Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    384

    My New Athlon 1.53GHz Computer Coming Tomorrow

    I'm getting yet another new computer tomorrow. This time, it's going to be for gaming. The computer is certified and warrentied to be clocked at 1533MHz with defualt voltage. I'm paying $4000 Candian before tax, thats just under $2900 American. Behind my new metal panel will be,

    AMD Athlon 1.40Ghz Processor (266) OCed @ 1.53GHz with Thermalright SK-6 HSF
    Abit KT7A-RAID Mother Board
    Micron 512MB PC133CL2 Ram
    ASUS V8200 Deluxe GeForce3
    Creative Sound Blaster Live! Platinum 5.1
    Duel Maxtor 60GB 7200RPM Hard Drives in RAID = 120GB
    Toshiba 16X/40X DVD-Rom Drive
    Yamaha 20X/10X/40X CDRW-Rom Drive
    Realtek 10/100 (NIC) Ethernet Card
    ViewSonic G90f Flat Screen 19" Monitor (1600x1280 Resolution)
    Microsoft Internet Keyboard and Microsoft Wheel Mouse Optical
    White 17" Tower Case with 430W Enermax Power Supply
    Floppy Drive, Cables, Windows2K

    Please leave your comments and suggestions below. Man, I can't wait for tomorrow.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    443
    Atomic Guy I would like to know where you get all of the money for these systems. I mean this is your third system you have talked about in the last month. I believe you had an Abit KG7 and already had an Abit KT7A as well. Are you rich or are you just full of S**t.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    384
    No, I just sold my 1.67Ghz system but I still got my 1.84GHz Athlon system. I use it for rendering and for my server too. dude, I've been saving cash for almost 2 years now.

  4. #4
    Me
    Guest
    I could buy all the parts you listed for about 1200 bucks

  5. #5
    Member Wahoogie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Marietta, GA, USA
    Posts
    120
    no you couldn't =p

    Flat screen moniters are expensive....a 19" flatscreen would be about 400-600 minimum I think...thats just the moniter

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    384
    Hey Me,

    Do you work for the Mob? Just Wonderin...

  7. #7
    Big Daddy Bear Senior TranceBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,242
    Guys you are just feeding him, let him starve.
    AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
    Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
    Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
    G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
    2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
    Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
    What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
    It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
    My Heatware 100% since 2002

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    172
    if you read some of atomicguy's other posts you'll see he is full of s*** (i find the one about the 1.8whateverghz tbird cooled by a bazillion little fans and a dragon orb hilarious). sure, this system may be real, but all he is doing is bragging about and waving it in people's faces. oh well. and yeah i could get those parts for well under what he 'paid' too.

  9. #9
    el
    Guest
    did you buy the system or build it? It sounds like a sweet computer but lots of cash! 3000bucks but if you got a nice monitor I can see the price being not too bad. comes with os too correct?

  10. #10
    Me
    Guest
    Without the monitor i vould stilll build it for 1200 bucks, i already got a 19"monitor

  11. #11
    Member toomnymods's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Tx
    Posts
    401
    And on another thought why would you wanna pair a 266 fsb processor with a 200fsb motherboard.. I wouldve just bought a 1ghz 200fsb and overclocked the **** outta it.. probably wouldve saved you 150 bucks also

  12. #12
    Registered DoDFAMW4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    49
    why didnt you get DDR ram?

  13. #13
    Member Paul -The Mad Hatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    santacruz county, ca
    Posts
    715
    DoDFAMW4 (Jul 09, 2001 05:07 p.m.):
    why didnt you get DDR ram?
    yeah good question, you went all out on everything else.

    good luck and happy gaming

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    398
    krakerman (Jul 08, 2001 11:44 p.m.):
    if you read some of atomicguy's other posts you'll see he is full of s*** (i find the one about the 1.8whateverghz tbird cooled by a bazillion little fans and a dragon orb hilarious). sure, this system may be real, but all he is doing is bragging about and waving it in people's faces. oh well. and yeah i could get those parts for well under what he 'paid' too.
    this is the work of a young kids mind..... a 17 year old gettting these kind of systems, says in his signature he has 420gigs of hd space... and 2 gig of ddr.. not bad for a lil one..

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    384
    The reason for not going with DDR was that I am an Abit only type person and seeing as such that they dont have the KG7-R into full production in Canada yet, so I will just stick with the KT7A-R and plus I've seen only 10% performance difference. I own both boards and have done many comparisons. What a ripoff eh. All this hype and only 10%. Thank god, I got my other ddr ram for free, wouldnt have been worth a cent to me!
    Me, I'm waiting for DDR PC2700 dimms which will come out in summer next year! And the price will have completly dropped to the same price as SD.
    I mean, AMD is going one step further with a 333MHz BUS and the thoroughbred processor.

  16. #16
    el
    Guest
    you haven't seen Rugby's benches have you? he was getting 3/4 of tthe P4's memory scores at 170fsb adn 1/5 divider on his epox. see teh frontpage for details.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    384
    damn, thats pretty good

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    849
    well all i can say is you are f'in rich but i am saving up for my dual Palamino 1.4 Ghz overclocked to hell and a Geforce 3 or radeon 2

  19. #19
    Me
    Guest
    Maybe atomic guy is a millionare lol. Or is just a spoilied brat lol

  20. #20
    Senior Member Rob Cork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Woodcote, UK
    Posts
    1,002
    toomnymods (Jul 09, 2001 12:41 p.m.):
    And on another thought why would you wanna pair a 266 fsb processor with a 200fsb motherboard.. I wouldve just bought a 1ghz 200fsb and overclocked the **** outta it.. probably wouldve saved you 150 bucks also
    The KT7a-RAID is a 133MHz (266 if you prefer) fsb board - think you're getting confused with the KT7-RAID. AtomicGuy, if it is for real (which I don't doubt), it sounds like one gorgeous system. I know some guys at college with systems like that - they just have more money than sense. Some people do
    Rob
    Avatar by me :D

    Please look at my site... :(

    Tbird 1400@1680, 2.11V KG7-RAID
    Watercooled, cpu temp under load 20C above ambient

    "True wisdom lies in knowing that you know nothing"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •