Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    169

    Overclocking Question

    Whats up yall, Im new to this thread & came upon cuz I was thinking of Overclocking my System. I dont know anything about it but I read some articles & stuff. I doubt I will even try but I was just wondering whats the most I could overclock my system? I have a Asus A7N8X Deluxe, Athlon XP 2800 Barton, 1024 DDR PC3200 Ram, Ati Saphire 9800XT, & 80 Gig Drive. I have the retail Heatsink & Fan that came with it (Im guessin I need a new Heatsink & Fan). l0l
    Just wondering how fast could I get it considering it runs at 2GHZ now. Thanx alot for the feedback.

  2. #2
    Member dead_man311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Some where in Michigan
    Posts
    2,676
    the best way is to go in to your bio's and up your FBS stock it 166 in there i think i got my 2800 to 174 on stock cooling which would be 2175MHz. with some good cooling you should hit 2.3GHz to 2.4GHz. to get higher speeds you will have to up your Vcore and i would do that on stock cooling

    so i would start uping your FBS watching your temps (you can use Fanspeed 4.09 for it) and see how stable it runs and keep uping if from there

    if you have any more ?'s just ask

    Welcome to the Forum

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    169
    Ight man thanx alot for the help
    Another question... If I up the FSB settins little by little would the cpu still show output on the monitor when I start up? & if it doesnt how would I go about getting it back working? From what I read you have to Clear CMOS right? & I know where that is on my MB, from looking at the manual. Thanx alot for the help. Greatly appreciated.
    & another thing, you said best way to go is bring the FSB to 166 & up it from there. Why would I bring it down considering the FSB is 200 for the cpu? Im a little confused sorry man l0l

  4. #4
    Member dead_man311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Some where in Michigan
    Posts
    2,676
    if it dont post then you have to clear CMOS, then go back thorw and set it to where it posted last.

    stock the 2800 is 166 x12.5 166x2 gives you the 333MHz FBS the 2800 has

    no problem about the confustion i know how you feel

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    169
    Ight no prob, Thanx man
    If I go ahead & do it & its successful I'll post the results
    Im a little shook of doing it though l0l

  6. #6
    Contributing Member Sentential's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Posts
    13,872
    Heatware Profile
    First before you do anything get the latest BIOS and set BIOS cacheable to "enabled"

    N-force chipsets and your's especially are prone to BIOS corruption. My friend and I corrupted the BIOS of his A7N8 Deluxe less than a week ago. Sadly it wouldnt boot until we got a new BIOS chip.

    That being said do this first!

    Now, it wasnt peticularly difficult to get my freinds 3000+ to boot 400FSB. We corrupted the BIOS when trying to boot past 220. To enable OCing Options set everything to "user defined"

    IMHO I would set your multiplier to 11 (if your CPU is unlocked). If you dont know if it is unlocked or not try changing the setting to a multi that is higher or lower. If your CPU is locked it wont boot.

    To force it to boot pull the power plug, wait a little bit, plug it back in and restore your setting.

    Now if it does boot, simply and immediatly just jack up the FSB to 400 and bingo you got a 3200+. AFAIK you dont need to increase the voltage any to get it to work comfortably @ 3200+ speeds. However any further and you migh need more pow3r!

    Good Luck!

  7. #7
    Member dead_man311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Some where in Michigan
    Posts
    2,676
    ya post your results id love to see them yw on the help. the system in my sig was my first oc so im fairly new still hang out around here and you will learn alot there and alot a cool people here
    Good Luck with your oc

    as Sentential said if you can change yout multi than set i to 11x200 then you get the 400MHz FBS i would do it but my PC-2100 dont like high FBS's
    Last edited by dead_man311; 02-09-04 at 12:01 AM.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    169
    Yo Sentential, I did exactly what you said & it worked. I checked the temps on the Bios & they still run the same way they did b4 I overclocked it. I adjusted the Mutliplier to 11 like you said & put it to User Defined & Bios Cacheable to Enabled. It booted up & said AMD Athon XP3200+ on Bootup. I left it & it runs at 2.21Ghz now. I just did it so its working fine. Hopefully when I run games it wont mess up or overheat. Ima leave it like this. Thanx 4 the help man!! I appreciate it
    Layta!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    169
    Thanx Deadman for helping out as well. Yall really helped me out l0l

  10. #10
    Member dead_man311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Some where in Michigan
    Posts
    2,676
    No Problem man. you got a sweet bang for your buck there. i cant wait till i get some good PC-3200 to push mine further. keep us up to date on how she's runing Take Care

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    169
    Alright, Last question What should my CPU Temp be? & How can I check? Im not gonna leave my cpu on until I find out cuz I dont want to burn this **** l0l
    Anyway what program or how can I tell? & what temp it shouldnt pass? Thanx man, You guys helped me out a lot
    Im Out!

  12. #12
    Member dead_man311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Some where in Michigan
    Posts
    2,676
    Speedfan 4.09 works good for temp's

    good temp would be anything under 50c mine runs 37c idle to 43c load

    I just messed with mine alil more and got it to 12.5x189 at 12.5x190 i got the blue screen of death. Cant wait till i get some PC-3200 see where it can top out at
    Last edited by dead_man311; 02-09-04 at 01:41 AM.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    169
    Alright man, everything seems to work fine but I have a problem. The Cpu Temp keeps changing from 51 to 52 C. You said anything under 50. Does the xtra 1 or 2 degrees really mean a lot? Even when I dont overclock the Cpu my Cpu still says 52 C.
    Thanx 4 the help again.

  14. #14
    Member dead_man311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Some where in Michigan
    Posts
    2,676
    those temps are still pertty good im watching mine right now after i up it to 189x12.5 the temps are the same for me so im happy still. i was around there to with my stock cooling

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    169
    Alright guess Im leaving it the way it is. Its runnin pretty fast & I notice the little xtra speed in it l0l
    Thanx again Deadman & Sentential, I'll be having fun using this baby from now on l0l
    take care yall
    Layta!

  16. #16
    Member Strages's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    464
    I've got an extra Aerogate II that has four thermistors and four fan controls, which is quite nice to have. The thermistors are very accurate, much more so than the socket probe's (as long as you have it mounted correctly) it also look very, very nice. Look it up online, you won't find it for any price lower than 45.99, and I will sell it for $25 + shipping, of course. They're a great thing to have - I love mine, but I have an extra one cause I needed a black one
    Last edited by Strages; 02-09-04 at 01:59 AM.
    Core i7 920 3839A 200x19@1.344v HT Disabled | Temps: 38C Idle, 60C Load
    Lian-Li PC-70: Apogee GTZ, Thermochill HE120.3 w/ 3x120mm Ultra Kaze-3000, Laing D5, Zerex Additive
    Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 F9e
    3x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24-2@1.65v
    1536MB Gigabyte GeForce GTX 470 SOC
    300GB VelociRaptor, 500GB Seagate 7200.10, 1TB Seagate SV35.3
    ASUS Xonar DX 7.1
    Antec Signature 850w
    Windows 7 Professional x64
    Dell 2408WFP
    My Heatware

  17. #17
    Contributing Member Sentential's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Posts
    13,872
    Heatware Profile
    Good to hear!

    Unfortunatly/fortunatly, this is just the start down the slippery slope. Before you know it you will be at the bottom using phase-change or watercooling.

    Believe me I know.......Im almost there

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    169
    Ight man, the Cpu runs good. Im just posting my Benchmark score. It turned out to be 6250 running the 3D Mark 2003. I dont really know what score is good or what not. Is that good? Should it be better? Any comments would be appreciated. Thanx alot in advance

    & another question, I got the retail cooling on my ****. Is it possible to overclock the cpu even more to at least to a 2.3 or 2.4Ghz? I dont have any other type of cooling so Im guessin not. But let me know what I could. Thanx yall!
    Last edited by llChaosll; 02-09-04 at 02:37 PM.

  19. #19
    Member dead_man311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Some where in Michigan
    Posts
    2,676
    with stock cooling you probly wont hit those high of speed's i hit around 2.2GHz with mine with stock cooling

  20. #20
    Mr.Guvernment's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes
    Posts
    14,854
    Folding Profile
    PLEASE READ THIS THREAD

    (yes i am in a bitter mood for some reason but people must learn! is not rocket science)

    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...hreadid=234632

    ,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
    ,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
    ,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •