Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Member El-Scotto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,869

    is this ram good for me?

    Kingston PC3200 400MHZ DDR 512MB(KVR400X64C25/512)

    im using a amd 2100+ on a nf7-s rev 2

    thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Member SnComet2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    301
    Go for kingston hyperx 3200-3500 or corsair xms 3200-3500 instead. Unless you are running stock. If ur running stock then get some cheap 2700 and you can clock it aggresively at 2100.

  3. #3
    Member El-Scotto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,869
    i dont know much about ram, also do i want oem versions?

  4. #4
    Member El-Scotto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,869
    CORSAIR MEMORY XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series 512MB 2 x 32M x 64 PC-3200C2 With Heat Spreader

    this good?

  5. #5
    Member USAPGAPRO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Shreveport, La
    Posts
    633
    Yes get the XMS 3500 thats what I have and its awesome. I can get 223mhz at the tightest settings. This ram is incredible.
    Abit NF7-S rev. 2.0
    ( AMD XP 1700+ DLT3C 0310 "X" @ 10.5 x 223 = 2341.5mhz
    Corsair XMS3500 Platinum 433mhz
    Cheiftec Server case w/ window Mod & Foxconn 450w PS
    IBM Deskstar 120GXP
    ATI Radeon 9500 Pro Samsung SyncMaster 152T LCD 15"
    Lite On 16X DVD Thermaltake SLK-800 4-80mm 40.1CFM case fans
    Copper Round Cables
    Microsoft Wireless Optical Blue Mouse
    D-Link DI-614+ wireless Cable Router
    Green Cold Cathodes

  6. #6
    Member El-Scotto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,869
    heh ok just out of curiosity what does the
    2 x 32M x 64 PC-3200C2 mean? i know what the 3200 is is the c2 another version of the 3200?

  7. #7
    Member gingo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,324
    CAS 2?

  8. #8
    Member El-Scotto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,869
    ? :\

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    343
    Originally posted by El-Scotto
    heh ok just out of curiosity what does the
    2 x 32M x 64 PC-3200C2 mean? i know what the 3200 is is the c2 another version of the 3200?

    the 2 x 32M x 64 is the way data is arranged on the modules. I believe the 64 means that data comes off the module at 64bits (8 bytes) wide and the 32M stands for the capicity of each memory bank, and they 2 stands for double sided methinks

    the C2 is just part of the model number, its basically the way to identify the latency,

    CMX512-3200C2 normal XMS latency
    CMX512-3200LL is low latency XMS (thats what the LL stands for)

    btw heres a very informative video on memory: http://www.corsairmemory.com/memory_...707/index.html

  10. #10
    Member gouda96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I don't know why, but...Deleware
    Posts
    1,252

    ...

    the best deal on memory out there is either khx 3200 2-2-2-6 which has bh-5 chips, or buffalo 3700 wich also has bh-5 chips. These are the same chips in xms 3500, some khx3000, and old buffalo3200, and mushkin lvl2's(not sure which ones...3500 for sure). bh-5 are the best chips out...any of these will be good. I would go with khx 3200 2-2-2-6 2x256 kit if you want 512mb because they will be bh-5 and are at a great price...if you want 1gb then go for 2x512mb of buffalo 3700. For only $200 i think i am gonna pick up 2x512mb of buffalo myself for my new intel setup which will be running at 300+fsb with 5:4 divider.
    If ignorance is bliss, why aren't more people happy?


  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Shallotte, NC
    Posts
    1,037
    But doesn't Buffalo have crapy PCB boards??? I remember reading that somewhere on here...not sure what it means...lol. I am trying to figure out what memory to buy for my system too. I want a 1gb but there is so many kinds and they all vary so much in price. I have heard that Corsair is the best....but i don't want to pay for that.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Shallotte, NC
    Posts
    1,037
    nice video too onx. Thanks...very informative.

  13. #13
    Member gouda96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I don't know why, but...Deleware
    Posts
    1,252

    ...

    buffalo is supposedly on somewhat worse pcb then khx and mushkin and corsaie, but I have see buffalo clock just as high with just as tight timings. They are supposedly less consistent, but they seem to be realy good for the money...about $60 less thany any other bh-5 when you buy 2x512mb.
    If ignorance is bliss, why aren't more people happy?


  14. #14
    Member tyson-chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    folding@home in san francisco
    Posts
    228
    also, afaik, the hyper x stuff no longer uses bh-5's. i'm pretty sure they're all ch-5 now. i believe the only chips that still use bh-5's are the mushkin black 3200/3500 level2's and some buffalo 3700.

    corsair's xms3200LL & 3500C2 moved to ch-5 a few months ago too....

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Ft. Hood, TX
    Posts
    1,725
    It is believed (not promised) that stocks of BH-5 HyperX still exist, although production ceased back in June/July. These stocks are said to advertise timings of 2-2-2 while CH-5 HyperX uses the current 2-3-2 timing advertising. Most of the big online resellers (ZZF and NewEgg) still have some stocks of 2-2-2 advertised PC3200 selling for slightly higher prices then 2-3-2 HyperX.

    Also Buffalo PC3700 is really believed to carry only WinBond BH-5 chips, and nothing else. But it's not promised.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    343
    does it matter if you get the CH-5? so what if its got worse timings! thats where overclocking comes in! w00t

    :P

    btw those new corsair pro look sweet (CMX512-4000PRO 500 MHz 512 MB 3-4-4-8)

    and who cares if the timings are 3-4-4-8 they run at 500 mhz and they have

    /me is drawn in by the LEDs on the modules

    "Oooo look at the pretty lights!"

    :P

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Ft. Hood, TX
    Posts
    1,725
    They underperform compared to OCZ Gold PC4000.

    Corsair 4000 Pro is better then their old PC4000, but isn't even the 2nd best out there.

  18. #18
    Member gouda96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    I don't know why, but...Deleware
    Posts
    1,252

    ...

    jesus...every single thread has the same stupid stuff in it...

    just push pc4x00 out of your minds...it is crap!

    Some khx 3000 2-2-2-6 has bh-5...3/3 people who i know that ordered it in the last 2 weeks got bh-5 from newegg.

    khx 3200 2-2-2-6 is bh-5 and I am buying a 2x256mb kit

    corsair xms3500c2 rev1.1 is bh-5, and there are some question as to wether or not there are any other revisions out there...a corsair rep said that only rev1.1 exists, therefore all xms3500c2 is bh-5, but I don't think that was correct. Every set of it that I have seen has been bh-5.

    Mushkin 3500 lvl2 is bh-5, not sure about 3200...but i am pretty sure it is

    buffalo 3700 is bh-5



    If you end up getting ch-5 you will probably still beat your pc4x00 because the extra bandwith is almost completely worthless, and with some high volts I have seen ch-5 pull of 2-3-2-x more than not. If you stick to the ram I have listed up there you will have a 90% chance of getting bh-5, and it is by far and away the best mem out there.
    If ignorance is bliss, why aren't more people happy?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •