Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Registered SWE_HELIX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    86

    Best processor for overclocking?

    Ok, so there is this big overclockingcompetition here in Sweden and i plan to win the part where the guy that gets the highest percentage overclock wins.. So i was wondering wich processor is the best for that. These processors are allowed:

    Pentium II or better
    Celeron or better
    AMD K6 or better

    I plan on using dryice cooling allso..
    The winner last year used Liquid Nitrogen to overclock his 600MHz Duron to 1530MHz. But he wont compete this year and I dont think that anyone else will use LN..

  2. #2
    Disabled Heatsinkguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    570
    The Celeron will overclock the farthest but will be the slowest.

  3. #3
    Registered SWE_HELIX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    86
    Ok, but it is pretty hard to find old celerons today.. Ill probably have to check out some used computers..

  4. #4
    Disabled CrashOv3r1De's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    454
    Well by Pentiun II or better does Pentium 4 count?

    If so the the 2.4C($173)

  5. #5
    georgelogy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    480
    Try a Celeron 300A. They will overclock like crazy, since you are looking % OC, you should try that, (If you can find one )
    Core i7 2600k @ 4.5 1.33v
    ASUS P8Z77-V Pro
    EVGA GTX Titan SC
    2x8GB G.Skill 1866 9-9-9-24
    Corsair H100i
    Corsair HX 850W

  6. #6
    Registered SWE_HELIX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    86
    Originally posted by CrashOv3r1De
    Well by Pentiun II or better does Pentium 4 count?

    If so the the 2.4C($173)
    Well, you can "only" overclock that processor about 50% at max

    Originally posted by georgelogy
    Try a Celeron 300A. They will overclock like crazy, since you are looking % OC, you should try that, (If you can find one )
    Yeah, thats the problem.. finding one..

  7. #7
    georgelogy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    480
    There are 300A's going on E-bay for $5, but I think the shipping to Sweden would be very expensive.
    Core i7 2600k @ 4.5 1.33v
    ASUS P8Z77-V Pro
    EVGA GTX Titan SC
    2x8GB G.Skill 1866 9-9-9-24
    Corsair H100i
    Corsair HX 850W

  8. #8
    Disabled Heatsinkguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    570
    Roflmao his in Sweden...Since its a small cpu and weighs less, shipping will be no more than 50 dollars

  9. #9
    Member shiyan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    behind the wheel
    Posts
    2,863
    cheapest up to date processors:

    1700+ DLT3C ThoroughbredB, with phase change, a few get to 3Ghz, overclock of more than 100%. hard to find though, so you might have better luck finding 1800+ DLT3Cs.

    1.6A and 1.8A: some overclock to more than 3Ghz, one good example is Larva's 1.8A at 3.4Ghz with air cooling. Put that in a phase changed cooling setup, and 100% overclock might be possible.

    otherwise, go with 300A if you can get the parts to get a working system.

    but I guess if that guy had such great results with a 600Mhz Duron, you might as well give it a try too, after all, they can't cost much nowadays.

    you might actually have more luck going with this cheap route, as with the same cash you can buy many processors to try and find that special one. gotta make sure you know what steppings of that Duron you need to look for though.
    Last edited by shiyan; 11-14-03 at 09:00 PM.

  10. #10
    Mr.Guvernment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes
    Posts
    14,854
    just ask the guy if u can borrow his duron hehe or buy it.

    ,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
    ,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
    ,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,



  11. #11
    Member climbski's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Reno NV
    Posts
    300
    Celeron for highest% OC
    3678mhz 306fsb
    2.4C SL6Z3 P4C800-E
    KHX3200 22254 @ 245mhz
    3DM01 23279 AIRCOOLED

  12. #12
    Member Tyberius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    574
    too bad its not for fsb, I popped a duron1.3 into my nf7-s, watercooled and volt modded, and 4 hours later i got a 388 mhz FSB(seriously!) long enough to boot into windows for about 12 seconds before it BSOD'd and popped the die, almost got cpuid open!.....oh well at least i got a 1.3ghz key chain out of the deal, too bad no one believes me..... no cpuid no trust.....

  13. #13
    Member FIZZ3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NL, Europe
    Posts
    3,127
    Do you want to have the most bang for the buck or the highest % overclock for bragging rights? Those two questions have different answers- first one qualifies for the Celeron replies, second one for the XP1700+ and 2.4C ones...
    Desktop:
    Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
    Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
    2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
    Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
    Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

    Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
    Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel

  14. #14
    Registered SWE_HELIX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    86
    Well I have to get the highest % overclock.. And the first prize is a Vappochill Titanium

    But ill try to get an old Celeron from the scrapheap or a friend.. And then use Dry Ice and Acetone to cool it..

  15. #15
    Member Tnick24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    221
    Make sure you post some pics of the process on a fourm somewhere!!! it is allways fun watching a rig be born.

  16. #16
    Registered SWE_HELIX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    86
    Sure.. If i get the basic parts first.. And ill probably throw up a video too or something.


    OMG DUDES! Ive found this cool Swedish site that sells all kinds of crappy computer parts for like 1-10$ And Ive allready found a 300MHz Celeron
    Last edited by SWE_HELIX; 11-15-03 at 09:54 AM.

  17. #17
    Member Tnick24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    221
    SWEET!!! Congrats on finding that site!!

  18. #18
    Member Quailane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Who stole my white stars?
    Posts
    4,339
    A 1400 duron with a 'B' core would get you the highest. That sucker overclocks as well or even better than any other 'B' thoroughbred and it starts out a lot slower than the 1700+ or 1800+. Just my advice.
    I DRIVE A HYUNDAI AND I'M PROUD OF IT!

  19. #19
    Member DrSpanky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    671
    whats the url of that site im looking for a faster p2 for my little sis
    CPU: Q6600 G0 @ 3.6ghz --- q8200 @ 1.6Ghz 0.836V
    MOBO: Gigabyte X38 DQ6 --- Asus P5N-E Sli
    RAM: Corsair Dominator 8GB DDR2 --- Crucal Ballistix 4GB DDR2
    GFX: Ati 5970 OC + 8800GT Physx --- 8400gs
    HDD: 60gb OCZ SSD, 3x 74gb Raptors, 750gb --- 300GB Maxtor
    PSU: OCZ GameXStream 1010w --- OCZ Powerstream 600watt
    CASE: Antec Nine Hundred --- Generic Junk case
    COOLING: Thermochil pa160 + pa120, D4, GTZ --- TRU - Passive
    VDU:Dell 3007WFP-HC 30" --- Old 19" LG Lcd
    MacMini (Early 09) 2.26ghz 4gb 320gb

  20. #20
    Senior of BX JaY_III's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,043
    300A is by far the best CPU to get teh highest % overclock.
    AXIA Athlon's @ 1GHz are not far behind in that highest % overclock as 1.4GHz is almost a sure thing, and we extreme cooling like you plan 1.6GHz should be doable...

    Now if you want to do a flash overclock, to get the highest screen shoot... its really a crap shoot. But you are going to want a motherboard that can feed alot of voltage into your CPU. Also, make sure you dont get limited by your RAM

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •