Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered Evil-c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    41

    Celeron 533 higher than 600

    Ok it's a 533 not 533a as it is silver.
    my mobo as fsb settings of :-
    66,75,83,100,112,124,133,140 and 150
    Only one that will run stable is 75 using the 10% cpu power booster at 600mhz
    any other setting and windows hangs or sys wont even boot..
    i will read the articalc on wiring my cpu and let you know what happens..

    Celeron 533@600
    Gigabyte GA-6VX7+ mobo
    320mb ram pc 100& pc 133
    sblive 1024
    Prophet geforce 2 mx
    60gig hdd

  2. #2
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    Posts
    16,340
    You have the older Celeron I chip which might be about maxed out at 600. The 533 Celeron II chips will go much higher, but it's a totally different and newer design. With your current system (mobo etc.), that's probably about all you'll get. But, I'll be happy if you prove me wrong.

  3. #3
    Admin Parent
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Stafford, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,714
    Evil-c (Feb 25, 2001 08:24 a.m.):
    Ok it's a 533 not 533a as it is silver.
    i will read the articalc on wiring my cpu and let you know what happens..
    STOP!!! DO NOT WIRE YOUR CPU! That article was for the newer CeleronII. http://developer.intel.com/design/celeron/datashts/243658.htm <<< this is the datasheet for all celerons. Download it and read it. Your CPU is a mendocino core, not a coppermine core. It's default voltage is already 2.0 volts. Check the guide on the main page for the tricks to overclocking the older celerons.
    "Remember, the Aperture Science 'Bring your daughter to work' day is the perfect time to have her tested."

    Welcome to my sandbox. Sandbox Rules: 1) Play nicely. 2) Don't throw sand. 3) Share your toys. 4) Go inside to use the potty.

    newbius.blogspot.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member Phil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bolton, UK
    Posts
    1,367
    you are luck you got 600 as batboy said this is about the limit for ppga celerons, most don't make it over 550mhz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •