Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member Barnstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Wild Blue Yonder

    CPU getting cooler and cooler...

    Dunno why this is happening, but my cpu has been getting cooler and cooler over the last few weeks. I havent changed anything about the system lately, and the ambient stays the same all the time in the room, but the load temp has dropped about a degree every couple of days.
    It used to run about 50-51 at load (F@H 24/7)
    slowly dropped to now only about 46 at load.
    Ideas?
    all temps reported by speedfan

  2. #2
    Member moz_21's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Are you using Arctic Silver paste? That takes like a week to "set" and load temps will drop slightly.
    [Win7 x64 Desktop] Asus P8P67 w/ i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz 1.37v, CM 212 EVO, 16GB Mushkin DDR3 (991996) @ 2133MHz 9-11-10-28-39 2T, Sapphire AMD Radeon 290X, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, Antec P183 gunmetal grey, SeaSonic 850W PSU
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS Server] Supermicro H8DME-2, 2x Opteron 2419 (6 core 1.8GHz), 20GB DDR2 ECC, 12x 1.5TB Samsung MDADM RAID6 array, wrapped in an AIC 24bay chassis
    [Win7 x64 Media PC] Asus M4A88T, Phenom 2 965 X4 @ stock, 8GB RAM, ATI HD-5450, OCZ Onyx 32GB, Seagate 7200.11 1TB, Ceton InfiniTV 4
    [Ubuntu 14.04 LTS x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5733Z, Intel P6200 2.13GHz, 4GB DDR3 ram, I-GMA, Hitachi 320GB
    [Win7 x64 Laptop] Acer Aspire 5530, AMD Turion X2 RM70 2GHz, 3GB ram, ATI Radeon HD3200, OCZ Vertex 2 50GB
    [Smoothwall 3.0] Compaq Deskpro, PIII 833 on an i810 chipset, 512MB CL2 ram, 74Gb WD Raptor, 2x Realtek NIC
    [My].Heatware

  3. #3
    Member squeezecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    PA
    it will also take time for any tim to settle this is normal just the burn in time thats all, also try mbm 5 thats a good temp moniter
    neo2, winne 3200+ @2.6 1.675(or so) vcore--PRIME STABLE-- 1gig Gskill ddr550 bfg6800gtoc 445/1200 watercooled everything :attn: :attn:

  4. #4
    Member Barnstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Wild Blue Yonder
    I am using the stock AMD heatsink and the goop that came with it AFAIK. I got the system used and all I have done is lapped the HS about a month ago. The previous owner had used so much paste that after I lapped the HS there was still so much on top of the die and all over the chip that I had plenty to re-install the HS using the directions on the Arctic Silver website

    (edit)
    the system was obviously a year or so old when I got it, so I think it was all the way burned in already.

  5. #5
    Member squeezecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    PA
    yes but if you've lapped the heat sink u still had to put some tim between the cpu and heat sink, it usally take about 30 - 50 hrs for the tim to burn in, if youve done this with in that last week you should be okay. if it has been over that then make sure ur ambient room tempature is staying about the same ambient room temp has alot to do with the cpu

    Also might want to try mbm 5
    neo2, winne 3200+ @2.6 1.675(or so) vcore--PRIME STABLE-- 1gig Gskill ddr550 bfg6800gtoc 445/1200 watercooled everything :attn: :attn:

  6. #6
    Member squeezecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    PA
    sorry but did you say you reused the old TIM???
    neo2, winne 3200+ @2.6 1.675(or so) vcore--PRIME STABLE-- 1gig Gskill ddr550 bfg6800gtoc 445/1200 watercooled everything :attn: :attn:

  7. #7
    Member Barnstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Wild Blue Yonder
    there was loads of the goop all over the top of the chip (around the die). There was probably 10x the amount reccomended by the Arctic silver website. I just removed the HS, cleaned and lapped it, scraped up a bunch of the goop off the chip, cleaned the chip, re-applied a small amount (per ASIII site) and re-installed the HS. That alone dropped temps by 3-5c.
    CPU started getting cooler about 2 weeks (336hrs CPU time F@H 24/7) later

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Lugoff, SC
    Stock AMD HSF? I dont remember, but do those have copper in them? Copper is a soft metal that will start to mold to the top of your CPU die, causing a really nice thermal interface.

  9. #9
    Member Barnstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Wild Blue Yonder
    No copper in my HS, all aluminum. I am just assuming that it is the stock AMD retail unit, as there are no markings and it is pretty plain. Doesnt cool very well, either.
    Gonna go to an SK-7 or the like once the new MB goes in and I can OC a bit better.

  10. #10
    Member squeezecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    PA
    you should try not to reuse the tim
    neo2, winne 3200+ @2.6 1.675(or so) vcore--PRIME STABLE-- 1gig Gskill ddr550 bfg6800gtoc 445/1200 watercooled everything :attn: :attn:

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2002
    mine just get warmer after some time,.when the HS get stuffed with dust. I really should get this room cat free and also start vacuuming more...

  12. #12
    Member PoX Freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    North Carolina
    It's probably the fact that he used "used" TIM. the little bit of silicone or other lube in it is supposed to help it settle faster, but since he "scraped up" what he used, im guessing it took longer to settle due to the lack od silicone or whatever in the TIM.

  13. #13
    Member Barnstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Wild Blue Yonder
    Well today I bought a Volcano 9, so we will see how that one goes. I promise to use all new goop this time!
    Brian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •