Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indiana

    Copopermine or Not

    I have a Pentium III 750 mhx processor, but I'm not sure if it's a coppermine. According to a site I went to a while ago, it was a CuMine based on the numbers on it, but on the box, it isn't mentioned anywhere. Which one should I trust

  2. #2
    Senior Jeep Nut WillysNut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    NY, USA
    I believe you do in fact have one of the "early" coppermine chips. See the attached article:

    http://www.baznet.freeserve.co.uk/P3-750-800.htm
    FOLDING@HOME - Do your part,
    Join the team and help science
    Click here for more info

  3. #3
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Xenia OH
    All PIII 750's will be coppermines...no exceptions. The version that a processor is(ie. coppermine, katmai, tualatin) is mostly just looked upon by industry proffesionals or hardware enthusiasts. Intel really doesn't put this lable on the product. You have to take the product they give you, look at the codes, and then check the spec sheets to know what version you have. Or, in a situation like this, all PIII's(desktops only) between 650 MHZ and 1 GHZ are going to be coppermines. At the upper and lower ends of this range, there may be other versions(katmai on the lower end and tualatin on the high end if they ever release them).

  4. #4
    Senior Admin Emeritus Mr B's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Boston Bruins Nation
    There were some P/// 600 Coppermines as well, thought I call mine a 954EB now. ???

    Mr B
    Got that Gibson Les Paul ('92 Studio), still listening to a lot of Led Zeppelin. =P

  5. #5

  6. #6
    cu mine

  7. #7
    Admin Parent
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Stafford, Virginia USA
    If I recall, the first Coppermine released was a PIII550E.
    "Remember, the Aperture Science 'Bring your daughter to work' day is the perfect time to have her tested."

    Welcome to my sandbox. Sandbox Rules: 1) Play nicely. 2) Don't throw sand. 3) Share your toys. 4) Go inside to use the potty.

    newbius.blogspot.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member [OC]_SR20DE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ummm..
    awww numbers keep going down! hahaha =)>

  9. #9
    Member SP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    There were 550Mhz coppermines as well as 600Mhz coppermines. However, there were also 550Mhz and 600Mhz Katmais. Anyway, any PIII 650Mhz or higher is bound to be a coppermine. Also, contrary to what a few people seem to think they made slot1 coppermines as well as FCPGA. In fact I believe it was only a month or so ago they quit making slot1 chips.

    Anyway, if anyone had a slot 1 550 or 600 and they aren't sure which it is, the way to tell is by the Voltage and level 2 cache. The Katmais ran at 2.0v whereas coppermines at this speed ran at either 1.65v or 1.7v depending on stepping. The Katmais also had 512K level 2 cache compared to 256K for the coppermine. Futhermore if you physically examine a Katmai chip you'll see there are 2 chips located on the board off to the side of the cpu. These were the cache ram chips. On a coppermine the cache ram is integrated into the cpu itself and these 2 chips aren't present. of course all Katmai processors were slot 1. So, any FCPGA 550Mhz or 600Mhz PIII would be a coppermine.

  10. #10
    Senior Member funnyperson1's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northern VA
    i have a coppermine 600E Slot 1, its running at 780, but the temperature sensor on my chip is totally wack....it says its 70 degrees c, but im able to touch the the heatsink, (my estimate is about room temperture)...why is it so high?

  11. #11
    Disabled Pinky's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Narf City, USA
    Heatware Profile
    If it's 667 P3 or higher, then it's coppermine. No exceptions (until you get to the Tulatins of course).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •