Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Member BIB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    830

    Just got my AMD Athlon 2400+

    I just put this chip in and was wondering what is the average temps for this chip? I started folding just for 10 minutes or so and it jumped to 50C and will probably go hotter.
    But AMD's run hotter right?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Racine, WI
    Posts
    69
    yes amd's run hotter, but what thermal paste and heatsink are you using, that might explain your temps.

  3. #3
    Member BIB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    830
    But are those temps fine? ???
    at idol it just dropped to 46C (115F)
    I am using a Volcano 5 heatsink with fan
    Thermal paste = Heat Sink Compound from RadioShack. Now i know that is not the best thermal paste to use, but it will have to do for now.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    601
    yeh they do run hot and the 2400+'s love high voltages! so if your going to overclock I think you better get some major cooling!

    Oh and they don't oc that much!
    |Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66GHz (1333Mhz FSB)|Shuttle SG33G5|ASUS Radeon 4850 (1GB DDR3)|Kingston 4GB DDR2 PC2-6400 HyperX|250GB Maxtor(MaXLine Plus II)|Windows XP Home|Windows Vista Home 32bit|

  5. #5
    Member BIB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    830
    plus it is hot outside and with two computers with two monitors going in my small room = HOT

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    601
    your temps are high but if its stable it shouldn't kill it! But I'd get a way better HSF and some ASIII!
    |Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66GHz (1333Mhz FSB)|Shuttle SG33G5|ASUS Radeon 4850 (1GB DDR3)|Kingston 4GB DDR2 PC2-6400 HyperX|250GB Maxtor(MaXLine Plus II)|Windows XP Home|Windows Vista Home 32bit|

  7. #7
    Member BIB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    830
    what would you recommend for the heatsink? if you can give me a link. I usally shop at newegg if they have anything good.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    170
    My XP2400 run at 17*133=2260 Mhz. Idle at 44-45C and full load at 51-52C. Motherboard is ABIT KT7A. H/S is Alpha 6035 with 60mm Sunon fan. If you look for a H/S fan, I recommend the SLK800 (Thermalright) with a Smart Fan 2 or Sunon. If you are on a budget then the SK7 is also highly recommended.

  9. #9
    I run my XP2400+ AIUGB 0243 with a SLK-800 and a 80mm Tornado (84cfm). Actually i have 4 tornados and a nexus. I can run my chip @ 2510 with 2.1v stable as long as load stays below 36C - 37C. Of Course only during the winter. Right now @ 1.65v 2.1ghz I full load @ 35C with a case temp of 31C. The overclockability of your 2400 all depends on your stepping. I had a AIUCB 0242 that barely did 2.2ghz @ 2v.

  10. #10
    Member BIB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    830
    thanks, hopefully i can get a 500mhz overclock on my chip.

  11. #11
    Member BIB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    830
    how did you get above 10,000 on your 3dmark score?
    I ran it and only got 8700, but with video card oced i got 9000 and i have a ti4200.

  12. #12
    Member BIB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    830
    yesterday was a cooler day outside, so today my idle temp was 36C (100F) and full load was 42C (109F).

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    202
    Mother nature is haveing fun with your box it seems.

    Even with a beefy heatsink you'll see some higher temps in the summer. The rig in my sig will hit 47C on a hot day doing prime95 work and on a cool night I can't get it to go over 40C doing the same thing. I'm 100% stable even with a half broken CPU so it doesn't bother me.

  14. #14
    Member Josebmw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    619
    Definetely, I mean, Im running with a watercooling rig, and the cpu temps stay in the upper 30 C.'s idle, Im kinda dissapointed to get only 250 mhz extra out of that chip overclocking it.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    202
    Originally posted by BIB
    how did you get above 10,000 on your 3dmark score?
    I ran it and only got 8700, but with video card oced i got 9000 and i have a ti4200.
    Look at your DDR RAM timeings/settings and get those sorted out in bios. Even with everything at stock you should be hitting 10k+ 3dmarks no sweat. I was hitting 11.5K at all stocks speeds and just haveing the RAM tweaked just right.


    And yeah.....My 2400+ doesn't OC worth a damn. Although it would've helped if I didn't screw up the chip altering it to run at 166 FSB. :/

  16. #16
    Member BIB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    830
    OK then how can i mess with the timings, i am not too familiar in that area? Everything right now is set to auto set. So what timing should i put it at?
    I got 2 kingston 256 chips in my box.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    202
    If it's PC3200 memory try setting the CAS to 2.0, CMD to 1, CL to 6 and then drop the rest of the timeings to 2.

    Dram bank interleave should be 4 way.
    DRAM Burst length on mysystem is 8.

    If it's still happy with those settings then you should see a nice performance boost.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    186
    my 2400+ is at 2233 mhz without any voltage changes. On my bios my tems are 40-45 but on windows my cpu tem is messed up it jumps from 40 to 50 to 80 to 10 in a few secods dont now why it does that.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    202
    Originally posted by aznchaos
    my 2400+ is at 2233 mhz without any voltage changes. On my bios my tems are 40-45 but on windows my cpu tem is messed up it jumps from 40 to 50 to 80 to 10 in a few secods dont now why it does that.
    Long as you don't smell smoke you should be fine.....try a different program to watch the temps in windows. MBM5 is a good option. Bit rough to figure out at first but it comes in handy at tmes.

  20. #20
    Member BIB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    830
    now basically messing with the timings to the ram i am overclocking it right?
    the ram is PC2100DDR 256mb 2.5V (i of course have two chips)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •