Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member mata2974's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    1,243

    Annoying Problem with PSU

    I have a 3 mth old Antec 550W TP which whenever I switch it off at the back switch and switch it on again it sends a spike or "whatever" to the fans and the EPOX code display panel. All the fans will spin for a sec and go off, and the display will light up for a millisecond and go off too. Now this is what I have done so far. I have removed all connections (Power on, Reset switch etc), fans , VC, memory, everything and took the MB from case and laid it on a plastic lid. Then connected the PSU, and it still spikes. The MB is brand new. If I replace the PSU with an Iwin 300W PSU, no spinning of fans and spikes, works fine. The TP works alright, just that annoying problem and I am wondering if this will lead to problems later. Weird!!!!!!!!!,

  2. #2
    Member JimmyG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,345
    You may have some kind of defect in the PSU. However, you normally don't turn the computer on and off with the PSU switch, do you? Have you tried booting up with this PSU using minimum configuration (cpu, ram, video)? Does it work? Are there any spikes using software on/off? If yes, RMA the PSU, if no, you can choose to use it or not.
    Main Computer: INTEL 2600K; ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe; 850W Corsair; Antec P280 case;16 Gigs Corsair Vengance;EVGA 560 TI; 120 INTEL SSD; 2x500Gig WD HD; op system: Win 7-64; Backup computer:INTEL Q6600; 650W Corsair in Antec P180 Case; 4 Gigs RAM; EVGA GT430; Gigibyte P45T-ES3G mobo; 1x200 GB WD; 2x160 GB WD; 1x1GB WD. Operating system: Win 7 -64. ***Avatar by Gresyth***

  3. #3
    Member mata2974's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    1,243
    may be I was not clear. There is no spikes during reboots or normal windows shutdown and reboot, no matter how long. I notice this only when I want to reset cmos or work inside the computer where I temporarily need no live power through the mobo. I switch the PSU switch off. Thus, when I switch that black switch at the back to ON, before I hit the main power switch thats when it spikes. I DO NOT USE THIS SWITCH TO TURN THE COMPUTER ON AND OFF

  4. #4
    Member larrymoencurly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,203
    I have a 300W Antec SmartPower that does the same thing. I was told that it may be related to the "kick start" circuit that helps the high voltage side start up and feed power to the low voltage side before the low voltage side can send it feedback. On my Antec the controller chip is on the low voltage side.

  5. #5
    Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Saskatchewan
    Posts
    5,598
    Check the "state after power failure" setting in BIOS - if I leave mine set to auto rather than off it does the same thing. I've noticed that behavior in other boards as well.
    Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
    2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
    Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
    MSI 280X, Asus 270 2GB
    250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
    Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40


  6. #6
    Member Ravsitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnetonka, MN
    Posts
    464
    My soon to be replaced dell does the same thing after I unplug it. I've always assumed it was just the mobo dipping into the PS a little to handle WOL and all the stuff like that. I've had this computer for 5+ years and unplugged it over a hundred times with no ill effects.

  7. #7
    Member asw7576's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Jakarta
    Posts
    830
    Mine is different story....... after I turn off the computer from window's shutdown or press turn off button on the casing..... the computer will shutdown BUT with problems: the HDD LED, LAN LED, Power On LED and fans are ON and OFF repeteadly all night long It seems the standby voltage is interupted.

    Please help me.... its HEC 475 power supply true power. Just two weeks old.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •