Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Malaysia

    9600XT o/c problem...

    Hi all,

    I just got my PowerColor 9600XT Bravo edition (128 MB)
    and I found that this card aren't stable for overclocking. I only got 3760 for my 3Dmark'03. Here are my Comp's spec :

    AMD Athlon XP1800++
    sis 745 ultra
    512 DDR SDRAM (266Mhz I think)
    no o/c to my processor.

    The default core speed for my card are 500 Mhz and I can't go higher than 520. (Above 520 will cause the 3Dmark'03 crash)
    Should I increase the voltage for my card to push up the core ??

    And, are my 3Dmark'03 'suppose' to be like this low with my system?? PLease help, thanks.

  2. #2
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX
    For a default system, it sounds about right. Overclocking is a "luck of the draw" thing, and if you can't overclock higher, it's because you just can't. Setting voltage to the card higher in the BIOS won't help a thing, but you can try. Your next logical step is improved cooling on the ram and core, with RAM overclocks being most important for the 4 pipeline 9600 series.

    After that, volt mods are the next step, but it doesn't sound like you are ready for that yet. Learn your card well before you start soldering on it
    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  3. #3
    Member Agent_Mull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Leawood, KS
    Mine are that low with my system. Which doesnt make sence since my cpu is oced 147mhz ontop of the original 2000mhz making it 647mhz faster than the 1800

  4. #4
    Member Alacritan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kingston, NY
    3DMark03 tests your graphics card. 3DMark01 tests your whole system. So if you have the same graphics cards, your 03 scores should be about the same.

  5. #5
    Hey Zephon,
    I've got the Powercolor 9600XT and it's core is a POS also for overclocking. Anything higher then 513 and games and 3DMark03 would crash/hang/puke/throw a fit. The memory seems pretty good. I got it to run 364 pretty stable. I think Powercolor 9600XT use really crappy left over cores from ATI. Alacritan's 9600XT is an exception of course. Lucky b@st@rd!

  6. #6
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Ive got a shappire 9600XT and can hit 543mhz core, but it runs 61C at that speed with load.
    Antec SLK3700AMB
    Antec TP 430w psu
    P4(C) 2.4 GHZ
    IC7-G Max2
    Corsair XMS 3200 (2x512mb)
    Radeon 9600XT
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Maxtor 120GB HD w/8mb buffer
    Maxtor 20GB HD

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    I have a sapphire 9600xt 256Mb and can't get a single MHz out of the memory.Any frequency above 300 will make fonts turn green and blurrish.
    Could someone suggest me a good overclocking program , since I'm new with radeon cards and I've only used powerstrip so far?

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    I have a shapphire 128 9600xt, I have gone as far as 555 on core and I was hitting 43c on load and I thought that was high. 61c sounds insane, maybe I can push mine up some.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •