Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Member RideGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    350

    Question Buying DDR400 - Samsung or KingMax?

    Looking at either Samsung or KingMax DDR400 for running in dual channel on a Springdale chipset. They are both cheap and readily available. I won't be overclocking this box, stability is a must. I own 2 sticks of KingMax, and so far they've been great, but I haven't run them at 200mhz(400DDR) yet.

    Has anyone had any experience (or know someone) running either of these in dual channel at 200mhz(400DDR)? Any problems?



    Thanks in advance,
    Ride
    Rig1: ASUS P5Q Pro | E7300 | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-6400 CL4| NX7900GT (temp card) | CM Extreme Power 600W SLI | Antec SLK3700-BQE

  2. #2
    Zerileous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    1,358
    maximum PC reccomends Coarsair Micro but i dont have any real experiences-just a suggestion.
    Main Rig
    |Athlon XP Barton 2500+ @ 200x11=2200 MHz @ Stock Vcore ~ SLK-947U w/ 92mm Enermax (64CFM) ~ Abit NF7-S Rev. 2.0 ~ 512MB PC3200 Mushkin Black Level 1 @ stock vdimm. 2-3-2-11 ~ ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with XT hardware and XT bios Mod ~ Onboard Soundstorm ~ Logitech Z640s ~ WD Special Edition 120GB ~ Samsung 5400rpm 40GB file drive ~ Sony DRU-710A Dual layer +/- DVD Burner ~ 16x LiteOn DVD-ROM ~ Logitech MX500 Optical Mouse|
    Lappy: Dell Inspiron 9300
    |Pentium M 1.86 Ghz ~ 1GB DDR II ~ nVidia GeForce FX Go6800 256MB ~ 17" Widescreen 9200x1200 ~ 60GB 7200RPM HDD ~ DVD Drive/CD Burner combo ~ Centrino a/b/g interal WiFi and internal Bluetooth ~ 2x 80watt/hour batteries|

  3. #3
    Member RideGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    350
    I'm not sure that Coarsair Micro is available at any stores near me. I will take a look. Thanks for the sugestion.


    Ride
    Rig1: ASUS P5Q Pro | E7300 | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-6400 CL4| NX7900GT (temp card) | CM Extreme Power 600W SLI | Antec SLK3700-BQE

  4. #4
    Member Zeke968's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    303
    I've been using the samsung in my sig for 10 days now and it's working fine. The shop I bought it from had it running stable in a new Epox 8rda3+ at 220 FSB. After I do the VDD volt mod on mine board I'll see how far I can push it.

    My timings are relaxed right now at 7-3-3 2.5

  5. #5
    Member Zeke968's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    303
    Sig corrected below, fyi the fsb is 197

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    141
    my kingmax ddr 400 sucks big time...... can't get it stable past 180.

  7. #7
    Disabled Sickofthelies's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    157
    I have bad experience with Kingmaxm ,my ddr333 doesnt run past 280mhz...

  8. #8
    Member RideGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    350
    Originally posted by 01_VTEC SE
    my kingmax ddr 400 sucks big time...... can't get it stable past 180.
    Sickofthelies
    I have bad experience with Kingmaxm ,my ddr333 doesnt run past 280mhz...
    When did you guys buy your KingMax? I've noticed that the new chips are different then the old ones, they are red in color now. I have KingMax 400DDR. With my 2.4B@3Ghz I can run these sticks at 207.5Mhz(415DDR) at CL2.5 and 333DDR at 2CL. I am actually very happy with this memory so far, but I have heard allot of people say the opposite. It sounds like my best bet is to go for the Samsung.


    Thanks for your help guys,
    Ride
    Rig1: ASUS P5Q Pro | E7300 | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-6400 CL4| NX7900GT (temp card) | CM Extreme Power 600W SLI | Antec SLK3700-BQE

  9. #9
    Member Albuquerque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    3,572
    Had a piece of KingMax DDR400that wouldn't run much faster than about DDR285. Threw 2.8v at it and got like DDR300, which wasn't much better. Returned it to NewEgg, got another piece which is the one you see below (maxxes at 422). I think it's "cheap" ram in every sense of the word, but it's not necessarily bad. I'm actually kicking around the idea to purchase another 512mb stick of it...
    Sis 461 VLB-3.................................|.Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
    AMD 486DX4 133 at 200Mhz 50FSB x 4 3.5v.......|.E8400 E0 3.0Ghz at 4.5Ghz 500FSB x 9 1.48v
    S3 864P 4mb VRAM VLB at 48/54 on 50mhz bus....|.2 x Sapphire 4850 512mb at 700/1100 PCIE 2.0 x16
    4 x 32mb HMC PC33 SIMM's50Mhz 2-1-1-3 at 3.3v.|.4 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix D9GMH 1000Mhz 5-5-5-12 at 2.1v
    2 x Western Digital 4200RPM Caviar 4Gb ATA66..|.Samsung 7200RPM Spinpoint F1 750Gb SATA-II
    Mitsumi
    4x CDRW PIO-1.........................|.Samsung 20x DVD+/-RW SATA
    Magic Color!

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    55
    if i wanted ultra stability without sacrificing features i'd pick up an intel d865perl motherboard with crucial pc3200

  11. #11
    Member RideGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    350
    Originally posted by astroglide
    if i wanted ultra stability without sacrificing features i'd pick up an intel d865perl motherboard with crucial pc3200

    Thanks for the advise, but I'm really looking for a discount machine. This will be strickly a business machine, and will not be used for gaming or OCing. I'm trying to get the most for the least.

    AOpen H340 Slim Desktop
    P4P800-VM 865G mATX w/ VGA, Audio, Lan, SATA
    P4 2.4C
    2x256meg Samsung DDR
    30gig 7200rpm Maxtor DMP 8
    Rig1: ASUS P5Q Pro | E7300 | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-6400 CL4| NX7900GT (temp card) | CM Extreme Power 600W SLI | Antec SLK3700-BQE

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    55
    uh...

    the d865perl is an intel brand motherboard, so it has next to no overclocking options. it also has firewire and the best onboard sound available, csa bus gigabit ethernet, and costs $109 shipped. it is well worth the FOUR DOLLAR DIFFERENCE between it and the p4p800-vm to get all those features AND the intel name - you'll still need to cough up a couple bucks for cheapo video, but you're getting a LOT more.

    if you don't want crucial memory you can go as cheap as you want, but you specifically mentioned stability. it really doesn't get any more standard/supported/stable than intel board, intel cpu, and crucial memory.

  13. #13
    Member RideGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    350
    I understand what your saying. To the power user the d865perl would be the better choice along with better memory. This needs to be a stable DISCOUNT comp. Asus has a good rep, as well as Samsung, and you can't beat the price.



    Ride
    Rig1: ASUS P5Q Pro | E7300 | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-6400 CL4| NX7900GT (temp card) | CM Extreme Power 600W SLI | Antec SLK3700-BQE

  14. #14
    Premium Member #10
    clash's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canyon,Tx.
    Posts
    991
    I have been using Samsung chips for the last 5 months in dual mode. Mine are fine, and i ran memtest on them for a day and a half, i never did get an error....
    i7 2600k @ 4.5
    ASRock Z77 Extreme4
    Corsair Vengeance 4x8
    Mushkin Chronos 120
    XFX 7950 BE 1050/1500
    Rosewill Lightning-1000 PSU

  15. #15
    Member Zeke968's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    303
    Clash, what are your timings set at? Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •