Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member TimeCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Warren, MI

    Altec Lansing 641 Sub Died

    Love this system mostly for it's bass but the sub died last week.

    Been searching and found that this seems to be a common problem:

    http://bizrate.lycos.com/marketplace...start--20.html

    hense is probably why it was discontiuned.

    I was wondering if anyone out there actually figured out what was wrong and fixed it themselves. I'd love to have this thing working again, I've looked into buying a new system but have been let down when it comes to the bass.

    Been trying to find threads on this topic but since it won't let you search for 3 char. words (641) so far I've came up empty.

    Thanks.
    Mine: DFI SLi-D | Opteron 185 CCBBE 2600@3201 | G.SKILL 2x1GB DDR 500 3-4-4-8 | eVGA 8800GTS 640MB | Antec SUPER LANBOY, 550watt Ultra X2-Connect, Danger Den WC | WD Raptors 2 x 74GB Raid 0, Maxtor 300GB, eSATA Maxtor 500GB | Acer 24" WLCD 1920x1200 & Sharp PG-MX20U Projector 100" 4:3
    Wife's: Abit AN8-SLi | Opteron 165 1800@2400 | Corsair 2x512MB DDR434 2-2-2-5 | BFG 6800GT 256MB |
    Server: Abit NF7 | 2500M 1833@2405 | 2x512MB DDR400 | MX400 | Koolance WC Case | Chimei 22" WLCD
    Sold: Abit KX7-333 2100+ @ 2100 | Abit VH6-II Celeron 1400 | Abit BH6 Celeron 700 @ 900
    Retired: Gigabyte 2000+ @ 1667 | Abit BX6 Celeron 300A @ 450 | Shuttle AMD 266 | Pentium 133 | Pentium 90 | Tandy

  2. #2
    Member TimeCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Warren, MI
    Let the bass pump through the 188-watt subwoofer. - Logitech Z-680

    Hmm maybe there is hope after all, I will have to go check this system out in person if I cannot find a way to bring my sub back to life.
    Mine: DFI SLi-D | Opteron 185 CCBBE 2600@3201 | G.SKILL 2x1GB DDR 500 3-4-4-8 | eVGA 8800GTS 640MB | Antec SUPER LANBOY, 550watt Ultra X2-Connect, Danger Den WC | WD Raptors 2 x 74GB Raid 0, Maxtor 300GB, eSATA Maxtor 500GB | Acer 24" WLCD 1920x1200 & Sharp PG-MX20U Projector 100" 4:3
    Wife's: Abit AN8-SLi | Opteron 165 1800@2400 | Corsair 2x512MB DDR434 2-2-2-5 | BFG 6800GT 256MB |
    Server: Abit NF7 | 2500M 1833@2405 | 2x512MB DDR400 | MX400 | Koolance WC Case | Chimei 22" WLCD
    Sold: Abit KX7-333 2100+ @ 2100 | Abit VH6-II Celeron 1400 | Abit BH6 Celeron 700 @ 900
    Retired: Gigabyte 2000+ @ 1667 | Abit BX6 Celeron 300A @ 450 | Shuttle AMD 266 | Pentium 133 | Pentium 90 | Tandy

  3. #3
    Member itshondo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Denver, CO
    check for a blown internal fuse inside the subwoofer- mine blew in my z-560s....
    MAIN RIG - PCLinuxOS -Biostar A780L3G - Plenom II 560 @ 3.7 Ghz - Cooler Master TX3 - 8 gb Corsair XMS - Zotac GT 430 Fanless - 60gb Corsair SSD + 2 - Sony Optiarc SATA DVD Burner

    Windows / Backup RIG
    - Win 7 64 - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P rev 1.6 - Q9550 @ 3.2 Ghz - Prolimatech Megahalems Rev. B HSF - 8gb GSkill PC2 6400- Evga GTX 260 - Antec 900 Case - Rosewill RP550-2 550W PSU - WD 74 GB Raptor + 2 - Sony Optiarc SATA DVD Burner


    HEATWARE 20-0-0

  4. #4
    Member TimeCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Warren, MI

    Fixed my Altec Lansing 641 Subwoofer

    She's ALIVE!!!

    I'm sooo happy, my walls and feet are shaking again... I think my neighbors hate me again though. Muhahaha

    BASS BASS BASS

    Brand: Altec Lansing
    Model: 641

    Problem: Sub woofer Dead

    My Solution:

    I removed the front cover and removed the two, 6.5" subs, tested them and they were fine. Using a mulimeter I tested the power from the transformers inside the box. Everything seemed to be fine, I took the amp (top circuit board) out of the equation and was getting sound (had to turn it up all the way due to the crossover without an amp). Took the amp to my local repair shop, he said 8 chips on the board was the problem but they would be too difficult to replace. Not to give up I searched for a car amp that I could use, (only needed a 100watt amp) but I couldn't find one for less than $130. Wasn't going to pay that much, I did find one online somewhere for about ~40 and was thinking about ordering but I was at Meijers and they had a 250watt amp on sale for 24.99, snagged it.

    Then there was the problem of supplying it with 12v DC, had a 120v AC to 12v DC converter from Radio shack but it was only rated to 800ma (0.8a) tried it and it worked kinda (if I turned up the bass it sounded distorted). Figured the amp needed more power so I tried a power supply from an old laptop 120v AC to 15v DC at 3amps. Worked like a charm!!!

    Now I don't have to buy a new system for a while.

    It sounds just as good as before, maybe even better. I sure hope this post helps other people longing to fix there dead sub woofer... pump up the BASS!
    Mine: DFI SLi-D | Opteron 185 CCBBE 2600@3201 | G.SKILL 2x1GB DDR 500 3-4-4-8 | eVGA 8800GTS 640MB | Antec SUPER LANBOY, 550watt Ultra X2-Connect, Danger Den WC | WD Raptors 2 x 74GB Raid 0, Maxtor 300GB, eSATA Maxtor 500GB | Acer 24" WLCD 1920x1200 & Sharp PG-MX20U Projector 100" 4:3
    Wife's: Abit AN8-SLi | Opteron 165 1800@2400 | Corsair 2x512MB DDR434 2-2-2-5 | BFG 6800GT 256MB |
    Server: Abit NF7 | 2500M 1833@2405 | 2x512MB DDR400 | MX400 | Koolance WC Case | Chimei 22" WLCD
    Sold: Abit KX7-333 2100+ @ 2100 | Abit VH6-II Celeron 1400 | Abit BH6 Celeron 700 @ 900
    Retired: Gigabyte 2000+ @ 1667 | Abit BX6 Celeron 300A @ 450 | Shuttle AMD 266 | Pentium 133 | Pentium 90 | Tandy

  5. #5
    Member itizme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Barrie
    OMG, now there is a man that loves his sub!!!

    BTW, I love mine too!!!

    Congrats

  6. #6
    Member Cyrix_2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)
    I might try and "upgrade" my crappy sub. I have the creative inspire 5200's. They sound OK, but they were cheap. (60 some dollars) I'm think about putting new speakers in the sub case. I have two rather large 50 watt car speakers ready to go. I may try and use the existing amp. Otherwise I might buy a car amp.

    ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

    2500k @ 4.9ghz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

    vCore
    1.287 |Idle: 33c | Full load: 68c
    16gb Corsair XMS 3
    | Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
    F O L D For Team 32!!

    Black belt Ubercloxx0r

    Audio Technica ATH-A900's
    "yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
    SANS GSEC Certified

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    After dusting off my 641 I realized the right channel isn't working anymore. Both the front right and rear right channels have gone deaf other than a slight buzzing. Any idea what might be the cause?

  8. #8
    Wants Old Title Back
    Didn't Get It
    Conumdrum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by janshim View Post
    After dusting off my 641 I realized the right channel isn't working anymore. Both the front right and rear right channels have gone deaf other than a slight buzzing. Any idea what might be the cause?
    Janshim. This post is TEN YEARS old. to OCF

    Better you make a new post than to ressurect this from the dead. I know your new but please read the thread a bit and check post dates before you post.

    I want my old title back.
    Old beast is torn down.
    Will update later.

    900 watt (1500VA) UPS
    27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •