Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member bigemike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    cincinnati, ohio

    pvr with direct tv

    I was wondering how to use a pvr, or a tuner card to get my direct tv on the pc. I went to a computer store and a guy had an ati all in wonder hooked up to cable and it was really cool. he told me that it would work with direct tv, but I don't see how. the sat needs the direct tv card to produce signal, and if I hook my sat box upto my computer, how could it ever change channels???. I know this has to be able to be done, I just want to do it right the first time.
    pc#1 amd3000 socket 939 dfi sli nforce 4, 2 gigs pc3200, 6800 , dvd-r enermax 550w supply, z-680's
    pc#2 amd 3200 210x10.5 giel pc3200 2x 512, 6800 52xburner, dvd
    pc#3 dell 9400 dual core laptop 2gig, 7900 gs dvdrw 17" tru life
    pc#4 Compaq 900 mhz duron laptop with ubuntu

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    MA
    i don't think it'll work if you hook up the satalite directly to the computer.... and the only other way i can think is the video in on the card and changing the channels on the satalite box
    Core i7 920 C0 @ 3.8ghz
    P6T Deluxe
    6gb 1600mhz DDR3
    Geforce GTX260 Core216

  3. #3
    Disabled Beast Of Blight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Orange County
    Take the coaxial that comes from the back of your satalites reciever box and run that to the video card.

    You'll probably have to change channels with the reciever

    Its just like with digital cable, You need the cable box to get the channels because they don't put descramblers on the cards because thats illegal.



    EDIT

    THe reason you get antenna TV and basic cable without problem is because those, unlike Sattalite and Digital cable, are not scrambled and there for viewable by anything that accepts the video in signal.

  4. #4
    Member bigemike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    cincinnati, ohio
    ok, well the ati card I saw had a chanel guide and search features, if I couldn't use those through my pvr on the pc it makes it kinda useless.
    pc#1 amd3000 socket 939 dfi sli nforce 4, 2 gigs pc3200, 6800 , dvd-r enermax 550w supply, z-680's
    pc#2 amd 3200 210x10.5 giel pc3200 2x 512, 6800 52xburner, dvd
    pc#3 dell 9400 dual core laptop 2gig, 7900 gs dvdrw 17" tru life
    pc#4 Compaq 900 mhz duron laptop with ubuntu

  5. #5
    Member Deathknight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    You can buy an ir blaster which you can use to change channels on your receiver. Basically it acts as a remote control. Alot of tivo users need to change channels on their cable boxes the exact same way. The nice thing about the tivo for directv is that the tivo and the receiver are all 1 unit
    Asus Commando
    Intel QX6700
    G.Skill F2-6400PHU2 1GBx4
    EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
    PCP&C 750 Quad Silencer
    150gb WD Raptor x 3 RAID 0 | Areca 1220 RAID controller

    U2-UFO
    Swiftech Storm
    EK-FC8800 GTX GPU Block
    Swiftech MCP655
    ThermoChill HE 120.3


    Folding for Team 32

  6. #6
    Member D $hady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    /home/USA/NH
    Originally posted by bigemike
    ok, well the ati card I saw had a chanel guide and search features, if I couldn't use those through my pvr on the pc it makes it kinda useless.
    You're out of luck trying to get the ATI card to tune in DirectTV channels without a DirectTV box decoding the signal (not to mention it would probably be illegal). ATI's channel guide won't work for DirectTV (or digital cable for that matter). It can only manage an analog cable signal.

    One way to do it is figure out some kind of IR blaster control to change the channels on a DirectTV box from your computer, which may be more work than it's worth. Either that or change channels manually, but that's a bit of a pain.

    Sorry, no good news Deathknight's suggestion may be your best bet.

    -- Dave

  7. #7
    Member bigemike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    cincinnati, ohio
    do they make an all in one unti that will do everything, I hate when I have to get two or three things to make one thing happen. I haven't had good luck with that in past projects. they end up being to time consuming and get left behind. I already have a ultimate tv reciever (another tivo like pvr) but I want to get it onto my computer. and it would be nice to have a unit that I could do that with. what is the best way to capture this stuff onto dvd, I could play it off of my ultimate tv reciever no prob, but I want clean quality reproduction onto dvd from my pc
    pc#1 amd3000 socket 939 dfi sli nforce 4, 2 gigs pc3200, 6800 , dvd-r enermax 550w supply, z-680's
    pc#2 amd 3200 210x10.5 giel pc3200 2x 512, 6800 52xburner, dvd
    pc#3 dell 9400 dual core laptop 2gig, 7900 gs dvdrw 17" tru life
    pc#4 Compaq 900 mhz duron laptop with ubuntu

  8. #8
    Member bigemike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    cincinnati, ohio
    also do I want to use the combination of svideo(for video) and optical (for audio), or do i want to use single coax??? I just want some that is quick and easy and stable.
    pc#1 amd3000 socket 939 dfi sli nforce 4, 2 gigs pc3200, 6800 , dvd-r enermax 550w supply, z-680's
    pc#2 amd 3200 210x10.5 giel pc3200 2x 512, 6800 52xburner, dvd
    pc#3 dell 9400 dual core laptop 2gig, 7900 gs dvdrw 17" tru life
    pc#4 Compaq 900 mhz duron laptop with ubuntu

  9. #9
    Member Deathknight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Well I know I have seen some kits that include an ir blaster and a video capture card and all that stuff. If you piece it together to choose your exact software to use which is also nice. Also if you buy an ATI AIW that comes with software as well.

    Pick your software, make sure the blaster you get is compatable with the software and you should be good to go. I just read a review of Snapstream pvs3(http://www.snapstream.com) in maximum pc and that sounds real nice.
    Asus Commando
    Intel QX6700
    G.Skill F2-6400PHU2 1GBx4
    EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
    PCP&C 750 Quad Silencer
    150gb WD Raptor x 3 RAID 0 | Areca 1220 RAID controller

    U2-UFO
    Swiftech Storm
    EK-FC8800 GTX GPU Block
    Swiftech MCP655
    ThermoChill HE 120.3


    Folding for Team 32

  10. #10
    Member bigemike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    cincinnati, ohio
    that software looks cool, but I didn't see the ir interface
    pc#1 amd3000 socket 939 dfi sli nforce 4, 2 gigs pc3200, 6800 , dvd-r enermax 550w supply, z-680's
    pc#2 amd 3200 210x10.5 giel pc3200 2x 512, 6800 52xburner, dvd
    pc#3 dell 9400 dual core laptop 2gig, 7900 gs dvdrw 17" tru life
    pc#4 Compaq 900 mhz duron laptop with ubuntu

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •