Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member amok time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wellsville, PA
    Posts
    115

    5.8ghz wireless?

    Whats the best range I can get with current wireless access points? I think it's at 2.4ghz right now, are they going to bring out 5.8ghz?

  2. #2
    Disabled Beast Of Blight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Orange County
    Posts
    1,117
    I believe the 5.8Ghz one of the new 802.11 standards, And if memory serves it will be just the same range, if not a tad shorter than 802.11b.

    The move to higher frequency, i believe, for the most part is just to move into an unused spectrum. Since EVERYTHING and its mother uses 2.4Ghz. Cellphones, cordless phones, microwaves, everything operates at 2.4Ghz which can cause noise and loss of isgnal quality in wireless networks.

  3. #3
    Member stan03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    7,089
    all the 802.11a use 5 ghz frequency
    http://reviews.cnet.com/4502-3243_7-...erby=-7eRating

    EDIT: by the way right now "A" has limited range. "g" type is still the best right now

  4. #4
    Member amok time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wellsville, PA
    Posts
    115
    Thanks for all the info.. The more I read up on wireless the more I dread having to run hard lines. Would love to have a wireless nw so I can use my laptop up by my fire pit. oh well, maybe next year.

  5. #5
    Member amok time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wellsville, PA
    Posts
    115
    ok one more question, what would it take to blanket a 5 mile rat around my house?

  6. #6
    Member fiji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    berlin
    Posts
    2,174
    Originally posted by amok time
    Thanks for all the info.. The more I read up on wireless the more I dread having to run hard lines. Would love to have a wireless nw so I can use my laptop up by my fire pit. oh well, maybe next year.
    after having to deal with wireless stuff for a while--- i find it quite the opposite


    i love having a wired network, the drivers are usually very easy to find/come with the OS~~~ unlike the wireless where some components simply wouldnt work (drivers, or just faulty hardware)


    not to mention all the interference that came with it, with our wireless phones


    and after we got used to it, we hardly even moved the computers anywhere


    and wired networks are faster (lol only important to me for when i go to someone elses LAN and we share files)


    and wired networks are cheaper
    ---AthlonIIx4 4GBDDR3 NV9800GT---

    running Win7x64

  7. #7
    Member USAPGAPRO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Shreveport, La
    Posts
    633
    wow, 5.8ghz wireless. Thats awesome.
    Abit NF7-S rev. 2.0
    ( AMD XP 1700+ DLT3C 0310 "X" @ 10.5 x 223 = 2341.5mhz
    Corsair XMS3500 Platinum 433mhz
    Cheiftec Server case w/ window Mod & Foxconn 450w PS
    IBM Deskstar 120GXP
    ATI Radeon 9500 Pro Samsung SyncMaster 152T LCD 15"
    Lite On 16X DVD Thermaltake SLK-800 4-80mm 40.1CFM case fans
    Copper Round Cables
    Microsoft Wireless Optical Blue Mouse
    D-Link DI-614+ wireless Cable Router
    Green Cold Cathodes

  8. #8
    Member tatanka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bay Area, Ca
    Posts
    197
    Originally posted by amok time
    ok one more question, what would it take to blanket a 5 mile rat around my house?
    I think it would be possible to get that range with an omni-directional antennae and some type of signal booster... but I also think the FCC would start knockin at your door if you were broadcasting a signal that powerfull

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    484
    You can go a greater distance using 5.8ghz (UNII not 802.11a) equipment than you can with 802.11b. I have multiple 5.8ghz Redline links from 20miles to 27miles:



    View in direction of other end of ptp link (5.8ghz 22miles, 36Mb/s)


    Other end of ptp link. (aka The Nasty Tower, for obvious reasons)


  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    484
    Originally posted by tatanka


    I think it would be possible to get that range with an omni-directional antennae and some type of signal booster... but I also think the FCC would start knockin at your door if you were broadcasting a signal that powerfull
    FCC limit is no radio output greater than 1w (30db) and EIRP no greater than 4w (36db). For that distance no amp will be needed if you use a 200mw card (23db) and a 9db omni which results in 32db eirp estimated.. I can cover an area with a radius of 10-12miles with 4w (36db) eirp.

    I just posted on another forum some pics of me setting our new office up connecting to our wireless network at 7.13 miles: here

    In order to blanket an area of say 7miles, you'll need:

    Omni-direction antenna's, Horizontal omni on left Vertical omni on right.


    And a Good AP:
    100mw orinoco's

    or
    200mw PrismII


    Some cable:
    7/8 Heliax

    or
    LMR600


    And about 200-300' of tower..
    Last edited by Ddruid_SMP; 10-02-03 at 10:15 PM.

  11. #11
    Member amok time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wellsville, PA
    Posts
    115
    hmmm, looks like I will be buying amd for a while if I will be able to afford this one. I have 3x 20, Polls w/ power over an area of about 5 miles or so. I live on the side of a mountain, trying to network with the locals to get 3x cable modem (as soon as we get cable that is)

  12. #12
    Member amok time's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wellsville, PA
    Posts
    115
    Ddruid_SMP - I need 1 Vertical omni per house? & 1 Horizontal Omni in the mid? I hate to ask this druid, how much did them antennaes coast?

    To bad you cant use old dss dish's got a ton of them.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    484
    Originally posted by amok time
    Ddruid_SMP - I need 1 Vertical omni per house? & 1 Horizontal Omni in the mid? I hate to ask this druid, how much did them antennaes coast?

    To bad you cant use old dss dish's got a ton of them.
    Your omni will be located on the tower (1 per tower in most cases). You have a choice between a horizontally polorized omni or a vertically polorized omni. Polarization is a rather large topic in itself, but basically it refers to the direction of wave (amplitude) in relation to the earth. In my experience you get greater distance with vertical, but it is more sensitive to trees, I have gotten around trees using a horizonally poloarized equipment. The customer side must match whatever polarization you have at the tower, so if you use a vertical omni then whatever antenna you place at the customer side must be vertical as well (in 99.99% of the cases).

    Vertical omni's run about $50-$70
    Horizontal omnis about $200 - $300
    The first AP pictured runs about $400 without radio's or software.
    Second AP runs $500 without radio (came with software)
    LMR600 $1-$2/ft
    7/8 Heliax $3-$5/ft
    LMR400 $.75-$1.50/ft
    200' Rohn 25 tower Turn key $8-$10k

    On the customer side (have a look here )
    14-24db Antenna's run $30-$80
    Cheap orinoco USB radio $80
    Pigtail $30


    You *MAY* be able to use the satelite dishes, I believe someone has done it before, try looking on the net..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •