Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    20

    Going from sblive5.1 to audigy. REFORMAT?

    Should I reformat going from an sblive 5.1 to an audigy? Or just uninstall the drivers and software of the sblive?

  2. #2
    Senior Member funnyperson1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    10,541
    You should be able to just uninstall the sblive stuff.

    In this case I would try without a reformat, and if it screws up, then reformat.

    "Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
    its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
    My Heatware
    [Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]

  3. #3
    Member Nephewkp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Champaign, Illinois
    Posts
    413
    You should be able to just uninstall the drivers for the 5.1 and install the audigy drivers. Most of the software is the same anyway.

  4. #4
    Member DaveSauce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan Technological University, Houghton, MI
    Posts
    1,621
    I cant imagine a situation where you would have to reformat by just installing a new sound card. Just make sure you remove all the old drivers and stuff before you put the audigy in. These days, a lot of driver packages come with removal tools for previous drivers. Failing that, you can just go into the control panel and use Add/Remove programs to get rid of the drivers. I know that video drivers are usually listed under there. If it's not there, try "installing" the newest version of the sblive5.1 drivers. I don't know this for certain (hercules does it with their sound cards, I dunno about creative), but if you have drivers currently installed, it SHOULD detect that and give you the option to remove the current drivers before you install new ones. By this theory, you should be able to just run it once, shut down, swap out cards, and then install your audigy.

  5. #5
    Normal Member Foxie3a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,028
    I will give my expert advice in the matter *ignores the previous posts that CLEARLY give the answer*

    I doubt that you'd ever have to format just for a sound card.

    Video cards with older OSes though...that's a real problem.
    Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
    Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
    Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
    Triple 24" LCDs
    Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
    Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
    Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
    Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers

  6. #6
    Member Tebore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Toronto,Canada(I can see you....)
    Posts
    3,511
    All the answers are above.
    If you're worried about having the latest drivers this link is the autoupdate feature from creative. It'll make sure you have the latest drivers.
    UMPC:
    Asus EEE 701(4G)
    Laptops:
    Lenovo T60p
    Servers:
    IBM XServ
    Heatware

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    20
    thanks everyone.
    and thanks for that autoupdate link tebore

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •