Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: which mem

  1. #1

    which mem

    looking for a nice oc'ing memory...limit 300$usd any suggestions

  2. #2
    Member Sirius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    S.C
    Mushkin IvI 2 3500
    Kingston 3200
    OCZ 3700 Rev.2

    Viewsonic 2025wm
    AMD 4000+
    Asus An8-sli Premium
    2gig GSkill 3200
    1 Maxtor 80 XP Pro
    1 Maxtor 250 gaming-Backup
    Corsair 650TX
    EVGA GeForce 260
    SB X-Fi

  3. #3
    Member Sirius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    S.C
    Try Newegg.com for prices.

    Viewsonic 2025wm
    AMD 4000+
    Asus An8-sli Premium
    2gig GSkill 3200
    1 Maxtor 80 XP Pro
    1 Maxtor 250 gaming-Backup
    Corsair 650TX
    EVGA GeForce 260
    SB X-Fi

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    what are you trying to run Dutch.... AMD /Intel ? cpu type ? timings ? divider ?

  5. #5
    Member malon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    $300? exactly what you need!
    Gigabyte DS3 Bios F10 w/ Tt Extreme Spirit II
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 SL9S9 Week 27 @ 3.2 Ghz
    Zalman CNPS9500 LED
    2 x 1GB G.Skill HZ PC6400 @ DDR2-1000 5-5-5-15
    Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATA II
    eVGA Geforce 7900GT KO 500/1500 w/ Zalman VF900
    Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
    OCZ GameStream 700W PSU
    ViewSonic VX922 19" 2ms LCD

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    what cpu are you going to be runnin and what board

  7. #7
    Member Grandpa Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    OC moderator @intelforums.net
    Originally posted by malon
    $300? exactly what you need!
    I'll second that.

  8. #8
    intel...yea i was looking at that ram but i saw that i could get pc3700 and up for around the same amount im guessng this out performs most of cheap 3700 though...is this nice and compatible with the asus p4c800-e deluxe?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    intel, ok, what chip ? northwood 2.4c? 3.0c?

    you're gonna save alot of money and get the same performance, if not better, with running a 2.4c in a 3:2 divider with 2-2-2-6 timings with some PC3200 or PC3500 memory

    is there a specific reason as to why you're going with 1 gig and not 512? 512's gonna alleviate some possible memory issues since there are less chips on 2x256 dimms

  10. #10
    Member Grandpa Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    OC moderator @intelforums.net
    A year from now you're gonna have trouble running games smooth unless you got 1gb minimum. 3:2 is a large performance hit and doesn't get close to 1:1 performance all else being equal. Use 1:1 if possible 5:4 if you have to and 3:2 only for trouble shooting, would be my recomendation.

    GD

  11. #11
    yea thats what i want the 1:1 ratio, so the muskin level two would be the best for ocing?

  12. #12
    Member [DAD]MeR|iN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Nebraska
    Originally posted by malon
    $300? exactly what you need!
    Originally posted by Grandpa Dan


    I'll second that.
    give it a third!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Originally posted by Sirius
    Mushkin IvI 2 3500
    Kingston 3200
    OCZ 3700 Rev.2

    How could you leave out Micron and Corsair? Do you have something against the best brands? lol

  14. #14
    Member Grandpa Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    OC moderator @intelforums.net
    corsair seems to hit or miss for it's ability to oc. Micron?...lol

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    3:2 a performance hit ? only if your 2.4c can't hit 275

    I have a 2.4 doing 3.3, with 3:2...meaning I'm running memory at 183 instead of standard 200 Mhz at 2-2-2-6 ?

    Am I missin something :-)

  16. #16
    lol u say running at 183 instead of 200 mhz, but 200 mhz is only what its rated for, why didnt u buy cheaper 200 mhz ram then

    most people buy mushkin cos it can go to like 230 mhz, so yes if ur running mushkin lvl2 at 183 mhz ur missing something, about 50 mhz is what ur missing . .

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    isn't it better to max out your CPU bandwidth, and then worry about memory later ?

    Are you saying I'll get better 3d performance if I go to a 5:4 ratio and find my memory's ceiling ?

    I went with mushkin cuz I wanted 2-2-2 with no headaches
    Last edited by devvingiorgio; 01-29-04 at 12:27 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •