Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    deeppow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    2,187

    XP lag after desktop appears

    After WinXP has opened the desktop, I get a lag of about a minute before I can do anything. After the "dead period" things operate as normal. Task Master shows nothing but idle going on yet the OS and CPU are clearly occuppied with something. This has started in the last 7 to 10 days and wasn't occuring previously. Have cleared the registry. Haven't installed new software.

    Any suggestions how to figure out what is causing the delay?

    Thanks!
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz
    GSkill DDR3 2400 (2*4Gb) 9-11-11-31
    Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Sumsung 840Pro 512G
    Corsair 1050 in Corsair Graphite 730T
    Win7 64-bit

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    2,292
    That is an odd problem... Maybe some kind of program (spyware) snuck in and is taking a long time to load when the OS boots? I don't really know though...
    Random posting and questions since June!

  3. #3
    Member thalzaar24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Jax, Florida
    Posts
    361
    I agree with Skiing Squirrel. Download SpyBot and AdAware 6 and run them on your computer to check for any spy/adware that might be running when you start up.
    Opteron 165 (270x9 daily)
    Zalman CNPS9500 LED 92mm HSF
    Epox 9NPA+ SLI
    eVGA 7800 GTX
    2x1Gb G.Skill Extreme 3200
    RAID 0 x2 Seagate SATA 120Gb
    SB Audigy 2
    OCZ Modstream 520w


    My Heatware

  4. #4
    Member NiTrO bOiE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    2,568
    Do you have disk checking enabled at startup? That may cause your comp to slow.
    CPU: AMD 64 3000+ DTR @ 2750
    MB:
    DFI Lanparty UT 250GB

    Memory: 2x 1GB G.Skill PC3200

    Video:
    Radeon X800XT-PE w/ Maze 4 GPU

    Hard Drives:
    36GB Raptor (Main) 160GB Hitachi (Storage)

    Optical Storage:
    44x CD, 8x DVD-RW

    Sound:
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Case & Power: Black Chieftec FT w/ Window, Antec TP 430
    Watercooled WW, Pro Core (2) 120mm Deltas, Hydor L20
    Windows XP Professional x64 Edition

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    53
    Where do you check to see if diskcheck is enabled at startup?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    deeppow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    2,187
    Originally posted by thalzaar24
    I agree with Skiing Squirrel. Download SpyBot and AdAware 6 and run them on your computer to check for any spy/adware that might be running when you start up.
    Ya already did that, both are clear. Also ran Housecall for virsus and nothing there either.

    Were is diskcheck?
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz
    GSkill DDR3 2400 (2*4Gb) 9-11-11-31
    Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Sumsung 840Pro 512G
    Corsair 1050 in Corsair Graphite 730T
    Win7 64-bit

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    40
    Ive just went through this problem and it drove me insane.
    Come to find out it was something as simple as a bad Ide cable.
    I sent a motherboard back out of frustration and Installed windows every which way. The problem kept on. Changed the cable and was like new. Sometimes its the simplest things that burn you!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    deeppow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Los Alamos, NM
    Posts
    2,187
    I found it, thanks for taking the time to reply folks. Problem was a service that was hanging on startup and finally timing out.

    Be
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H , Intel i7 4770K @4.7Ghz
    GSkill DDR3 2400 (2*4Gb) 9-11-11-31
    Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
    EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
    Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Sumsung 840Pro 512G
    Corsair 1050 in Corsair Graphite 730T
    Win7 64-bit

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    85
    well dont stop there tell us what the service was Mine is doing the same thing and i just reformated all drives and installed xp again, and its still doing it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •