Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 35
  1. #1
    Member Hedgehogforprez's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    218

    Since when did intel put a 3.8 out?

    Much less a 3.8EE ????

    http://www.go-l.com/desktops/machl38/features/index.htm

    If you look at that link you will see that it says it comes with a 3.8 EE, strange I thought only 3.2 was coming into play??

  2. #2
    Member Deathknight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    3,652
    Its overclocked is all. I would think it is also vaporware as well. I didn't know that these chips were already being sold?
    Asus Commando
    Intel QX6700
    G.Skill F2-6400PHU2 1GBx4
    EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
    PCP&C 750 Quad Silencer
    150gb WD Raptor x 3 RAID 0 | Areca 1220 RAID controller

    U2-UFO
    Swiftech Storm
    EK-FC8800 GTX GPU Block
    Swiftech MCP655
    ThermoChill HE 120.3


    Folding for Team 32

  3. #3
    Member mrgreenjeans's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, GA
    Posts
    1,693
    That's what it says, and with a 950Mhz FSB. I'm wondering if they've got a 3.2 overclocked? A little pricey, but a nice looking config, but i'd rather build it myself!
    "A little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing."
    ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe bios 1009 w/FX-60 on a Zalman Resterator
    Corsair 2048 TwinX3500LL matched dual channel 1:1 @ 2-3-3-6
    BFG8800GTXwc768 DVI~Sharp Aquos LC-46D92U
    BFG Ageia PhysX card
    36g Raptor boot, 150g Velociraptor game drive, and 320g storage drive
    LG GGC-H20L BR & HD
    Auzentech xPlosion 5.1 ~ Sony DA3ES Receiver~ Infinity's
    Silverstone LC-10m w/Silverstone Strider ST60 PSU
    Win XP pro

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    289
    * 3.8GHz Accelerated Intel Pentium 4 Hyper-Threading CPU (3.20GHz base clock speed).
    ** 950MHz Accelerated System Bus from 800MHz base clock speed.

    Ehm...

  5. #5
    Member Mr. $T$'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    2,603
    it that legal? to sell an overclocked processor?

  6. #6
    Member shiyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    behind the wheel
    Posts
    2,863
    I think it's been done before.

    I remember the first 1Ghz machine was a Thunderbird overclocked to 1Ghz in a fridge. (forgot name, not Vapochill or Prometeia though. The other really expensive one)

    It's not illegal. Intel will probably not provide any support though.

  7. #7
    Normal Member Foxie3a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,028
    what are they talking about when they say
    " PuRamô No System Hard Drive Configurable
    Up to 1.000 faster than ATA/SCSI/FC HD based
    designs with Data Burst Speeds up to 8GB/s"


    and that is upto 1 times faster if it bursts...hmm..unless if that is a comma..otherwise this is ALL marketing..and the whole thing sucks beyond reason...
    Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
    Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
    Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
    Triple 24" LCDs
    Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
    Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
    Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
    Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers

  8. #8
    Member shiyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    behind the wheel
    Posts
    2,863
    Originally posted by Foxie3a
    what are they talking about when they say
    " PuRamô No System Hard Drive Configurable
    Up to 1.000 faster than ATA/SCSI/FC HD based
    designs with Data Burst Speeds up to 8GB/s"


    and that is upto 1 times faster if it bursts...hmm..unless if that is a comma..otherwise this is ALL marketing..and the whole thing sucks beyond reason...
    I think it is a solid state hard drive with no moving platers or heads.

    I don't quite see how it sucks beyond reason... It should be quite a fast computer, seeing how it uses pretty much all the best components (okay, nearly all the best components, as I don't want to start arguing about P4EE vs FX or ATI vs Nvidia). Although I must admit it does cost a lot.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Vineland, NJ
    Posts
    111
    3200Mhz/200FSB=16xMultiplier
    16xMultiplier*(950FSB/4)=3800Ghz

    Yep it's a 3.2 overclocked. Not the first time its been done, as I've seen some 3200+ pushed to 3800+ before and sold in systems with a Vapochill.

  10. #10
    Member Aslan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    North Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    1,870
    I have to admit that it is quite interesting, especially with the PCI slot expandability (although I doubt I would actually ever need that many slots, i'm only using one right now). It is quite different than other pre-built computers, but I still would rather build my own.
    RIP Tanya 1986-2008

    . . . . . . .. . . ... . .

  11. #11
    Normal Member Foxie3a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,028
    Building your own is the only way to go, unless if you don't have the time or need..
    Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
    Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
    Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
    Triple 24" LCDs
    Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
    Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
    Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
    Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    33
    Originally posted by shiyan
    [B]

    I think it is a solid state hard drive with no moving platers or heads.
    B]

    Would motherboards today even be able to take advantage of a solid state hard drive? How would you get the data to the processor? PATA and SATA would restrict the dataflow just like USB/Firewire does with external solid state drives (jump drives etc). Still it would be nice to have an OS install on such a drive.

  13. #13
    Senior Member dustybyrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    2,700
    holy cow these are the fastest desktop computers and servers available...

    http://www.go-l.com/store/index.htm

    read all the stuff and you'll see...

    that they spared no expense at using the highest quality, most expensive components in these systems...

    those hard drives that the operating systems are stored on are, i think, like RAM drives...instant booting

    all i have to say is: wow
    • e6600 L631B047 2.4ghz @ 3.6 Ghz 24/7 (9x400 @ 1.38v, w/ 9700 Zalman, 64C TAT max) on Asus P5W-DH,
      2x 1gb OCZ Platinum Rev 2 @ 800mhz w/ 4,4,4,12,4 timings w/ 2.35v, 2x 74gb Raptors, 3x 320gb WD3200KS, 2x NEC 3500A DVDRW, Floppy, Zip
      2x GECUBE x1600pros , WinFast2000XP PVR, WinTV PVR150, Soundblaster Audigy SE, 2x Dell 1905fp, BenQ FP202W, S-Video TV
      2x Scythe SFF21F 120mm, Sunon 120mm PMB1212PLB2-A Blower on Sunbeam Rheostat, powered by Fortron FX700-GLN in Lian Li v2100b plus
      [for video encoding, ~= to 6.6ghz P-D and 5.3ghz dual core Opteron ]

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Vineland, NJ
    Posts
    111
    8GB per second of read speed is uber!!!!!!!!! I need to get me one of those!

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    291
    Originally posted by shiyan
    I think it's been done before.

    I remember the first 1Ghz machine was a Thunderbird overclocked to 1Ghz in a fridge. (forgot name, not Vapochill or Prometeia though. The other really expensive one)

    It's not illegal. Intel will probably not provide any support though.
    Yes, you're thinking of Kryotech. I don't think it would matter if Intel provides support, I'm assuming if you're gonna cough up $10,000 for a system advertised at 3.8 GHz, the company itself would provide excellent support.

    I want to know about the 20.1" LCD they have with 14 ms Tf+Tr response time!!! Look at the response time specs for the middle column!!!
    n/a

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    52
    Originally posted by shiyan


    I think it is a solid state hard drive with no moving platers or heads.

    I don't quite see how it sucks beyond reason... It should be quite a fast computer, seeing how it uses pretty much all the best components (okay, nearly all the best components, as I don't want to start arguing about P4EE vs FX or ATI vs Nvidia). Although I must admit it does cost a lot.

    Don't think it's a HD. It's probably stacks of ram sticks configure to run like a HD. That's the only way it can get up to 8 GB/s bandwidth.

  17. #17
    Disabled Namagomi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas and Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Posts
    964

    Re: Since when did intel put a 3.8 out?

    Originally posted by Hedgehogforprez
    Much less a 3.8EE ????

    http://www.go-l.com/desktops/machl38/features/index.htm

    If you look at that link you will see that it says it comes with a 3.8 EE, strange I thought only 3.2 was coming into play??
    That entire website is a hoax, or vaporware

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    52

    Re: Re: Since when did intel put a 3.8 out?

    Originally posted by Namagomi


    That entire website is a hoax, or vaporware

    "It is also the first commercially available Personal SuperComputer with an Accelerated Front Side Bus speed of 950Mhz taking Intel's Pentium 4 CPU to speeds 3.8GHz* and ready to support next generation Pentium 5 Prescott CPU."




    => It's an o/c 3.2@3.8 on 237.5 FSB probably using vaporchill. Thus, it's possible.

  19. #19
    Disabled Namagomi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas and Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Posts
    964

    Re: Re: Re: Since when did intel put a 3.8 out?

    Originally posted by myzhi



    "It is also the first commercially available Personal SuperComputer with an Accelerated Front Side Bus speed of 950Mhz taking Intel's Pentium 4 CPU to speeds 3.8GHz* and ready to support next generation Pentium 5 Prescott CPU."




    => It's an o/c 3.2@3.8 on 237.5 FSB probably using vaporchill. Thus, it's possible.
    Cute and all, but too bad you can't buy it.

    Like I said, this entire site is a hoax, or vaporware.

  20. #20
    Member alpha_gamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    412
    Is it wrong to want to sleep with one of those rigs in your bed?
    That is quite possibly the coolest thing I have ever seen. 8 gigs a second! You could hit your power button, and by the time you were facing the monitor again the rig would already be booted. Forget a car, university, clothes, and food. I'm saving up for one of those!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •