Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Member L337 M33P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    TEH INTERNETS
    Posts
    2,822

    Is there any way to disable the hardware change scanning?

    I have XP Home and I am about to install a new motherboard - but the really annoying thing is that when I go into device manager and try to uninstall everything with the word "ViA" in it, 3 minutes later XP goes off and finds all the uninstalled hardware again - when I'm still halfway through removing all the controllers.

    Any ideas? - after I reboot when one device is uninstalled Win XP is ever so nice and installs it again when it gets to the desktop gggrrr.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phx. AZ - USA
    Posts
    1,317
    go to start - run - services.msc - and then disable Plug and Play.

    Disclaimer: I've never disabled plug and play before so after this you are on your own
    RIP 1700+ JIUHB DLT3C@2.4GHZ-MSI Delta-L-1gb Muskin 3200 running Dual Channel-MSI 6600 128 MB-2x80gb Western Digital - R.I.P.
    AMD 64 3500+ - ECS KV2LITE - 2GB DDR - SAPPHIRE X800GTO 256MB VIDEO RUNNING ON TWIN 15" LCDs - RIP
    On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate reaches zero.

  3. #3
    Member L337 M33P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    TEH INTERNETS
    Posts
    2,822
    OK - here goes nothing...

    thx for the info


    EDIT
    Ok I'd better not -
    Enables a computer to recognize and adapt to hardware changes with little or no user input. Stopping or disabling this service will result in system instability.

  4. #4
    Member o770's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    3,000
    Just remove the drivers from Add/Remove Programs in the Control Panel then turn your system off and change the mainboards. Boot your system off the windows CD and choose to repair the installation.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    601

    Re: Is there any way to disable the hardware change scanning?

    Originally posted by L337 M33P
    I have XP Home and I am about to install a new motherboard - but the really annoying thing is that when I go into device manager and try to uninstall everything with the word "ViA" in it, 3 minutes later XP goes off and finds all the uninstalled hardware again - when I'm still halfway through removing all the controllers.

    Any ideas? - after I reboot when one device is uninstalled Win XP is ever so nice and installs it again when it gets to the desktop gggrrr.
    if you are going to install a new motherboard, i suggest you go to do al CLEAN and FULL installation.

    trust me, whatever you are doing right now won't save you in the long run. You will have more problems than you ever imagine even though it only saves you time from NOT installing everything over again

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phx. AZ - USA
    Posts
    1,317
    A clean install will always be the best but if you have too much to backup now and you are impatient then run a repair install and this will get you up and running.
    RIP 1700+ JIUHB DLT3C@2.4GHZ-MSI Delta-L-1gb Muskin 3200 running Dual Channel-MSI 6600 128 MB-2x80gb Western Digital - R.I.P.
    AMD 64 3500+ - ECS KV2LITE - 2GB DDR - SAPPHIRE X800GTO 256MB VIDEO RUNNING ON TWIN 15" LCDs - RIP
    On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate reaches zero.

  7. #7
    Member L337 M33P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    TEH INTERNETS
    Posts
    2,822
    Yes I do have way too much stuff to risk installing windows again, but I will burn CDR backups of my most important files anyway

    Turns out that my OEM manufacturer's "recovery CD" is actually a WinXP CD in itself - props to MESH - but is it a bootable CD? one way to find out...

  8. #8
    Member L337 M33P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    TEH INTERNETS
    Posts
    2,822
    Uh oh - I tried booting from CD only but now strange things are happening - it went and booted up in 640x480 and then went through finding all the new hardware, now I get "run DLL as an APP" illegal operation errors when I close dialogue boxes - methinks it's time for reinstall.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phx. AZ - USA
    Posts
    1,317
    I 2nd that
    RIP 1700+ JIUHB DLT3C@2.4GHZ-MSI Delta-L-1gb Muskin 3200 running Dual Channel-MSI 6600 128 MB-2x80gb Western Digital - R.I.P.
    AMD 64 3500+ - ECS KV2LITE - 2GB DDR - SAPPHIRE X800GTO 256MB VIDEO RUNNING ON TWIN 15" LCDs - RIP
    On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate reaches zero.

  10. #10
    Member L337 M33P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    TEH INTERNETS
    Posts
    2,822
    Urg - installin meh new motherboard is going to be a feat of logistics - Will the install of XP work without the nVidia IDE drivers? I assume that the install will use generic drivers and a rather good guide on the [H] recommends doing it during install.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phx. AZ - USA
    Posts
    1,317
    It will install generic drivers and then you can install the N-Force drivers once the install is completed. - worked for me
    RIP 1700+ JIUHB DLT3C@2.4GHZ-MSI Delta-L-1gb Muskin 3200 running Dual Channel-MSI 6600 128 MB-2x80gb Western Digital - R.I.P.
    AMD 64 3500+ - ECS KV2LITE - 2GB DDR - SAPPHIRE X800GTO 256MB VIDEO RUNNING ON TWIN 15" LCDs - RIP
    On a long enough time line, everyone's survival rate reaches zero.

  12. #12
    Member fiji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    berlin
    Posts
    2,174

    Re: Is there any way to disable the hardware change scanning?

    Originally posted by L337 M33P
    I have XP Home and I am about to install a new motherboard - but the really annoying thing is that when I go into device manager and try to uninstall everything with the word "ViA" in it, 3 minutes later XP goes off and finds all the uninstalled hardware again - when I'm still halfway through removing all the controllers.

    Any ideas? - after I reboot when one device is uninstalled Win XP is ever so nice and installs it again when it gets to the desktop gggrrr.
    "unplug and pray" lol


    yeah it shouldnt be too much of a problem


    but i would to a fresh install
    ---AthlonIIx4 4GBDDR3 NV9800GT---

    running Win7x64

  13. #13
    Member L337 M33P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    TEH INTERNETS
    Posts
    2,822
    So, do I reformat my C: partition with NTFS? Does the windows setup CD read NTFS drives?

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    601
    finally, you choose to re-install everything. Good for you

    format c with NTFS

  15. #15
    Member L337 M33P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    TEH INTERNETS
    Posts
    2,822
    Here goes nothing - uninstalled most of the apps on my PC, and have taken it all out. Put new motherboard in and now it's time for poweron...

  16. #16
    Senior Yellow Forum Rat
    pik4chu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, Colorado
    Posts
    4,587
    there's a reg hack for the mobo bind for XP, will try to get it from my bud. its so that windows XP thinks the bord is something else for copy purposes, but otherwise it works fine (full support and drivers, etc)
    DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
    Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

    Folding User Stats
    Team 32 Countdown heatware

  17. #17
    Member L337 M33P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    TEH INTERNETS
    Posts
    2,822
    Cheers, but I have it humming away flawlessly now

    Except for no readily apparent reason on bootup the POST reporter says "system failed Memory Test" but then says "blabla POST complete boot to OS blabla" and works fine lol.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •