Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5

    Overclocking PIII 733 Newbie help !!!!!!

    I have a pIII733 running on a abit se6 board
    I cant seem to find a way to bypass the multiplicator lock

    does anyone know how to do it ?
    detailed instructions would be appreciated, I'm new to this

  2. #2
    Senior Member [OC]_SR20DE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ummm..
    Posts
    790
    you mean changing the clock multiplier??.. no you cannot.. multipliers are locked.

  3. #3
    Mod in Hiding Shadow рс's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Pensacola, Florida USA
    Posts
    3,092
    nope.....as said above.....the clocks are locked...doesn't matter what they are set to.....they won't change.

    Move the FSB up a tad.......then you'll see OC results. Only a tad tho....once you get a result......you'll be hooked here forever! ROFL
    The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Phil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bolton, UK
    Posts
    1,367
    unfortunately you will be lucky to get more than 800 or so maybe around the 850 mark as long as you have good components

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    5
    As mentioned above, you can't change the multiplier on Intel CPU's . As for max speed, however, I got 935MHz out of a PIII 733 using only a Golden Orb. I was going to burn it in and eventually push it higher (since it was running smoothly and pretty cool), but then I dropped the machine down a flight of stairs

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5
    sorry bout that your computer....

    I'm getting an getting alpha PEP66t (v2.0) heatsink with a delta fan (6800 rpm)
    I read on many posts and articles that it kicked the orb's ass...
    and I have infineon ram
    so thopefully I'll get at least 935 !

  7. #7
    Senior Member [OC]_SR20DE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ummm..
    Posts
    790
    Weeeeeeee........... at least 169mhz FSB!!!!!!!!? You have to be a overclock freak to maybe get it that high.. You've better have Super RAM and Super freak Icy cooling to even just load windows and there's no freakin' way you can play any games at all. The chances even getting close to that high would be about 10%.
    good luck!! haha

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    11
    Hi there all!

    I have a P III Coppermine 733 256k 133m PGA SL4CG

    Has anyone heard if that can be overclocked at all? around 900 to 1000 i hope? If not please let me know cause i have 15 days to return it.

    Thanks in advance.

  9. #9
    Senior Member DocClock aka MadClocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Stockton Cal, USA, Earth
    Posts
    2,115
    Unique, trade it in for a 700E, and make sure it has a cCO stepping...your chances would be greater....with less effort
    Folding User Stats

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •