• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie here, I have some questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mphilips

I've been reading over the site and what people have been saying about their success...etc.. with over clocking. I've never done it before, my computer is a
Celeron 466 with 2 fans it came with.

One on the motherboard and one on the powersupply releasing the air out the back of the case.

I'm wondering would I need any extra cooling items
to overclock mine somewhere in the mid 500mhz area?

Any help would be great.
Thanks

Probably not.
You may need a better cpu cooler than the stock one.
Just have to check your temps not overclocked and overclocked.
The cpus can take alot of heat before they burn out.
The cooler it is will often allow for higher overclocking.
Usually what kills a cpu is when you raise the voltage too high.

Welcome to the best forum on the entire web :)
First why don't ya jump over and see how others have fared at the cpu database. Next it would be easier to give some advice if we knew a bit about your system( motherboard, ram etc.)

besides asking questions in the forum i highly recomend reading through the tips section there is allot of important info that will really help you allot.

goodluck

outhouse is right......read..read...read. There are many practical experiences on various site like the
"tips" section you'll find here. After a little while some of your experiences will help some of us too.

This is a great place to exchange ideas.

First, find out what board you have (brand, model, chipset)... I can't tell from those pictures.