Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Member Wiseass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    422

    What program are people using to "render"

    Just what hte title says. I see alot of "renderings" of projects that people are doing for layout, etc. What programs are they using for this? There was one I linked to in the ammo-box mod that he actually printed out templates for layout and everything.

  2. #2
    Member vonkaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Flower Mound, TX
    Posts
    2,071
    Autocad probably, although I use Visio or Lincoln Logs to make mine.
    -->>Ranked #1 of all folders in the world!!<<-- named Vonkaar...
    I7 920 D0 @ 4.2Ghz // MSI X58 Pro-E // Sapphire 5870 // 6x Seagates in RAID0 // Microsoft Keyboard Overclocked to 18 WPM (STOCK COOLING!)

    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittamj

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phx. AZ - USA
    Posts
    1,317
    Like he said, I have also seen pics mad in 3d studio max for projects but AutoCAD is the premier software for schematic layouts
    RIP 1700+ JIUHB DLT3C@2.4GHZ-MSI Delta-L-1gb Muskin 3200 running Dual Channel-MSI 6600 128 MB-2x80gb Western Digital - R.I.P.
    AMD 64 3500+ - ECS KV2LITE - 2GB DDR - SAPPHIRE X800GTO 256MB VIDEO RUNNING ON TWIN 15" LCDs - RIP
    On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate reaches zero.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    279
    I use a program called Autodesk Inventor. It is made by the same company that makes 3ds Max. Much like AutoCAD, but much more focused on Solid Modeling.

    Scott

  5. #5
    Member thorilan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Japan/Daytona Beach
    Posts
    3,819
    hehe i do it all in my head including memorizing the number of centimeters distance from 1 angle to another =)

    thats partialy why i have nothing to show on my beast project , because i cant just explain the stuff. that and i have some super top secret stuff i dont want copied till after i have published mine.

    there is another 3d software but i cant seem to remember the name of it.
    dont have all the functions of autocad but it was made for designing houses and has everything needed for computer modeling with a lot of predefined shapes that are usefull in a water cooling design system
    697+ water coolled systems built , 0 leaks

  6. #6
    Member vonkaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Flower Mound, TX
    Posts
    2,071
    I'm telling you... nothing beats Lincoln Logs, Lego's or Erector Sets for building your PC models. You can change it as you please, and if you are like me, you get to giggle each time you say "Erector Set." Bonus!
    -->>Ranked #1 of all folders in the world!!<<-- named Vonkaar...
    I7 920 D0 @ 4.2Ghz // MSI X58 Pro-E // Sapphire 5870 // 6x Seagates in RAID0 // Microsoft Keyboard Overclocked to 18 WPM (STOCK COOLING!)

    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittamj

  7. #7
    Member Fushyuguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    WPAFB, OH
    Posts
    1,349
    I use Solidworks 2k3 for mechanical workings and or Pro E for most layouts and drawings.

    Plus for being a student. I get software.

  8. #8
    Macaddict macky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    316
    Here at work the drafters/designers use AutCAD and MicroStation, depending on their preference. I'm very partial to AutoCAD, but I'm also not a drafter/designer.





    hehehe Erector Set hehehe

  9. #9
    Member DaveSauce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan Technological University, Houghton, MI
    Posts
    1,621
    Hey, I have an erector set! I played with it all the time when I was a kid...what's so fun--

    ooooohhhh.....

    lol, anyway, be advised that AutoCAD and other similar programs cost money. MONEY, not just money....lol. If you want a 3D rendering program, you have a few options.

    You can get a program called MilkShape3D, which has a short trial and is like $50 to purchase, OR you can get the Maya Personal Learning Edition. It's a 150MB or so download, and it puts a watermark on everything you draw. It has most of the features of the regular version. For just doing mock-ups, that should be just fine.

    But if you're looking for a program where you can write in dimensions and such, then neither of those programs will work for you. You can make a nice looking design, but you can't print out a blueprint or something.

  10. #10
    Member Fushyuguru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    WPAFB, OH
    Posts
    1,349
    Originally posted by DaveSauce
    Hey, I have an erector set! I played with it all the time when I was a kid...what's so fun--

    ooooohhhh.....

    lol, anyway, be advised that AutoCAD and other similar programs cost money. MONEY, not just money....lol. If you want a 3D rendering program, you have a few options.

    You can get a program called MilkShape3D, which has a short trial and is like $50 to purchase, OR you can get the Maya Personal Learning Edition. It's a 150MB or so download, and it puts a watermark on everything you draw. It has most of the features of the regular version. For just doing mock-ups, that should be just fine.

    But if you're looking for a program where you can write in dimensions and such, then neither of those programs will work for you. You can make a nice looking design, but you can't print out a blueprint or something.
    Very true. Our liscence for Auto CAD Inventors series here at work was $7300 for a single computer. At school we get student licesnces of Solidworks and Pro E. Though for a full version of pro E its over $10,000, Solidworks is much more user friendly and less costly -- <$2000. These are for single liscences.

    Your best bet is to see if you can get trial versions of software, or see if there is a free linux GNU software out there.

  11. #11
    SpyderMatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    1,093
    i just use photoshop for my stuff it works just as well


    <-----------New Avatar for OC
    F@H2 Team
    Member of the 3d Mark 2001 team

    My Heatware

  12. #12
    Are you my Daddy?
    ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪ Senior Member ♫ ♪ ♫ ♪
    Penguin4x4's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Sector 7G
    Posts
    5,933
    Milkshape 3D, AutoCAD, or, my personal favorite, SketchUp 3D are the best 3D renderers I have seen,
    ~Yasashiku Onegaishimasu~

    OCForums Metal Club member #39


    Need To Contact Me? Use E-Mail or Instant Messenger

  13. #13
    Helpful Senior Member Captain Slug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Asteroid B-612
    Posts
    6,380
    I use milkshape because it's fast, simple, and only $20.
    ||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||

  14. #14
    Member 340Duster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    S. Carolina
    Posts
    492
    I use Autodesk Inventor 6, because I learned that as well as regular AutoCAD at school and I can put them on my computer for free. I don't have the 6 grand the school pays for the education version I have. And Psst AutoCAD's 3D modeling is slow and combersome.
    AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Callisto 3.2GHz (3 cores running)
    ASUS M4A87TD EVO
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6850 1GB
    Zalman Reserator V2
    G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB
    WD 320GB SATA 3.0GB/s
    Custom Flamed Case
    Logitech Z-5500 --Liteon 20x DVDR

    If builders built buildings the way programers wrote programs, then the first woodpecker to come along would destory civilization.

  15. #15
    Member notasparagus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Puget Sound, WA, USA
    Posts
    229
    Sketchup is really nice. At first it is really hard to understand, but once you watch the Tutorials on there website it is much clearer. Only real downside of it is it is reallly hard to do curves, but straight lines are very easy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •