Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member dustybyrd's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA

    what's the difference between these chips?

    other than the description: "2600+ versus 2800+" and the $43 difference in price...

    at newegg:

    AMD Athlon MP 2600+, 266MHz FSB, 512K L2 Cache Processor - OEM
    (limit 5 per customer)

    Specification
    Model: AMD Athlon MP 2600+
    Core: Barton
    Operating Frequency: 2.13GHz
    FSB: 266MHz
    Cache: L1/64K+64K; L2/512K
    Voltage: 1.65V
    Process: 0.13Micron
    Socket: Socket A
    Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, 3DNOW!, 3DNOW!+
    Packaging: OEM(Processor Only)

    Model#: AMSN2600DUT4C
    Item#: N82E16819103423

    Yes $127.00



    AND THIS ONE:

    AMD Athlon MP 2800+, 266MHz FSB, 512K L2 Cache Processor - OEM
    (limit 5 per customer)

    Specification
    Model: AMD Athlon MP 2800+
    Core: Barton
    Operating Frequency: 2.13GHz
    FSB: 266MHz
    Cache: L1/64K+64K; L2/512K
    Voltage: 1.65V
    Process: 0.13Micron
    Socket: Socket A
    Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, 3DNOW!, 3DNOW!+
    Packaging: OEM(Processor Only)

    Model#: AMSN2800DUT4C
    Item#: N82E16819103419

    Yes $170.00
    • e6600 L631B047 2.4ghz @ 3.6 Ghz 24/7 (9x400 @ 1.38v, w/ 9700 Zalman, 64C TAT max) on Asus P5W-DH,
      2x 1gb OCZ Platinum Rev 2 @ 800mhz w/ 4,4,4,12,4 timings w/ 2.35v, 2x 74gb Raptors, 3x 320gb WD3200KS, 2x NEC 3500A DVDRW, Floppy, Zip
      2x GECUBE x1600pros , WinFast2000XP PVR, WinTV PVR150, Soundblaster Audigy SE, 2x Dell 1905fp, BenQ FP202W, S-Video TV
      2x Scythe SFF21F 120mm, Sunon 120mm PMB1212PLB2-A Blower on Sunbeam Rheostat, powered by Fortron FX700-GLN in Lian Li v2100b plus
      [for video encoding, ~= to 6.6ghz P-D and 5.3ghz dual core Opteron ]

  2. #2
    Member MameXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    huh? i think that desciption is messed up. They are the same
    My Heatware

    Verified paypal

  3. #3
    Senior Member dustybyrd's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    have you seen this, cmcquistion?
    • e6600 L631B047 2.4ghz @ 3.6 Ghz 24/7 (9x400 @ 1.38v, w/ 9700 Zalman, 64C TAT max) on Asus P5W-DH,
      2x 1gb OCZ Platinum Rev 2 @ 800mhz w/ 4,4,4,12,4 timings w/ 2.35v, 2x 74gb Raptors, 3x 320gb WD3200KS, 2x NEC 3500A DVDRW, Floppy, Zip
      2x GECUBE x1600pros , WinFast2000XP PVR, WinTV PVR150, Soundblaster Audigy SE, 2x Dell 1905fp, BenQ FP202W, S-Video TV
      2x Scythe SFF21F 120mm, Sunon 120mm PMB1212PLB2-A Blower on Sunbeam Rheostat, powered by Fortron FX700-GLN in Lian Li v2100b plus
      [for video encoding, ~= to 6.6ghz P-D and 5.3ghz dual core Opteron ]

  4. #4
    IT Director Senior
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    The difference? One of them is mislabeled....

    The speed, that is. I think the actual speed of the MP2600 is 2 GHz. (It was given a PR rating bump, because of the increased cache.)

    Newegg is pretty well known for getting the speed wrong, in their descriptions of AMD CPU's. It happens ALL the time. I would think that after screwing it up, enough times, they would begin paying more attention to that kind of detail, but they don't.

    (They are still one of my favorite retailers, despite their lack of attention to product detail.)
    Wanna prove your computer is actually good for something?
    Why not Fold Proteins for Team 32?


    Step-by-Step: How to Build a Cheap and Quiet AMD Dually.
    Step-by-Step: Building a Quiet PC from the Ground Up.
    Step-by-Step: How to Quiet those Hard Drives.
    How to remove Spyware and Immunize yourself from future infection.

    Please read and obey the Signature Rules.

  5. #5
    Member dguy6789's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Merritt Island FL, USA
    na, i think it is right on. The 2600+ is a tbred and the 2800+ is a barton. I doubt 512K of cache will make a 2ghz athlon mp rated to a 2800+. a 2400+ has 256K of cache and 2ghz, so are you telling me the extra 256K of cache makes it 400mhz faster?

  6. #6
    Member MameXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    ye i've known newegg always has the description screwed up. Its annoying tho cause what if i thought i bought what i want but it turned out not.

    MP2600+ is only barton isnt it? There is no TBred MP2600+ right?
    My Heatware

    Verified paypal

  7. #7
    IT Director Senior
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Originally posted by dguy6789
    na, i think it is right on. The 2600+ is a tbred and the 2800+ is a barton. I doubt 512K of cache will make a 2ghz athlon mp rated to a 2800+. a 2400+ has 256K of cache and 2ghz, so are you telling me the extra 256K of cache makes it 400mhz faster?
    No.

    I'm saying that I think the MP2600+ runs 2 GHz and has 512k cache. The additional cache is why it was given a higher rating than the MP2400 that also runs 2 GHz, but only has 256k cache.

    The MP2800, I believe, runs 2.13 GHz and has 512k cache.
    Wanna prove your computer is actually good for something?
    Why not Fold Proteins for Team 32?


    Step-by-Step: How to Build a Cheap and Quiet AMD Dually.
    Step-by-Step: Building a Quiet PC from the Ground Up.
    Step-by-Step: How to Quiet those Hard Drives.
    How to remove Spyware and Immunize yourself from future infection.

    Please read and obey the Signature Rules.

  8. #8
    Senior Member dustybyrd's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA

    I'm saying that I think the MP2600+ runs 2 GHz and has 512k cache. The additional cache is why it was given a higher rating than the MP2400 that also runs 2 GHz, but only has 256k cache.

    The MP2800, I believe, runs 2.13 GHz and has 512k cache. [/B]

    i agree...this makes sense to me as well...

    so the question (if i were to upgrade to 512k cache chips) is:

    get the mp2600 (and possibly get "stuck" with a 15 multiplier and thus have a max speed of 2.25ghz...but guaranteed mp function at decent voltage)....cost=$127 per chip

    or get the mobile 2400 (and get much lower stock voltage...do a lot of chip modifications and hope for successful dual operation...and possibly get 2.3-2.4ghz with 512k cache)...cost=$77 per chip

    or get the mobile 2600 (and be guaranteed 2ghz at 1.45v!!...and maybe 2.3-2.4ghz with medium voltage....but still have to hope for succesful modication for dual operation)...cost=$108 per chip

    what's the best option?
    • e6600 L631B047 2.4ghz @ 3.6 Ghz 24/7 (9x400 @ 1.38v, w/ 9700 Zalman, 64C TAT max) on Asus P5W-DH,
      2x 1gb OCZ Platinum Rev 2 @ 800mhz w/ 4,4,4,12,4 timings w/ 2.35v, 2x 74gb Raptors, 3x 320gb WD3200KS, 2x NEC 3500A DVDRW, Floppy, Zip
      2x GECUBE x1600pros , WinFast2000XP PVR, WinTV PVR150, Soundblaster Audigy SE, 2x Dell 1905fp, BenQ FP202W, S-Video TV
      2x Scythe SFF21F 120mm, Sunon 120mm PMB1212PLB2-A Blower on Sunbeam Rheostat, powered by Fortron FX700-GLN in Lian Li v2100b plus
      [for video encoding, ~= to 6.6ghz P-D and 5.3ghz dual core Opteron ]

  9. #9
    IT Director Senior
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Originally posted by dustybyrd
    what's the best option?
    If you're willing to do some modding and want to save money, then I think the mobile XP2400 is a good choice.

    If you're willing to do some modding, want the fastest speed possible, and don't mind spending a good chunk of change, buy the highest rated mobile XP's you can afford.

    If you don't mind doing the L5 mod, but don't want to be bothered with multi mods and such, then get the T-bred XP2400 (133 FSB, will be multiplier locked.)

    If you don't want to do any modding, get the MP's. (will be multiplier locked)

    If you can't afford any of the above options, then consider getting a lower speed T-bred XP or Applebred Duron. (both of these options will give you multiplier locked chips, though.)
    Wanna prove your computer is actually good for something?
    Why not Fold Proteins for Team 32?


    Step-by-Step: How to Build a Cheap and Quiet AMD Dually.
    Step-by-Step: Building a Quiet PC from the Ground Up.
    Step-by-Step: How to Quiet those Hard Drives.
    How to remove Spyware and Immunize yourself from future infection.

    Please read and obey the Signature Rules.

  10. #10
    Senior Member DaveB's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Gainesville, VA
    There are two versions of the MP 2600+.

    1) MP 2600+ T-Bred - 2.13 GHz, 133 MHz FSB, Multiplier 16, Cache 256K

    2) MP 2600+ Barton - 2 GHz, 133 MHz FSB, Multiplier 15, Cache 512K

    I had the T-Breds, which easily OC from 2.3 GHz to 2.4 GHz. I ran mine at 2.3 GHz so I could run low RPM fans to keep the noise down. In SiSoft Sandra, running at the default 2.13 GHz, they got the same exact score as the MP 2800+ Barton core. They are still available if you look.
    1. Thermaltake V9 BlacX Case, Gigabyte X99-UD4, i7 5820K @ 4.2 GHz, 16GB Crucial DDR4 2133 @ 2400, XFX R9 290
    2. Xigmatek GIGAS mATX Case, Intel DQ965GF, Xeon X3210, 4GB DDR2-667, XFX 7850
    3. Acer AS5750-9422, 15.6", Core i7-2670QM Laptop, 4GB DDR3-1333, HD 3000 Graphic
    4. Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 (4x512MB) @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP Video

  11. #11
    Senior Member dustybyrd's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    There are two versions of the MP 2600+.

    1) MP 2600+ T-Bred - 2.13 GHz, 133 MHz FSB, Multiplier 16, Cache 256K

    2) MP 2600+ Barton - 2 GHz, 133 MHz FSB, Multiplier 15, Cache 512K

    I had the T-Breds, which easily OC from 2.3 GHz to 2.4 GHz. I ran mine at 2.3 GHz so I could run low RPM fans to keep the noise down. In SiSoft Sandra, running at the default 2.13 GHz, they got the same exact score as the MP 2800+ Barton core. They are still available if you look.

    hmmm...

    where can these mp2600 tbred's be found for a good price?

    i saw some at newegg for more than the mp2600 bartons...

    final performance of the two is probably similar since one can max at 2.25 and the other at 2.4ghz....but one has twice the cache...
    • e6600 L631B047 2.4ghz @ 3.6 Ghz 24/7 (9x400 @ 1.38v, w/ 9700 Zalman, 64C TAT max) on Asus P5W-DH,
      2x 1gb OCZ Platinum Rev 2 @ 800mhz w/ 4,4,4,12,4 timings w/ 2.35v, 2x 74gb Raptors, 3x 320gb WD3200KS, 2x NEC 3500A DVDRW, Floppy, Zip
      2x GECUBE x1600pros , WinFast2000XP PVR, WinTV PVR150, Soundblaster Audigy SE, 2x Dell 1905fp, BenQ FP202W, S-Video TV
      2x Scythe SFF21F 120mm, Sunon 120mm PMB1212PLB2-A Blower on Sunbeam Rheostat, powered by Fortron FX700-GLN in Lian Li v2100b plus
      [for video encoding, ~= to 6.6ghz P-D and 5.3ghz dual core Opteron ]

  12. #12
    Senior Member dustybyrd's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    If you're willing to do some modding and want to save money, then I think the mobile XP2400 is a good choice.

    If you're willing to do some modding, want the fastest speed possible, and don't mind spending a good chunk of change, buy the highest rated mobile XP's you can afford.

    If you don't mind doing the L5 mod, but don't want to be bothered with multi mods and such, then get the T-bred XP2400 (133 FSB, will be multiplier locked.)

    If you don't want to do any modding, get the MP's. (will be multiplier locked)

    If you can't afford any of the above options, then consider getting a lower speed T-bred XP or Applebred Duron. (both of these options will give you multiplier locked chips, though.) [/B]


    yeah...i like the idea of the mobile 2400/2600's...because they're unlocked...

    but my only fear is that somehow the modding won't work due to my mistake or the asus board won't like them or they maybe not all will work in SMP...and what if AMD starts superlocking the mobiles?
    • e6600 L631B047 2.4ghz @ 3.6 Ghz 24/7 (9x400 @ 1.38v, w/ 9700 Zalman, 64C TAT max) on Asus P5W-DH,
      2x 1gb OCZ Platinum Rev 2 @ 800mhz w/ 4,4,4,12,4 timings w/ 2.35v, 2x 74gb Raptors, 3x 320gb WD3200KS, 2x NEC 3500A DVDRW, Floppy, Zip
      2x GECUBE x1600pros , WinFast2000XP PVR, WinTV PVR150, Soundblaster Audigy SE, 2x Dell 1905fp, BenQ FP202W, S-Video TV
      2x Scythe SFF21F 120mm, Sunon 120mm PMB1212PLB2-A Blower on Sunbeam Rheostat, powered by Fortron FX700-GLN in Lian Li v2100b plus
      [for video encoding, ~= to 6.6ghz P-D and 5.3ghz dual core Opteron ]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •