Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    How to regulate bandwidth

    I have Comcast cable and a home network and it's all nice and dandy, except when the two download wh*re brothers decide to turn on Kazaa and let it run 24/7 and it slows down web page loading to 56k speed. I've already been yelled at for unplugging their connection. Is there any way at all to regulate the bandwidth that each computer on the network can use? I have a SMC Barricuda Router/Switch, and I haven't crossed anything yet that would be able to provide such a function, but I figured I check in here before giving up totally.
    n/a

  2. #2
    Member fiji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    berlin
    i dont know how to regulat it by a router, not sure if you can

    but if you have access to their computers im almost 100% sure theres software that can be found


    now where i dont know

    sorry i cant be much more of a help
    ---AthlonIIx4 4GBDDR3 NV9800GT---

    running Win7x64

  3. #3
    Senior Member Kingslayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Port Charlotte, Florida
    There is nothing that you can do with that SMC Barricade to limit bandwidth in any way shape or form. It's not the SMC that is holding you up, 99% of the SOHO routers out there aren't capable of this.

    You are going to need a high end, high priced router to accomplish this. (easy rule = if it doesn't say Cisco, you aren't altering bandwidth.

    Now, there is a couple of things called MTU and RWIN that you can adjust on the local machine that will cripple bandwidth...
    "Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have made a difference in the world. Marines don't have that problem" Ronald Reagan

    Proud member of the XDC

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    A simple linux box with iproute2 will accomplish what you are after.

  5. #5
    Member deeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    go to www.dslreports.com and download Dr.tcp on their machine then run it then like kingslayer says make the rwin(recieve window) a small number i think the default for win 98 is 32000 not sure about xp but it will be larger then 98 then change the mtu(maximum transmission unit) might not be able to do this if using xp but again a smaller number will affect bandwidth dsl reports will explain all in detail.

  6. #6
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    UK
    Dr TCP is http://www.dslreports.com/front/drtcp.html <--There

    If you cannot get access to the computers in question (you will probably need Administrator privilidges to get Dr TCP to work) then you will probably need to set up a Linux router, like Ddruid_SMP said.

  7. #7
    Member xb-70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Philly, PA
    An easy solution would be to limit the upload and download usage of kazaa on their computers, they shouldnt be sharing stuff any way. There is an option in the program to alter bandwith usage, and to not permit uploads.

  8. #8
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    UK
    Don't adjust that setting too much, though - since it will be blatant if all the downloads top out at 20kbps



    Just reduce the upload settings.


    Failing that, reason with them

  9. #9
    Ok I had thought about changing the MTU because I remembered about that from my CCNA days, but wasn't sure if it would accomplish what I wanted. I'll try that Dr TCP that you've reccommended and see how that works out. Sometimes I wish I was a real hardcore hardware hacker...maybe I would flash custom firmware that would limit bandwidth.
    n/a

  10. #10
    Member tatanka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bay Area, Ca
    just do what i do when my brother/wife decide to leave kazaa on and they're not around... I go ahead and block their mac addresses from accessing the internet on my lil' linksys wireless router... and if they happen to come home and ask why they can't get on the internet... i just tell 'em I'll take a "look" at the problem... I always blame the problem on our "flaky" DSL connection (even though it's been pretty much rock solid for the 4 years we've had it... hehehe, i love bein the only admin in the house...)

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    --
    I teach people how to read your email.
    su root's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    http://bandwidthcontroller.com/
    This can limit their send & recieve speeds. Where you install it depends on your network setup. Most likely, you will have to install it on their computers.
    "Some people, when confronted with a problem, think 'I know, Ill use regular expressions.' Now they have two problems."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •