Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Augusta Twp, MI

    Downloading Problem

    I'm on my moms HP Pavilion PIII 800MHz. WinXP Pro, 384MB RAM, 64MB GF3 ti500, same exact connection to the Internet as mine (2.0Mb WOW Cable) through a router. Only exception is she does not have some ports opened for gaming, etc.... She has all the same router settings as my brothers PC, except his can download just fine.

    The problem is she cannot download... If I go to firefoxes site and try to download their browser, it just sits there with the download dialog open, with no transfering of data or anything. This is through IE6.

    So I tried to email her a copy of FireFox, to hopefully fix her problem. She uses Outlook Express just like me, and using the same wow email server as mine. I emailed her the file, and it downloaded and installed on her system flawlessly. I tried downloading firefox again on her computer via forefoxes browser (just as a test). Except it did the same thing as IE did. It just sits there with the downloading box open, but no transfering of data.

    So why will both browsers let me access the Internet and view images on her computer..... but not allow me to actually download stuff (it will let me right click and save images, on both browsers though). PS: No it's not just firefox's site- this was one of millions of sites that don't let me do this. I also tried downloading java support for her computer through suns site and it didnt work either...

    Any suggestions other than format and reinstall? Could it be a virus of some sort? This thing is running open with no antivirus support . I really need help, since this is my parents primary rig. It's giving them a bad impression towards the internet that they are paying for .

  2. #2
    Can you download from an FTP server using an FTP client ?
    -= Maths Ninja =-

    Official Modding Xaser III thread resurrecter.

    "LIES! THE ONLY THING MORE AWESOME sounding THEN SEVERAL DELTAS AT 60+DB IS THE SCREAMING OF MERE MORTALS AS THEY GET TOO CLOSE!"
    -freakdiablo

  3. #3
    Member dkdgbroyles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Have U tried under control panel/internet options to see if the security tab is set to the default or medium setting?
    Gigabyte GA-M57 SLI-S4
    Windsor 3.0GHz @ all stock
    G.Skill DDR2 800 5-5-5-15 2048mb x 2
    RAID 0: 2 Seagates 7200.10
    8800 GT Superclocked edition
    windows vista 64 bit
    Cosair 550VX
    Antec 900

  4. #4
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Augusta Twp, MI
    I'm going to try FTPing. I have been able to upload to my FTP server from my parents computer via IE, but I haven't tried FTP client downloading or IE downloading after being logged in to an ftp server. To download from a client will require me to have to email one to them lol. I'll get right on it.

    Internet settings on firefox are set at default. IE is set to medium on security and privacy is set to medium high. It still won't download at any setting.
    Last edited by diggingforgold; 03-08-04 at 05:18 PM.

  5. #5
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Augusta Twp, MI
    OK- from an FTP client, I can download files. But there still an issue with downloading files from firefox or internet explorer. Any suggestions?

  6. #6
    Member dkdgbroyles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Texas
    I don't know if it is a virus, but try this.online virus scan I don't know if this is an accual download or scan from online but worth trying.
    Gigabyte GA-M57 SLI-S4
    Windsor 3.0GHz @ all stock
    G.Skill DDR2 800 5-5-5-15 2048mb x 2
    RAID 0: 2 Seagates 7200.10
    8800 GT Superclocked edition
    windows vista 64 bit
    Cosair 550VX
    Antec 900

  7. #7
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Augusta Twp, MI
    I'll try that, but I fear that it will require java, which my moms computer doesn't have, because of the download issue.

    BUMP!

    I'm going to try a scan by whatever method I can.

    Funny, it can download virus definitions just fine for online virus scans... It's scanning now...
    Last edited by diggingforgold; 03-11-04 at 09:36 PM.

  8. #8
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Augusta Twp, MI
    No viruses found. Her system is also spyware/adware clean.

  9. #9
    Member jajmon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Burnsville, Minnesota
    Ok - this is a far shot, but something to try. The IP stack may be horked a bit on her pc. Remove tcpip from the network settings, reboot, then add it back, reboot after adding. Do you want detailed instructions on this?

  10. #10
    Member dkdgbroyles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Does she have a download manager? If she does, try downloading something without it. maybe that program file is corrupt.
    Last edited by dkdgbroyles; 03-13-04 at 11:14 AM.
    Gigabyte GA-M57 SLI-S4
    Windsor 3.0GHz @ all stock
    G.Skill DDR2 800 5-5-5-15 2048mb x 2
    RAID 0: 2 Seagates 7200.10
    8800 GT Superclocked edition
    windows vista 64 bit
    Cosair 550VX
    Antec 900

  11. #11
    If it is becoming that much of a problem, it might be worth Biting the bullet and reformatting.
    -= Maths Ninja =-

    Official Modding Xaser III thread resurrecter.

    "LIES! THE ONLY THING MORE AWESOME sounding THEN SEVERAL DELTAS AT 60+DB IS THE SCREAMING OF MERE MORTALS AS THEY GET TOO CLOSE!"
    -freakdiablo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •