Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Member rhino56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Arkansas

    antec fan sensor wire?

    i got this PS
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...pa=1&section=1
    it has a 2 thin wires coming out on a clip, one blue one black.
    what would these be for?
    they look kinda like a fan plug in end.
    they are the thinnest ones that come out, they are the only 2 that are that thin.
    Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
    i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
    Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
    HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair 650D

  2. #2
    Member nosilverman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, NY!
    That wire plugs into a fan plug on the motherboard to allow you to monitor the RPM's of the psu fans.

    -Noah

  3. #3
    Member rhino56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    thats what i thought it was but it doesnt fit on the 2 prongs that are on my MB. i thought it was kinda odd that it wouldnt be a standard thing.
    Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
    i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
    Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
    HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair 650D

  4. #4
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Virginia
    Heatware Profile
    It goes to a 3 pin connecter, not 2. Its missing the power wire because the PS fan gets its power directly from the PS.

    Mine doesn't even monitor sometimes because its a temp. variable fan and the RPMs get too low for the MB to measure.
    FX-6300 | Gb 970A-UD3P | EVGA GTX 750 Ti | Corsair 8GB 1866 | 120GB Hyper-X 3k | Seasonic G 550w
    Heat

  5. #5
    Member rhino56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    is there a way i can hook it up to the 2 pins that i have on my MB?
    Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
    i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
    Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
    HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair 650D

  6. #6
    Member Hookem's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Houston Texas
    You must be trying to connect it to some jumpers or something you should not be trying to do...Like Derman seezzzz...Just connect it to a fan header on your motherboard...You should have your heat sink fan connected to the CPU fan header which is usually close to the heat sink processor area of your motherboard...If you look at the motherboard you should be able to locate other 3 pin fan headers exactly like the one you connect your heat sink fan to...Some fan headers will have RPM monitoring and some do not...I like connecting them because it seems to make the fans spin a little bit faster than if you leave it disconnected...
    If you build it...They will come...and I will crash it!!!

    Switching to Intel
    Antec 300, Corsair HX5650W, Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, Intel Q9550, Thermalright SI-128-SE, 2x4 G.Skiell PC64000 DDR2, XFX 4890, 640 Black OS Drive, 2 640 Blacks RAID-0, Audiotrak Prodigy HD2, Vantec SATA EzSwap, Mitsumi floppy, Lian-Li card reader, Lian Li T4, Dell E198WFP, AudioEngine 5 speakers.
    In progress build.

  7. #7
    Member Hookem's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Manual Link If you look on page 29 of the manual locate the ATX power connector (right side of the page about 1 third of the way down) You will see the "ATX power connector...then to the right of that you will see "EZ PLUG"...then to the right of that you will see "CHA FAN"...Looks like the best place to plug it in on your motherboard...There is another "PWR. FAN" connector on the bottom right of your mother board...I do not think it will reach that far...So the CHA. FAN by the 20pin ATX connector is your best bet...
    If you build it...They will come...and I will crash it!!!

    Switching to Intel
    Antec 300, Corsair HX5650W, Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, Intel Q9550, Thermalright SI-128-SE, 2x4 G.Skiell PC64000 DDR2, XFX 4890, 640 Black OS Drive, 2 640 Blacks RAID-0, Audiotrak Prodigy HD2, Vantec SATA EzSwap, Mitsumi floppy, Lian-Li card reader, Lian Li T4, Dell E198WFP, AudioEngine 5 speakers.
    In progress build.

  8. #8
    Member rhino56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    it will reach the power fan one at the bottom barely. it was the trpwr thing i was wondering about. its some kind of sensor thing.
    its also on pg. 29 right next to the chassis fan. do i have to order a special sensor for that?
    thanks for the detailed help also.
    Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
    i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
    Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
    HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair 650D

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Indian Wells, CA

    antec fan sensor wire

    I bought a new Antec 550 true control to go in my new Intel system with my new Asus P4C800-E mainboard and hooked those little PS lines to the three prong header on the board.......WRONG! and MORE WRONG! Fan header Blown out of new board and fans Blown out of PS! Leave it unhooked
    Asus P6T6 WS Revolution, 3530 Xeon
    G-Skill PID 1600 @ 6-7-4-18 1T
    Asus 5970 video
    Corsair 1200 AX

  10. #10
    Member Hookem's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Well then I am at a complete loss as to what you are talking about...I have only purchased and installed about 200 Antec TruePower power supply's and probably atleast 20 TrueControls Manual On page four...Item number 7 they tell you to connect the 3 pin fan signal connector to the motherboard...The link for the motherboard manual is not working so let me go chase it down again and try to find what you are talking about...Sorry about the rotten luck johnflyons...But I have never heard of anyone cooking anything by connecting the fan signal connector to their motherboard...I will go check it out for you rhino56...
    If you build it...They will come...and I will crash it!!!

    Switching to Intel
    Antec 300, Corsair HX5650W, Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, Intel Q9550, Thermalright SI-128-SE, 2x4 G.Skiell PC64000 DDR2, XFX 4890, 640 Black OS Drive, 2 640 Blacks RAID-0, Audiotrak Prodigy HD2, Vantec SATA EzSwap, Mitsumi floppy, Lian-Li card reader, Lian Li T4, Dell E198WFP, AudioEngine 5 speakers.
    In progress build.

  11. #11
    Member rhino56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    Originally posted by Hookem
    Well then I am at a complete loss as to what you are talking about...I have only purchased and installed about 200 Antec TruePower power supply's and probably atleast 20 TrueControls Manual On page four...Item number 7 they tell you to connect the 3 pin fan signal connector to the motherboard...The link for the motherboard manual is not working so let me go chase it down again and try to find what you are talking about...Sorry about the rotten luck johnflyons...But I have never heard of anyone cooking anything by connecting the fan signal connector to their motherboard...I will go check it out for you rhino56...
    thank you, your too nice.
    Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
    i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
    Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
    HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair 650D

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003

    Re: antec fan sensor wire

    Originally posted by johnflyons
    I bought a new Antec 550 true control to go in my new Intel system with my new Asus P4C800-E mainboard and hooked those little PS lines to the three prong header on the board.......WRONG! and MORE WRONG! Fan header Blown out of new board and fans Blown out of PS! Leave it unhooked
    That sucks! One of the manufactures screwed up and owes you some replacement parts.

    That, or you bent the pins in your install and sent 12v down the sensing line.

    Either way, its not a reason for all other users not to take advantage of features they have paid for. I had the sensor line of my truepower connected to my a7n8x for more than a year without a problem

  13. #13
    Member rhino56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    well im gonna try it and see what happens.
    Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
    i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
    Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
    HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair 650D

  14. #14
    Member Ritalin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Herzlya, Israel
    i used it, and then i just unplugged it... really no need for it here

  15. #15
    Member rhino56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    well i plugged it in and on startup it claimed a hardware error so i check the error and its that the fan is not at a high enough rpm.
    so i f1 it and go into windows and asus probe reports the fan speed around 1500-1200
    should i just unplug it or should i put in faster fans?
    Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
    i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
    Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
    HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair 650D

  16. #16
    Member gustav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Folding in Illinois
    ive got an antec psu too. it has that same wire. my mobo is an asus as well and to the left of the cpu, there is a 3 pin connector that say pwr_fan by it. look for a connector like this on your motherboard.

    here is a pic of that blue wire

    here you can kinda see where it is on my mobo, right next to the heatsink/cpu location

  17. #17
    Member rhino56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    ok i will check it now.
    Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
    i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
    Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
    HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair 650D

  18. #18
    Member rhino56's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Arkansas
    i didnt have that plug in but its probably because you have a p4c800 and i got a p4g8x.
    i did take the fan grills off my PS and it was good for 100 rpms or so, im at 1230 to 1240 rpms now
    Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
    i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
    Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
    HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
    Noctua NH-D14
    Corsair 650D

  19. #19
    Member gustav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Folding in Illinois
    mine run anywhere from 1300 rpm to 1700 rpm. i want to replace them with panflo fans so my psu will cool better and hopefully bring down my temps some more.

  20. #20
    Member Como's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maine
    yeah, someday i'll replace my antec fans as well...but for now i like them...they are quiet. (well at least the ones in the PSU, the others are the loudest own!)
    This space is for rent.*


    *I'm Lying

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •