• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

About to overclock my Radeon8500LE for the first time...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ubik

Registered
Hey all :) I'm new to overclocking, but since I've read a lot about people overclocking the Radeon 8500LE I figured I'd try it out.

My only question is about whether my cooling is sufficient. The stock fan on my card died about two months ago, so I bought a Sunon 40x40 fan (http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=619) and screwed it onto the stock heatsink. The Sunon fan gets 9.1 CFM, and I'll be getting some ramsinks in the mail this week, so I figure that'll all be sufficient to take it from 250/250 to 275/275. Am I mistaken on this, or can I go ahead with this configuration?

Ubik said:
Hey all :) I'm new to overclocking, but since I've read a lot about people overclocking the Radeon 8500LE I figured I'd try it out.

My only question is about whether my cooling is sufficient. The stock fan on my card died about two months ago, so I bought a Sunon 40x40 fan (http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=619) and screwed it onto the stock heatsink. The Sunon fan gets 9.1 CFM, and I'll be getting some ramsinks in the mail this week, so I figure that'll all be sufficient to take it from 250/250 to 275/275. Am I mistaken on this, or can I go ahead with this configuration?

You shouldn't have to much of a problem getting to retails 275/275 even with the default fan.

Just go slow incrementally 5 or so mhz at a time for both the core and the memory.

If you ever get adventurous with the cooling or volt modding read these (Digs in archives) :)

http://www.overclockers.com/tips757/

http://www.overclockers.com/tips759/