Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Yellow Forum Rat
    pik4chu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, Colorado
    Posts
    4,587

    strange problem in Rise of Nations game

    I found a strange problem when playing a Rise of Nations network game at a small LAN party I setup a few days ago. I think I know the problem but not sure. I have a Radeon 7200 (small overclock to AGP bus @ 35) 32 meg card. and with all settings/displays set to the lowest settings the game starts to hang about 30 minuts into a 5 player game (3 human, 2 omputer). the computer slows down and will lag out everyone else. saying "waiting for other player" is this the video card? a glitch in the game itself? I think its vid but I dunno.. little info below:

    My rig:
    Radeon 7200 32MB
    Athlon XP 1700 @ 2100
    1024 PC2700 RAM
    10/100 Ethernet on Full duplex 8 port switch (only 3 comps connected)

    other comps had P4 3.06 and Athlon XP 2100
    one with a Radeon 8500 128MB and GForce MX4xx something... so then it is my card? ordering a 9200 today so hopefully it will fix it (need a new card for Half-Life 2 anyways )
    DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
    Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

    Folding User Stats
    Team 32 Countdown heatware

  2. #2
    Member Inositle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Lee's Summit, MO
    Posts
    223
    I doubt it's your video card. Also I'm pretty sure the 9200 isn't that woopie. Sounds like a bug or some kind of glitch with your system.

  3. #3
    Member Madmike2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    437
    Rise of Nations is a notoriously buggy game ... i play it alot at our Internet cafe ... that happens all the time ... me thinks .. even though people disagree with this term, i think it has bad coding creating memory leaks.. the only time its never messed up in a long game for us was one time 5 of us all played korea..
    Asus P8Z77 with 3570 16 GIGS 670 GTX FED by SSD's

  4. #4
    Senior Yellow Forum Rat
    pik4chu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, Colorado
    Posts
    4,587
    Originally posted by Inositle
    I doubt it's your video card. Also I'm pretty sure the 9200 isn't that woopie. Sounds like a bug or some kind of glitch with your system.
    im cheap on most things just needed a card with more ram and faster and got a good deal on it... but its still better than wha tI got now.

    *edit* the other thing is it ONLY does it on my computer... we all have the same install of the game and it only hangs and causes problems on my computer...
    DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
    Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

    Folding User Stats
    Team 32 Countdown heatware

  5. #5
    Member cursor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA USA
    Posts
    984
    I'm getting a few weird problems with this game myself. They seem to improve when I kill applications that I like to run in the background (folding@home, for example). Still, I got a corrupted save game today.

    BTW, the game is pretty awesome. Maybe Microsoft will patch it again
    This space intentionally left blank.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Between Heaven and Hell
    Posts
    538
    It's not just you. It affects everyone no matter what card or drivers they use. RoN just freezes after a certain duration every time. Sometimes I go 1 hour; sometimes 3 hours. Whether I use the Parhelia on the nF2, the 9500Pro on a SiS, or a GF4 4600 on the MPX. Be it air or water cooling. That's the only game that has this problem.

  7. #7
    Senior Yellow Forum Rat
    pik4chu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, Colorado
    Posts
    4,587
    Originally posted by HotKoala
    It's not just you. It affects everyone no matter what card or drivers they use. RoN just freezes after a certain duration every time. Sometimes I go 1 hour; sometimes 3 hours. Whether I use the Parhelia on the nF2, the 9500Pro on a SiS, or a GF4 4600 on the MPX. Be it air or water cooling. That's the only game that has this problem.
    well thats understandable but all three network games it was only me that had problems.. (i.e. after I resigned the game all was fine again)

    and yes it is an awsome game, hope microsoft patches it as well
    DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
    Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

    Folding User Stats
    Team 32 Countdown heatware

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Between Heaven and Hell
    Posts
    538
    Don't worry, play more often and the others will lag out first=)

    I've been playing it since it came out. Almost every single one of my online or LAN games has someone freezing out if it's not a short game. Sometimes it'll let us play for 3 hours, sometimes it'll die after an hour.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •