Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 41
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003

    dont waste cash on routers

    just get zonealarm pro works GREAT and ALL and i mean ALL my ports all stealth what more can u want works great simple to use same results as a router but at a TON LOWER price

  2. #2
    hum, people dont get a router just for the firewall

  3. #3
    yea, some people like to ROUTE things, like internet connections, to differant computers.


  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    o ok im nub so i say stupid things lol o well maybe my next topic will be more helpful

  5. #5
    Zonealarm doesn't do nat.

    Don't waste cash on Zonealarm. Use a real firewalling solution. Like iptables. Or pf. Or ipfw. Or ipfilter.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    NW Pa
    Yeah, get a better solution, like low end PC (usually free) and pop Smoothwall on it.
    New build coming soon: Q6600 | Abit IP35-Pro | EVGA 8800GT 512mb | Tt Mozart TX case | 2-loop watercooling

    Heatware

  7. #7
    Senior Member engjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    SoCal
    Originally posted by XWRed1
    Zonealarm doesn't do nat.

    Don't waste cash on Zonealarm. Use a real firewalling solution. Like iptables. Or pf. Or ipfw. Or ipfilter.
    I second that!
    <--- Dave and My Girlfriend in Atlanta, Ga at the Ritz Carlton!!! Yahoo!! (I took the PIC!!)

    und KEINE EIER!!!
    My Heatware

  8. #8
    but does ZA allow me to share my cable with my 8 machines? does it act as my DHCP host?
    does it alow me to meter my internet connection?
    nope, i guess i will stick with my router

  9. #9
    Member Carnil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Spokane, USA
    Heck, a hardware router may be cheaper than a software firewall. The Gigafast EE400-R is available on Newegg for $13 -- potentially cheaper than a second network card or a commercial firewall.

    Not that I'd wish that particular router on anyone -- it was a pain to set up, and stopped working temporarily on the second day I was using it.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phx. AZ - USA
    I agree with a hardware firewall owning a software firewall. A 40 dollar router is a much better deal anyway over a 40 piece of software.

    Don't feel bad over the post.

    Everyone in here posts some weird stuff from time to time.
    RIP 1700+ JIUHB DLT3C@2.4GHZ-MSI Delta-L-1gb Muskin 3200 running Dual Channel-MSI 6600 128 MB-2x80gb Western Digital - R.I.P.
    AMD 64 3500+ - ECS KV2LITE - 2GB DDR - SAPPHIRE X800GTO 256MB VIDEO RUNNING ON TWIN 15" LCDs - RIP
    On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate reaches zero.

  11. #11
    Disabled Beast Of Blight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Orange County
    Only the truely 1337, like me, run both a hardware & a software firewall.


    Oh yeah, baby. Bask in my awesome ub3rn355

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phx. AZ - USA
    Originally posted by Beast Of Blight
    Only the truely 1337, like me, run both a hardware & a software firewall.


    Oh yeah, baby. Bask in my awesome ub3rn355
    Even your avatar is looks paranoid! lol

    a quote from a girl I used to work with.
    a night I turn off my computer and unplug the modem because I heard new viruses can turn on your computer
    lol. Just teasing you, it always good to be carefull
    RIP 1700+ JIUHB DLT3C@2.4GHZ-MSI Delta-L-1gb Muskin 3200 running Dual Channel-MSI 6600 128 MB-2x80gb Western Digital - R.I.P.
    AMD 64 3500+ - ECS KV2LITE - 2GB DDR - SAPPHIRE X800GTO 256MB VIDEO RUNNING ON TWIN 15" LCDs - RIP
    On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate reaches zero.

  13. #13
    Only the truely 1337, like me, run both a hardware & a software firewall.
    Technically they're all software firewalls, just the appliances are embedded machines. Some of them even run Linux.

  14. #14
    Mr.Guvernment's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes
    Folding Profile
    ^^^^

    uh-hu

    Zoneralarm also likes to crash windows alot, or did - i will NEVER use a "free" firewall

    u get what you pay for. and my network or computer is worth more then what a Free firewall can offer for protection.

    ,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
    ,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
    ,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,



  15. #15
    Member dalilman52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Houston
    i have the linksys 4-port router - link http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...cid=29&prid=20 and i was wondering if it had any good protection from viruses and stuff...or hackers help me out!!
    ________
    Hispanic / Latino Recipes
    Last edited by dalilman52; 04-13-11 at 08:37 AM.

  16. #16
    Member Wedge1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Waco / Coppell, Texas
    just disable Upnp if it supports it and you should be resonably safe from hackers (dont forget to change the default password) God knows how many people out there dont change it. My linksys kept my home network safe from MSBlaster

  17. #17
    Member ColdMiser's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Georgia
    Originally posted by Daemonfly
    Yeah, get a better solution, like low end PC (usually free) and pop Smoothwall on it.
    Heck yeah. Compared to a Sonicwall, the only really useful thing missing from the free version is a content filter, but folks here wouldn't care about that. It is an excellent firewall with great VPN capabilities, and it will nearly run on a TI-82 calculator.

  18. #18
    Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me... rogerdugans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Corner of No and Where
    Personally, I have posted some silly stuff- and some stuff that
    was just plain wrong
    So don't feel bad!

    But it is a pretty timely topic: routers and firewalls.

    I use a linksys gateway router which provides some basic protection with NAT.
    I also use ZA (free edition) on each windows pc and the linux rigs have stuff going too (which I need to learn more about ).

    Neither are perfect.
    Neither will keep a determined cracker out of any of my machines.

    But blaster didn't get me.
    Neither did Code Red- and I was running an IIS webserver on one of my rigs when that was going around.

    Security: it's not just for Enterprise IT/IS departments anymore.
    Still overclocked and running linux on watercooled computers after all these years.

  19. #19
    and the linux rigs have stuff going too (which I need to learn more about ).
    Neither will keep a determined cracker out of any of my machines.
    The Linux one can be configured to, unless you are running vulnerable services (read: unpatched) or there is a Linux remote exploit you haven't patched.

  20. #20
    Member DarkNight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    I will usualy install the free ZA, I just don't leave it running all the time. It's good to have on when installing downloaded software or other "free" stuff (p2p). It's nice to check for out going as well as incomming traffic. It is kind of a resourse hog though. I am personaly behind a router with nat and spi.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •