Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member Krome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    The Lone Star State
    Posts
    1,522

    Pentium 166MMX and WIN98

    My buddy has a HP, with a P1 166Mhz, and one of his uh...er... Navy(squid) friends installed WIN 98 on it, he complains that it is always crashing on him, is Win98 suggested for his processor? I just passed him some memory, and it is starting to get better he says? Anything?

    his system
    Pentium 166MMX
    had 24 MB, now he has 48 MB
    cd drive(broken)

    will his system accept a DVD rom?
    Desktop:Opty170 @ 2.7GHz/x1950 Pro Notebook:Lenovo T61 14.1" - NVS140m [1440x900]
    Home Theatre:Sharp Aquos D64 - Yamaha 6.1 - PS3 80GB [Folding for Team 32]

    "I have come here to avenge my teacher." - Bruce Lee
    "Blessing of your heart, you brew good Ale." - W. Shakespeare
    "I'd take vinyl over CD anyday, It's just not the same." - JamesXP
    "How are you typing with all that stuff on your hands?" - Sleepy_Steve
    "Don't tell me, you only know how to play fighting games?" - Ryu [Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo]
    ()()>PLAY B3YOND<()()

  2. #2
    Member deez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    2,543
    i ran 98 on my 166 with no probs....probably bad hard drive or needs format

  3. #3
    Member Endeavor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    317
    i would run
    A) Scan Disk
    B) Disk Defrag

    see if that helps

  4. #4
    Member R0BB23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,616
    put win 2k on it, imporved my packard bell 166mmx alot over twice as fast

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    8
    R0BB23 (Aug 01, 2001 01:58 p.m.):
    put win 2k on it, imporved my packard bell 166mmx alot over twice as fast
    dont be stupid, the system requirements for 2k are 266 processor, and 64 mb ram!! stick to 98, is it 98 or 98SE, id use SE if i were him.

  6. #6
    Senior Member ken257's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    1,016
    On these older systems I find that Windows 95 OSR 2.5 works best. It feels faster on slow machines then W98 and also is very stable. In my office I set up an old 200mmx with 95 osr 2.5 for payrole, it has been flawless for about 2 years now.

    Of course you could always switch it over to Linux, RH6 or 6.1 would be a nice distro that would run smooth on that machine
    Overclocking rule #1 If it ain't broke.....fix it!

  7. #7
    Member R0BB23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,616
    my 166mmx is runing win 2k
    and if any of you question that come take a look for yourself

    3584 citrus dr. duluth GA

  8. #8
    Member 6502kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Peoria Ill
    Posts
    803
    Ken has the right answer. Win95 is the OS for that machine.

    If one is running 2k somewheres, I bet it is one slow pig.

  9. #9
    Member R0BB23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,616
    nop speed it up like crazy
    win98 se sucks

  10. #10
    alex
    Guest
    R0BB23 (Aug 01, 2001 06:39 p.m.):
    nop speed it up like crazy
    win98 se sucks

    I don't think win98 SE is SSOOOO bad. OK, it may not be the best, but I have seen worse (like my pc with winME)

  11. #11
    Member Krome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    The Lone Star State
    Posts
    1,522
    Thanks for the Info..I will pass it on to my buddy, where can he get a copy of WIN95? I have a restore disc for my Presario that contains windows95, should we attempt to install from there? I know thats a bad idea, but he is getting desperate. Also since I donated enough memory for him to "double-up" what he had (24MB-->48MB) he says that he is able to download porn a whole heck of alot faster, so that's a plus, now if I can be able to send him Instant Messages without him complaining that Im "LOCKING UP" his system???
    Desktop:Opty170 @ 2.7GHz/x1950 Pro Notebook:Lenovo T61 14.1" - NVS140m [1440x900]
    Home Theatre:Sharp Aquos D64 - Yamaha 6.1 - PS3 80GB [Folding for Team 32]

    "I have come here to avenge my teacher." - Bruce Lee
    "Blessing of your heart, you brew good Ale." - W. Shakespeare
    "I'd take vinyl over CD anyday, It's just not the same." - JamesXP
    "How are you typing with all that stuff on your hands?" - Sleepy_Steve
    "Don't tell me, you only know how to play fighting games?" - Ryu [Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo]
    ()()>PLAY B3YOND<()()

  12. #12
    Senior Folding Zombie AmbientFiction's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Somewhere in the top 100 folders for team 32
    Posts
    1,691
    Just install Linux on it I am sure he won't crash it ever again Linux would still run if you took a shotgun to the hard drive. The hard drive my not work but guess what if it could Linux would still be kicking. Install the beast!!!!!
    • FX9370 + Gigabyte 990FXAUD3 + 16gbMushkin Redline + XFX ATI HD5870 + Thermaltake Ultra 120 Extreme + 250 CFM Delta120mm fan
    • Athlon64x2 AM2 6000@3300 Epox AF570+ultra/g 2G Mushkin DDR2 800+EVGA GTS250

    Heatware[/color]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •