Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member FlailBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Not at the Fest...
    Posts
    881

    Any point in switching these cards?

    The mx460 in my sig is a Gainward 64mb, not a golden sample, mem is 3.6ns

    In my other comp (identical for all purposes except it's an xp2200 running at 174*12), I've got a 128mb Gainward ti200 golden sample, mem is 4.0ns.

    Rig in sig is primary rig. A few RTS games and DVD's are about as hard as it'll get pushed for now.

    I know the mx4** series aren't the greatest cards in the world; but it's a newer card than the ti200. Not buying a new card for either rig. Want my primary rig as good as it can get with what I've got in the house.

    Have already run the ti200 in the enhanced mode (I think it's 200/450) and can probably get it higher.

    If you had two identical rigs, which card would you rather run?
    Phenom II X4 965 BE C-3, 207*19.5~4036@1.40v, CM EVO, Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3(F6), CPU NB VID@1.25v, G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 2x8GB, 9,9,9,24,1T@1.55v, 1GB EVGA Geforce GTX560Ti, SB Audigy 2 ZS, 1x1TB & 1x250GB WD caviar blue 7200RPM, Rosewill CAPSTONE 550W, Rosewill Blackhawk mid-tower, Win7Pro 64bit, SP1
    -EPOX 8kra2+, XP-M 2600+, IQYHA 0447-226*10.5~2373@1.75v (retired)
    -EPOX 8k9a2+, AMD 2100+, AIUHB 0302-188*12~2264@1.675v (out to pasture)

    Heat
    You should see if you can launch yourself across a lake. -drenader

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    748
    most definately the ti200.
    It beats the mx series hands down.
    It may lack clock speeds but its architectually superior.
    Also a ti200 will last a little longer than the mx,.
    Take prince of persia it requires a gf3 and specifically says on the box no gf4 mx.
    In fact i had that same card in my rig for awhile. Its a good card. mine was 64mb though.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    791
    take the ti200. when i had my ti200 my roomate bought an mx card. the ti200 beat it hands down in any game we tried.

  4. #4
    Member Yuriman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The OCFORUMS
    Posts
    8,071
    The MX460 should have a bit more raw speed, but more and more games use DX8 features. You would be better off with the ti200.

  5. #5
    Member FlailBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Not at the Fest...
    Posts
    881
    Sig used to say GF4 mx460. Just finished.

    Wow. Looks better-not running any benches but a definite improvement. Thanks.

    BTW, once I find core/mem settings I like: can I just use the Coolbits registry tweak and not even use the Gainward 'enhanced mode' utility?
    Phenom II X4 965 BE C-3, 207*19.5~4036@1.40v, CM EVO, Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3(F6), CPU NB VID@1.25v, G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 2x8GB, 9,9,9,24,1T@1.55v, 1GB EVGA Geforce GTX560Ti, SB Audigy 2 ZS, 1x1TB & 1x250GB WD caviar blue 7200RPM, Rosewill CAPSTONE 550W, Rosewill Blackhawk mid-tower, Win7Pro 64bit, SP1
    -EPOX 8kra2+, XP-M 2600+, IQYHA 0447-226*10.5~2373@1.75v (retired)
    -EPOX 8k9a2+, AMD 2100+, AIUHB 0302-188*12~2264@1.675v (out to pasture)

    Heat
    You should see if you can launch yourself across a lake. -drenader

  6. #6
    Member TUK101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Wash. State
    Posts
    3,058
    Yep, the TI200 will look better and should be a bit faster since it does more with hardware and not software rendering of some things. That card should OC fairly well too, so as far as clock speeds you should be able to get that TI200 close to TI500 speeds. The TI200 may be showing its age, but I have one in each of my kids' computers and they are still playing every game that we can throw at them. Just got done playing NFS Underground and the TI200's run that game just fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •