Mhz
MB- Asus P4C800 Deluxe
Vid- ATI OEM Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 256
Sound- Creative labs- Audigy 2.0
Case- Vapochill PE (Black/Titanium)
Ram- 2x512 Corsair 32MX8 pc3500 C2 w. plat heat spreader
Cd-Rom- Asus-CD-S520 52x (Black)
Floppy- Sony 1.44MB 3.5inch (Black, for kicks)
PSU- 550 Antex

Please go easy on the newb. Im just trying to get some advice for the system. This will be my first real 'cooler' rig.

:D

Last edited:
Sorry bought that a bit ago when I saw it on sale....kinda slipped my mind

Hard drive- West Dig 120gig 7200/ 8mb cache

Well, for a first time I'd go with a nice heatsink. A vapochill would be kinda hard to install for a first timer. But, if you wanna try it, go for it.

Not really the first system I have ever owned. Just my first real attempt here at any 'superior' cooling. Will build the vapo with caution, thanks for the warning.