• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

sata, to raid or not to raid?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

WejRepus

i am looking for advice on whether i should get one 73Gb raptor or 2 36's and either raid 0 or raid 1 them...
that is pretty much it, could you just help me on the pros and cons of each

please hlp me out, i have never used SATA or RAID before and am buying the components fro new system in a week or two

As far as I know, 2 36gb in raid 0 will be the same as 1 76gb but faster. So pros = speed , cons = price maybe and also that you use more connectors on your PSU and mobo. Thats all I can think of as far as cons. If i was in a position to choose between the 2 id go for 2 36gb in raid 0 for a faster setup.

jstutman said:
also note that the 36 gb raptors are not true sata

Does that really matter though?

To the original poster, I was in the same boat as you. I've chosen to go with the two 36gb's in raid for read/write speeds. With the single 74gb, you'll get a faster response time, and a quieter drive. You'll also have the possibility open for a future upgrade of another 74gber to put THAT in raid.

For me however, I think 2x36gb is enough space and enough speed. I don't want to spend the money on two 74gb's.

It's too bad they don't have the 2nd generation 36gb's out.

Jsmooth65 said:
What about a 36gb and a 74gb in RAID 0?

That'd be a REALLY waste of a money cause it'd just be two times as fast as the 36gb raptor. You'd be wasting half of the 74gb's space and the benefits of the 74gb too.

also:
a 74gb is $233
a 36gb is $120s

How much money are you willing to spend?