• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help an ignorant person K6 and matsoni

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

hafaphoto

Hello! Please excuse my stupidity, this is my first attempt at overclocking. I have a AMD K6 300 and a Matsonic MS6380SG motherboard. Can this be overclocked? I have the CPU setting set to user defined, but when I change the settings from 66mgz, It will not boot. I have tried 75mgz and all the other settings, all I get is a blank screen.
Any help would be greatly apreaciated!
E

I don't know nything about your setup, but you can probably find a way to overclock it. Some people will come by and tell you that your system is terrible, and you should just buy a new one instead of "wasting" the time to OC this one. Don't listen to them. There is almost always a way. Were the K6s multi locked? What is the FSB? What type of memory?

I'm not sure about that particular m/b, but it's probably only got the distinct FSB settings like 50, 60, 66, 75MHz. If you won't boot at the 'next' step up, then you're pretty much SOL as far as OC'ing the FSB. That just leaves the multiplier. You could try adjusting the multiplier (is that processor 6 X 50MHz?), but if it's locked then it won't make any difference if you adjust the jumpers to a different multiplier. In that case you will pretty much exhausted your OC'ing options. More current systems tend to offer smaller increments between FSB settings (often 1MHz steps) and voltage controls etc. that give you more options for OC'ing.