Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada(Montreal)

    Please recommend Best 56 K and V. 92 Modems!!!

    I don't want to overspend but want to get any good modem out there, Salesman reccomended Intel is it good or I can get something else better for bit more money, I'm looking for V.92 modem!!!

  2. #2
    Member tinman5567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Oklahoma
    I had a intel 56k V.92 modem had nothing but problems with it I got a cendyne 56k V.92 no problems at all works great got it at office max for 10.00 but free after rebate I think you should look around for a good cheap modem I have had 4 modems and didnt see much differnce between them except the intel witch never ran right never gave me the right kbps

  3. #3
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Iowa
    anything with an Intel Chipset would be the way to go. Brand-wise many people swear by U.S. Robotics, but in my opinion they are overpriced.

    i've had great luck with this encore modem, from newegg:

    http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...180-001&depa=1

    bought 1 lot of 20, and have 6 or so left, all the rest went into PC's for customers, or replacements for ones that got hit by lightning. they run great, and i've had no problems with disconnecting, slow connect rates, or any of the other problems associated with less-than-stellar modem chipsets.

    stay the hell away from conextant chipsets.. *shudder*

  4. #4
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Iowa
    Originally posted by tinman5567
    I had a intel 56k V.92 modem had nothing but problems with it I got a cendyne 56k V.92 no problems at all works great got it at office max for 10.00 but free after rebate I think you should look around for a good cheap modem I have had 4 modems and didnt see much differnce between them except the intel witch never ran right never gave me the right kbps
    that was most likely a monitoring error within windows. intel chipsets are THE most reliable, fast, hassle free chipsets you can get on a modem, at least in my experience.

    what sort of issues were you having with it?

  5. #5
    Member tinman5567's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Oklahoma
    just put the intel back in it is faster.Canadien go by mr chambers post I still got the same problem but problem just might be a soft ware problem

  6. #6
    Member cack01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San diego or UC Davis
    I have used US robotics my whole life. Every single card that I have bought over the last 10 years still works. I really recomend them.
    LianLi PC70
    Dual PIII 1.0@1.2 (7.5*160) on ABIT VP6
    768 PC-133
    Geforce 4 TI4200 310/580
    Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
    2x 40 GB Seagate 5400 w/Striping
    1x 80 GB Seagate 7200
    24X Yamaha CD-RW
    Sony 520GS 21"

  7. #7
    Member q149's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Japan
    US Robotics external.
    "Religion is the sigh of the oppressed creature, the heart of a heartless world, & the soul of soulless conditions. It is the opium of the people."

    - Karl Marx

  8. #8
    You may be able to get a US Robotics v.90 external cheap, and if its model number 5686-03 there's a free v.92 upgrade for it, but no luck with an upgrade if it's a 5686-00.

  9. #9
    Member palee72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA

    WELCOME TO THE FORUMS

    II've had good luck with 3Com modems and US Robotics (are they the same company now?) That's all I ever put in machines that I build. Most of the newer modems also let you flash the bios for future upgrades as well.

    Stick with the most common brands. It's not always "a modem is a modem, is a modem". I've used cheep modems before, I've seen the difference..

    Are you not able to get/afford broadband in your area?
    System:
    Motherboard: ASUS M4A78T-E
    Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 945 @ 3Ghz
    RAM: G.SKILL NS 4GB (2 x 2GB) (PC3 10600)
    CPU Cooling: AMD Stock
    Case Cooling: Side mounted blue led fan
    Case: Some silver case I picked up someplace. It holds my stuff..

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shoreline, Washington
    You also have a choice between a hardware vs software modem.
    The software modem is a bit cheaper but also uses cpu cycles to do it's job, whereas the hardware modem has an onboard controller to do its own work while leaving the cpu to do other things, they are a bit more expensive. You don't mention what kind of machine this modems going into, but if its an older one you might think about going the hardware route. I swapped out a winmodem for a US Robotics hardware modem on my PII 450 (back in the old 56K days hehheh) and there was a noticable difference, not earth shaking, but certainly worth the extra $$$$. I'm guessing if you have 1G+ of processing power either route would be almost as good. But if you can afford it go hardware, you won't regret it IMHO.

    II've had good luck with 3Com modems and US Robotics (are they the same company now?) That's all I ever put in machines that I build.
    Second that....

    Good Luck
    elec.tron
    To Be Determined

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    get adsl :O

  12. #12
    Senior Member Yodums's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    I used a 3com modem in the past then got a new computer with a US Robotics one. Both were very quality, don't have anything bad to say about neither.
    Peter Gibbons: Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you're not feelin' real well, does anyone ever say to you, 'Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays'?

    Lawrence: No. No, man. ****, no, man. I believe you'd get your ass kicked sayin' something like that, man.

  13. #13
    3Com sold off their US Robotics division, at something like 80% less than what they originally paid for it.

  14. #14
    Member FTC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Hi,

    I've had success with ZOOM modems. In my priority list, when buying a modem :

    1. I don't want soft modems.
    2. I rather prefer *external* modems with surge protection (since I burned that old internal modem due to a thunderstorm), USB or serial, buy serial if you want compatibility with *anything*, old or new.
    3. Good thing to have : upgradeable firmware
    4. Reliable manufacturer (read *known*)
    5. And for last, small size. Yo don't need a modem as big as a PC

    Regards
    FTC
    AOpen s661FXM-FSN, PM "Dothan" 1.8 @ 2.61Ghz (1.66v),XP90 cooler, Sapphire HD3850 AGP. 2048MB uccc, WD Black 1Tb HDD. PLextor PX712A+PX760A
    Canon iP5200R Printer. Lappy: IBM T400 C2D 2.4

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Northeast U.S.A.
    I used to use expensive U.S. Robotics modems, but after having 2 break on me, I bought a cheapie Encore Modem at Newegg. I think I paid like $12 for it at the time. It worked great.
    I only used it a little while, because I upgraded to DSL. So, I can't really say how long they last. I still have it in my machine, just in case something happens with my DSL and I need Dial Up.

  16. #16
    Member RZA's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Heatware Profile
    For me ,USRobotics Courier (older version) is the king. Especially on low-quality analog lines - it beats any other one in matters of stability. However, I don't think there are THAT crappy analog lines in USA

    Anyway, there are custom-made flashes for USRs that optimize them for good digital lines and make them blazing fast and super-stable. The one I use at home easily holds a line for 48 hours (I've got a dedicated line for Internet), and I'm sure it would hold more (my ISP resets the session after 48 hours).

  17. #17
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Iowa
    Originally posted by Bengan
    get adsl :O
    obviously, he cannot get DSL, either due to financial restraints or because its not available in his area. most people still do access the internet via dial-up. when someone asks what modem he should get, why does someone ALWAYS have to say "just get DSL, just get cable, etc"?

    i agree with FTC and EmTSea19. before i switched over to using Encore modems (intel chipsets), i used Zoom, and had great results with those also, however, newegg stopped carrying them, and so i was forced to switch to Encore. was a great thing, because they were just as good, if not better, and cost less.

    just remember, the important thing here is not necessarily the brand, but rather the chipset of the modem. if possible you want to go with an Intel, as they're reliable, inexpensive, and good quality chipsets.

    as i said before, you should be generally satisfied with most modems, as long as you stay away from ANYTHING that uses a conextant or rockwell chipset..

    John

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •