• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New CPU?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

hardcharger

I am looking to upgrade to an overclock friendly(cost effective) chip and board. I was lloking at T-Bird 1Ghz, is this a good choice? What speeds can i expect to acheive? I'm a newbie, and I don't want to make the wrong choice.

That is an excellent choice. I got the 1.0G/266 AXIA Tbird and it easily overclocks to 1450 Mhz (10x145) @ 1.85V. That';s 84W of heat to get rid of, so don't skimp on the cooling. A good CPU is only half the solution. You need a good motherboard also, not to mention good ram. Try as I may, I can not get 10x150 @ 1.90V stable without extreme cooling (water+pelt).
Not that is matters, since the difference between 1450 and 1500 Mhz can not be observed, except running benchmarks.

Hoot

Thanks Hoot, those were my next questions. I posted a question about motherboards, in the motherboard section. I was considering an IWILL KK266 VIA Apollo KT133A Chipset, 266MHz Bus, although I'm not sure on whether or not to go with PC133 or DDR Ram. Any insite?

Lately, i have heard less discouraging words about Iwill than Abit and the Iwill seems to support higher FSB speeds. I'd say go for it. Get a 256M stick of quality PC133CL2 ram, or PC150CL2 ram. I, personally, can not comment from experience about DDR ram. That technology is slowly stabilizing, but I'd wait on it a while longer if I was going to buy. I paid something like $99.00 for a 256M stick of PC150CL2.

Hoot

Beautiful. I'm going to go for it. I'm going to wait until the 30th to see if AMD's prices drop, even if just a little. Then I'm going to pick up the 1Ghz, and the IWILL, I was looking into a 256mb stick from crucial. What do you reccomend for cooling? I'd like to hit at least 1.4Ghz.