• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Newbie - Dual 1GHz P3 & Iwill DVD266

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
N

Nick

Hey all.

Okay, well I'm new to this game. Mainly because I have stuck to Intel motherboards to this point, with no overclocking options..

Let me also stress that reliability is key for me. I don't just want a system that is able to crash *really* fast. I need something reliable, and want something fast.

So, I have just ordered a new Iwill DVD266R motherboard, and have a couple of Intel Retail 1GHz processors to throw in it. I have also ordered a CoolerMaster 201 case (because it's pretty - nothing to do with any cooling properties.) I also have two PC2100 DDR cl2.0 memory modules.

Okay, so probably the first thing that I need to do it to change the Intel cooling fans on these two processors. I really don't know where to start brand wise (recommendations?) but size will be an issue due to the placements of the processors on the Iwill DVD266 motherboard.

Now, I don't really know what my processors are capable of, or what all the numbers on the chip mean.
The numbers on the chip are:
1000/256/133/1.7V - MALAY
L102A459-0831 SL4MF
&
1000/256/133/1.7V - PHILLIPINES
7102A224-0017 SL4MF

I can see that these chips are manufactured in different locations, is this a problem?

I know what the first three numbers are; I am assuming that thre 1.7V indicates the voltage the chip runs at, how does this affect overclocking...

Okay, so I'm asking some pretty basic questions here...

1. What CPU coolers should I use?
2. What should I overclock this to?
3. Do I need to reinstall the OS after changing settings (I'm assuming not, but let's just check.)
4. Do I need to get processors manufactured in the same facility - are there any difference in facilities?