Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member Norbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Costa Rica

    Unhappy I need help Urgent

    Hi,
    I am installing a new system with a MSI KM2M and a 2100+ Toughbreed, hope it's spelled like that, well I cant get it to run.
    I turn on the power and after a few secs. it powers of automaticly. I tried everythig, mem is good and I get no Beeps of mem error. PSU is good, i tried with an Enermax 450 also and the same thing. Any Ideas??? Thr FSB is set to 133 by the motherboard's jumper.... so... did anyone ever had this problem?? Please help...
    P4 2.53b @ 3200
    Abit IT7-MAX
    RAM 1024 Mb Samsung DDR 3200
    4x120 Gb WD 1200 JB in Raid 0
    Litte River White Water block
    2 Maxxpert rads. & 120mm fans
    Eheim 1250
    Lian-Li PC6083A USB

  2. #2
    Member CZmanz19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Littleton, Colorado
    Is the Video Card all the way in

  3. #3
    Member Norbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Video is integrated in the mbo
    P4 2.53b @ 3200
    Abit IT7-MAX
    RAM 1024 Mb Samsung DDR 3200
    4x120 Gb WD 1200 JB in Raid 0
    Litte River White Water block
    2 Maxxpert rads. & 120mm fans
    Eheim 1250
    Lian-Li PC6083A USB

  4. #4
    Registered zappazootus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Portland, ME
    Bust out the mobo manual and focus on the memory and multiplier and voltage settings? Re seat all added components to mobo including memory? Confirm that memory is compatible with your system- ECC, non ECC, speed etc?

    Half the time the fix on anything from toilets to rockets has to do with getting something cleaned up or nudged into place.

    Good luck.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Finland
    first of all, try to plug in a fan to the cpu fan header on the motherboard, second of all .. make sure the heatsink is seated properly

    (and that everything else is seated properly for that matter)

    If it still doesn't power up, try to move the jumper over to 100 Mhz and see if you can get it to boot up..

    It kind of sounds like you could have mounted the heatsink wrong, and that it shuts down because of high temp. Alternatively.. it could have protection against CPU fan failing and won't stay powered on unless you have something connected to the CPU fan motherboard header.

    (by the way.. it's spelled thoroughbred )

  6. #6
    Member Norbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Costa Rica
    The fans are conected properly and the HSF seems fine.... the memory is compatible. The thing is that it shuts of after like 5 secs. Not time to get in bios or anything like it..... Any other ideas.... could it depend on the MBO or the CPU???
    P4 2.53b @ 3200
    Abit IT7-MAX
    RAM 1024 Mb Samsung DDR 3200
    4x120 Gb WD 1200 JB in Raid 0
    Litte River White Water block
    2 Maxxpert rads. & 120mm fans
    Eheim 1250
    Lian-Li PC6083A USB

  7. #7
    Member rugbyroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    ramadi, iraq
    maybe try resetting the cmos jumper to do this turn off the system, unplug the power chord to the mobo as well as in the back and put the cmos jumper to reset, then back to normal after a few seconds. Put everything back together and try it again.

  8. #8
    Member verbatim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Western Australia Perth
    Try the heatsink not heatsink fan. Make sure its seated properly else your computer could be shutting down from heat. What thermal paste u using?
    i7930 @ 3.9GHZ w/- MegaHalems push/pull
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R -- Coolermaster HAF X
    2 x 7970 @ 1100/1550 Saphire and XFX
    6048x1080 Eyefinity resolution. 3x24" acer'.s
    6gb ram -- 128GB Vertex3 SSD

    2nd Rig MAME arcade machine - AMD A64 4800+ -

    3rd Rig-MSI K7D Master-L -Hacked BIOS by Emboss
    2 2500XP-Mobile's @2350
    1024meg pc2700 (unreg)

  9. #9
    I want to be a Beta Tester
    Premium Member #26
    KnowlesTech's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Heatware Profile
    Make sure DDR or SDRAM jumper is in right place if your board has both.
    Thanks Knowles Tech
    My Heatware
    PC is changing to fast to list...
    I'm a beta tester :)

  10. #10
    Member OC Detective's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Malaysia
    I would tend to agree with those thinking the HSF is not on properly (assuming the fan is working correctly). It is probably shutting down to protect the chip from frying!

  11. #11
    Member ayoung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Metro Detroit MI
    Sounds like USB, make sure you plugged them in corrrectly into the mobo.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •